Preview 2024 Rd 6 Carlton v GWS Saturday April 20 4:35PM (AEDT) @ Marvel Stadium

O’Keefe does seem like a more natural partner to TDK.
He does look very promising but at 19, I would rather they give him more time to build himself up in the reserves.

He is obviously in our long-term plans.

Gunna be real weird finding someone that’s not plowman to get angry at for not stopping Toby Greene

Round 3 last year vs. Newman: 1 (lucky) goal / 5 pos. Newman had 24 himself. Not sure who they gave the brownlow votes to in that game but it wasn't Newman and he deserved the 3.

Gunna be real weird finding someone that’s not plowman to get angry at for not stopping Toby Greene
You watch our coaches over think it. Newman locked him down last year and did a great job, but watch us put Kemp or Cowan on him. Heaven forbid we do what is simple and has proven to work.

Big game today. Get this one and belief will be sky high going into Geelong at the G next week. Hopefully getting a few troops back. A loss won’t be the end of the world however. Voss will hopefully have the boys breathing fire and the system humming. It’s been a few weeks now since we tapered off the heavy load so our peak is not quite there yet. If the boys get this I’ll never question them again. Big year incoming.

GBs.

Moo was good when he played seniors early last year. I haven't seen him play in the ressies since. I assume he's improved some what so looking forward to seeing him out there again.

Re Young

Can Young and Weiterbolt provide a good working key defensive structure?

Having Kemp out there as well, Weiter's has his work cut out today - he will need to be very vocal dishing out instructions to both Kemp and Young.

I hope they maintain focus, keep it simple and have one of their ears locked onto Weiters' calls.

Oh and one more thing......mids/forwards need to apply lots of pressure/tackling so the ball doesnt wizz into our d50 at lightning speed like it did last week. Its the one area crows got on top of us last week and it was enough for them to snatch the 4 points.

Go Blues!

Big game today. Get this one and belief will be sky high going into Geelong at the G next week. Hopefully getting a few troops back. A loss won’t be the end of the world however. Voss will hopefully have the boys breathing fire and the system humming. It’s been a few weeks now since we tapered off the heavy load so our peak is not quite there yet. If the boys get this I’ll never question them again. Big year incoming.

GBs.
Looking at the fixture, we've got a challenging 10 rounds ahead of us......right up to round 16 - which is against tiggies and even that is not a given (although we should beat them).

Reckon GWS at Marvel is one where the advantage should tilt slightly our way. Both sides with injuries to important players but we should have a slight advantage as the non travelling side.

No easy games, as we found out last week
Yeah agree.

I know there is no point in dwelling on last week - what's happened has happened - but I feel it's one of those losses that could come back to bite us later in the season. I hope it wont be the case but we do have a lot of challenging matches coming up.

The main thing we need right now is to get our mojo back and play like we did second half of last year.

Its like our team needs a really good rev up.

The competition is fairly even outside of the bottom few teams. One loss doesn't define a season. Bulldogs were made to look like garbage last week, this week they come out and smack St.Kilda who very nearly beat GWS last week. We have every chance of winning this game . No team is unbeatable.

At risk of stating the bleeding obvious - The challenge is on over the next month and a half for us not to repeat the horror stretch of losses of last year. With our injuries it will take a shitload of grit and if we get through it with a handful of wins we should be really well placed for the rest of the year.

Today would be a most excellent start

Moo was good when he played seniors early last year. I haven't seen him play in the ressies since. I assume he's improved some what so looking forward to seeing him out there again.

Re Young

Can Young and Weiterbolt provide a good working key defensive structure?

Having Kemp out there as well, Weiter's has his work cut out today - he will need to be very vocal dishing out instructions to both Kemp and Young.

I hope they maintain focus, keep it simple and have one of their ears locked onto Weiters' calls.

Oh and one more thing......mids/forwards need to apply lots of pressure/tackling so the ball doesnt wizz into our d50 at lightning speed like it did last week. Its the one area crows got on top of us last week and it was enough for them to snatch the 4 points.

Go Blues!
For the betterment of the side Young & Weiters need to find a good understanding of one another. Young needs to take Weiters instructions on board, and Weiters needs to keep a level head not sook it up if things aren’t going to plan. Leadership is more than barking instructions. If we can get Young back to playing good footy in the same side as Weiters it will solidify our spine.

Agree...its preferable Young improves his understating of what is expected of him and how the coaches want him to play.

He has had some good patches so he's got some base to work off. I assume one of his main issues is that he isn't quiet sure what to do in some cases and is therefore left in two minds - which can make you look pretty ordinary.