- Nov 11, 2012
- AFL Club
- Sydney
Absolute joke from bothHickey and Ladhams only got 24 hitouts between them and De Koning had 23 hitouts. We didn't get much of an advantage there.
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Absolute joke from bothHickey and Ladhams only got 24 hitouts between them and De Koning had 23 hitouts. We didn't get much of an advantage there.
I was about to mention switching up Campbell and Wicks too. Could be the equivalent of when Horse switched up Dawson and McInerney last year.Thinking ahead to the Tiggers game I do not think there will be many personnel changes. I do hope there is some hard thinking in the Coaches room.
Personnel wise
Outs - Kennedy (inj/suspension), Bell (cannot halve let alone win 50/50 contests)
Ins - Campbell (thought he was pretty good), Stephens or Roberts (whichever is super switched on today) or Rowbum if he fit.
I would keep Wicks but move him down back. His defensive pressure is still terrific but he lacks attacking weapons as a forward. I believe Wicks would shut down most Oppo small fwds. This would allow Horse to move Campbell upfield where he belongs - stop crucifying the kid and disadvantaging the team.
Hickey/Ladhams had a poor night as a combo. Ladhams needs to be a threat up forward as a Fwd/Ruck. I think we should persist for four or five rounds.
You still have to defend and need them small shut down guys , Lloyd etc are notYep..
outs - JPK, Bell: ins - Campbell, Rowbum (hes fit, was suspended)
and yep would like to get Stephens in somewhere
lots of people want Wicks in defence.. I reckon he panics under pressure which could be a big weakness down back. But, with Harry out, we're missing a lockdown small defender
I dont reckon the defence is that bad. With 2 x McCartin, we are less mobile than last year so our small defenders need to be firing. We're missing Harry, and Lloyds role doesn't seem to be working - that role needs to defend more and not just safely/conservatively distribute coming out of defence
Rampe, McCartin x 2, Blakey are all good.
Who's the other half back?
Who's the small defenders?
Im keen to see the back 7 (or at least 6 of them) settle.
Agree its a good idea to play individuals or combinations for 5-6 games. But, Id prefer to see a Hickey/Amartey combo.
McDonald, Buddy and Amartey would be a VERY mobile and could be a very dangerous forward combo
Amartey is a very capable 2nd ruck
Ladhams has work to do on his ruck craft. Hopefully Cox and Hickey can help there, and Ladhams puts in the work and becomes a decent 1st ruck. He has heaps of work to do on his forward craft!
Absolute joke from both
When Logan got to the club he couldn't leave the goal square and could not produce a second effort to save his life his tank was that small.
Last night he covered 15kms and his workrste has gone through the roof. He's obviously been working extremely hard. A kid with that much talent, and determination to improve is a scary proposition.
The league was put on notice last night
So accurate I quoted and liked twice.When Logan got to the club he couldn't leave the goal square and could not produce a second effort to save his life his tank was that small.
Last night he covered 15kms and his workrste has gone through the roof. He's obviously been working extremely hard. A kid with that much talent, and determination to improve is a scary proposition.
The league was put on notice last night
Can confirmfor the people who attended the game, were the booing buddy? it sounded like it on tv. if so, what f*n scum
No current season stats available
My thoughts on the game
1. Carlton played very well for first half and then showed composure to first bog us down and then hold on in last quarter. New coach is making a difference. Does that remind us of a recent team? They feel like us last year (new coach = Pyke). Good on them. But I think like us last year, they do not have what it takes to win this year and opposition will study them carefully over the break. Will be interesting to see how they go next year.
2. Our defence got a free ride last year because oppositions couldn’t contain our attack. Oppositions have now figured out how to contain our attack and so our defence looks worse. Our defence is filled with very recently converted forwards/mids (both Macs, Blakey (though he is killing it), and Campbell. As other have noted, today we only had 2 long time defenders. It is going to take some time for things to gel.
3. People have noted that Carlton is younger than our team, while others have noted that they have had more time to roll over their list to find the right combos. I hate to say it, but I think we might need some time to find a set of true first 22 players.
