Review Freo burn the dirty birds by 35 points in Derby LIX

What’s the deal with the Reid bashing? Some of the comments are way over the top.

He’s a 19 year old kid who has no on field support & is expected to carry his team. They don’t have the culture to pull him into line, so there are issues, but you can’t knock a kid who plays with confidence & swagger.

For me he’s a breath of fresh air as he’s being himself & it’s fun to watch. It’s just harder to watch when he plays well against us.
If nothing else he deserves credit for single-handedly reviving a rivalry that was on its deathbed.

Not a heap of the ball but Emmet was effective. 3 goals straight. 2 tackles. One free for zero frees against.
He went alright
One miss kick but I reckon he’ll get another game next week

Best thing is I got to eat all of my chips
Didn’t have to throw anything
( felt like throwing stuff at Reid though , what an entitled flog , the boys gave him curry tonight though 😁)

Just a Side note on sturts game tonight
obviously not his most notable but was really pleasing to see himself still try and impact the game in other ways from his usual lead up mark game.

Thought some of his roving in the fwd line was impressive (should’ve nailed his first snap at goal but got reward later on)along with his shimmy’s/well timed handball releases in traffic were quite effective in opening up the play.
Had some good run down tackles too

Just another small positive in the evolution of him as a more complete player that will only exponentially help our fwd line

Also shout out to sharpie who had great return to form tonight as well

Compare that against the first Derby and we've matured a sh*tload since then.

but

We need make that next step and play more consistently, 2 quarters isn't going to cut it in finals.
That’s what I noticed
They held their poise and don’t lose their cool and just bomb it around
Once they got the system working again the results followed

They have been coached really well to stand up in a tackle or just hold till help arrived which it usually does

They have matured a tonne

Reid is a drongo flog, overpaid underachiever with unjustified arrogance onfield, and multiple off field issues, a bogan arrogant trash douche, still and always.
Don’t hold back
All true though

I’m glad we have got a new villain now that GAGF is gone

Spot on!

Reid’s hubris won’t see him hang about at West Coast.

I hope he goes to a Carlton on a 10 year mega deal, where CarLOLton pay him via nondescript brown paper bags, get caught and cop a harsh penalty which will relegate them back to the Carlton of the 00’s/10’s when they were bottom 8 dwelling flogs.

Flogs deserve each other.
Would be a match made in heaven

I actually thought Brayshaw would win the medal tonight, he was a man on a mission and really led the boys as captain. He actually beat Serong in every statistic (except clearences) and was the highest rated player on ground. This past month he has been in top notch form.
He was my pick
Serong is so class though but Brayshaw just digs deep

Quite a unique experience for me tonight.

Normally I'm nervous as all hell and expecting the worst but towards the end of the 2nd I felt the shift.
In the 3rd when we kicked a point to go 5 behind my mate freaked out and I said don't worry, the point means next goal we go ahead and we won't give the lead back.

Starting to have a bit of confidence in this team. They're really playing with belief and system.

I like Reid too. He's good for the game. To play like he does in your first season against mature AFL bodies. He's a freak.

Enjoyable night out!

I actually thought Brayshaw would win the medal tonight, he was a man on a mission and really led the boys as captain. He actually beat Serong in every statistic (except clearences) and was the highest rated player on ground. This past month he has been in top notch form.
He was my call too. Just brilliant with his link up running and really took the game on.
Can't complain about Serong getting it though. He was superb too.

Great to see Sharp have a good one and Freddy back amongst the goals.

Reid needs to learn how to play team football. It's not Harley versus the Freo Dockers. But that's how he plays. Trying to take on 5 players with every possession instead of dishing the ball off. He's a very selfish player currently. Needs to learn some humility and respect for his opponents and teammates.

Kelly and Yeo were far superior tonight and much better players this season with their experience. Reid should be taking lessons from Yeo on how to play as a bulldozing mid and team player.

But it's great to have such an unlikeable player on the other side. Brings the crowd into it and it felt like a proper derby tonight instead of just another game.

Yeah I was screaming before that centre square ball up that Aish had to swap with Jom. As you said within seconds Aish is out bodied and they get a goal. Credit to JL and the coaches the immediate next centre bounce this was done.
Actually the next centre bounce Aish attended and won the clearance. He was out for the one after for O'Meara.

Don’t usually post this here and I know you’ll find it yourselves, but sharing this cause I loved the insights from Josh Corbett about the belief around the club and how they’re dealing with the lid being off and feeling like it’s 2013. (But also not wanting to say it cause it may jinx it!)

Also love hearing from Sturt and Emmett about the belief in the system and the next man up mentality.

I really like josh Corbett as a person - I hope that if we delist him, the club can give him a role on staff that he will hopefully accept. Seems like a really quality guy to have around.

Quite a unique experience for me tonight.

Normally I'm nervous as all hell and expecting the worst but towards the end of the 2nd I felt the shift.
In the 3rd when we kicked a point to go 5 behind my mate freaked out and I said don't worry, the point means next goal we go ahead and we won't give the lead back.

Starting to have a bit of confidence in this team. They're really playing with belief and system.

I like Reid too. He's good for the game. To play like he does in your first season against mature AFL bodies. He's a freak.

Enjoyable night out!
I agree about Reid - he is an absolute freak. But his ego is beyond beyond. Especially for a first year. Turns him into a pantomime villain for the crowd which is great for the atmosphere. I don't think he can possibly conceive of a universe in which he is not the greatest player, struggling to lift multiple premiership cups up against the weight of all the Brownlows and Norm Smiths hanging around his neck. I think thsi means that unless WCE get their act together quick smart he's on the first possible plane back to a massive Melbourne Power Club on $1.5M+ a year.

Review Freo burn the dirty birds by 35 points in Derby LIX