4. Given I think we are a couple of years off, I think there is a big question on Buddy’s next contract. I think he should be on peanuts or out. I would like to see McLean (FF), Logan (CHF) and Amartey (second ruck) given time to develop as a core unit. I don’t think we can have McLean and Buddy in the same forward line next year as Buddy will be slower still. As many have said, Buddy could play on a wing, though not sure how accountable he would be.
5. I don’t like Heeney as a midfielder but I do like him roaming the ground. He is so good in open play everywhere. I think our structure should be based on 17 players and Henney should roam around wherever he can make the biggest difference. Add unpredictability to our best open play player and oppositions have a headache. To my first point, this would work better with a tighter defensive unit.
6. I previously remarked that we needed some blue on our guernsey to win more free kicks. Back to the drawing board on that one….
I think we need to accept that afl wants footy to be ‘dropaball’ and adapt accordingly. I think it is pathetic and would prefer the ‘ugly’ play of mid 00’s where men played as men and strength in the tackle and attempts to dispose the ball correctly were rewarded - but that is no longer the case (sad, as Kennedy was such a beautiful beast in Motion and could still be - hope his hammy is not the end of him).
This ping pong scrappy bull sh*t the game has turned into is not fun to watch - it’s also half the reason umpiring has become so contentious. It is so hard to get a clean possession that a free kick can make a huge difference to the game. It is becoming like soccer with players diving all over the place, including swans ducking on more than on occasion for a free kick last night (I didn’t mind the Carlton players getting in our face for this). I hate it, but that is the way any team needs to play to win nowadays.
If dropping the ball and having the ball knocked after prior opportunity were treated the same way as an incorrect disposal, the game would be much better. And if players were not punished for genuine attempts to dispose of the ball when they didn’t have prior opportunity, the game would be much better. And don’t get me started on players being rewarded for diving forward to create in the backs and ducking to create high tackles. If players wants to contribute to putting themselves in dangerous positions, they should not be rewarded. / End rant.
Blakey solid again, he'd almost be top 3 B+F so far for us I reckon. He produced a really good game every week.
And then re-signs to a 4 year contract.I bet you somehow Lloyd is currently winning our B&F.
I really hope blakey is high in the b and f getting some recognition internally. He's copped his whacks in his short career so it's only fair he gets the recognition when he is producing like he is.Had time to gather some thoughts.
Geez the carlton crowd are a bunch of campaigners. There was a tonne of bandwagon fans there last night. What an embarassment of a club.
Logan McDonald, best game of his career so far. An arrival game. Puts the league on notice with that performance. He was moving extremely well, 10 marks mind you as well. That mark coming across Buddy was a bit of a "Move over Bud" moment.
Blakey solid again, he'd almost be top 3 B+F so far for us I reckon. He produced a really good game every week.
Warner was great again, the mongrel we need in the middle.
Happy with the McCartins. No FB was going to stop Charlie Curnow last night. He was off the chain.
And then us in general, ergh. I dont know. I'm in 2 minds of what to make of us this year. Our best and our worst is so far apart. Our worst was on show in the 2nd quarter, our best was on show in the 3rd quarter. Horse needs to do something. We just cannot keep giving teams 6/7 goal runs and expect to make it up. Not a good team like Carlton.
Felt finals like vibe last night. That wouldn't be out of place in a qualifiying final or a semi. They brought the heat in the middle. Our fitness clawed it back, but they were just too good and steadied.
Onto Richmond next week.
They said the same thing about Rachele after his 5 in round 1...It's gonna take a good game from someone to get the rising star nod from Logan this week
Doesn't matter if you get completely murdered in that quarter you lost.Just watched the Horse presser. Apparently we won 3 quarters! Yip damnd yippee!
We won the 1st - absorbed their pressure and took our opportunities to hit the scoreboard.. tickJust watched the Horse presser. Apparently we won 3 quarters! Yip damnd yippee!