Autopsy 15 point loss to Carlton

Tough string of games ahead now...

Tigers h, dees a, port a, saints h, dons a, dogs h, freo a

Should be aiming to win 4 of these. If we only win say 2 then suddenly we're in big shit

We're in "big shit" already.

We are currently no more than a respectable outfit who are more likely to fall into the pretenders category than to rise into the contenders bracket.

One good win against Geelong + a bunch of wins which are the AFL equivalent of beating your grandmother in an arm wrestle. That is an executive summary of our season so far.

Tonight was a brutal reality check against an understrength Carlton with a rookie ruckman. Let that sink in.

We were humiliated, nay - bitchslapped like never before in the first half. Once again the intensity and pressure were like both Albo's competency level and the most useless waste of taxpayers money ever - net zero

I noted a remarkable similarity between the umps performance and Scomo’s prime ministership… lots of poor decisions and riddled with corruption.

We're in "big shit" already.

We are currently no more than a respectable outfit who are more likely to fall into the pretenders category than to rise into the contenders bracket.

One good win against Geelong + a bunch of wins which are the AFL equivalent of beating your grandmother in an arm wrestle. That is an executive summary of our season so far.

Tonight was a brutal reality check against an understrength Carlton with a rookie ruckman. Let that sink in.
Had we won tonight though we are a contender, it's a fine line. And I think we were unlucky not to. Just had to nail a few of those easy shots in the last quarter and the umpires were a six goal difference tonight tbh. If we knock off the Tigers next week comfortably then I'm optimistic still.

Had we won tonight though we are a contender, it's a fine line. And I think we were unlucky not to. Just had to nail a few of those easy shots in the last quarter and the umpires were a six goal difference tonight tbh.

We lost contested possessions 136-161.
We had 68 clangers to Carlton's 42.
They had 17 contested marks to our 12.
They had 53 one-percenters, we had 40.
And they had ten more tackles (60-50).

They had 80 points on the board at HT and we were lucky to be only 38 points down, considering they had registered 20 scoring shots to our 7.

Sure as heck the umpires didn't help us and yes we fought back in the 2nd half, but IMO if we had fallen over the line it would have only provided a false dawn.

We won clearances by 1 (centre clearances even, stoppage clearance +1) even though we lost hitouts but our biggest issue apart from contested possessions (skewed a bit by the blue handball heavy game v our kicking game) is the efficiency going inside 50. We went at 41% (avg 47%) while they went at nearly 60%!!! (avg 48%). This is attributed to the tackle pressure/pressure acts/perceived pressure. It's not surprising they lead in the tackle stats and pressure acts.

We play our best footy when we pressure the oppositions, that elite pressure was lacking in the 1st half but flipped in the 2nd half which reduced their clearance and contested possession domination. Watching live they had contested possession stats for 3rd and 4th quarter, from memory we won the 3rd and broke even in the 4th. IMO we need to focus on elite pressure for the entire 4 quarters and the contested possession stuff will sort itself out. We showed we can do it in the 2nd half v a top 3 midfield group.

Heeney had a nice game but his usual defensive impact was missing, only 1 tackle and was average with his pressure. If he continues to play in the middle he really needs to bring that physicality, even if he gives away a free kick or two.

I thought there were three primary issues that went wrong tonight and have been systemic all year (and possibly even longer):

1. We lack a contested game. That is, the hardness to actually win the ball in traffic and then the smarts to use it in traffic. We might've rebounded in the second half in terms of our clearances and contested work (against a fellow side notorious for fade-outs this year), but it produced 15 scoring shots for the rest of the game. Carlton's surge produced 12 scoring shots in the second quarter alone. It shows that even when we are holding our own in the contest, we're not translating it into meaningful passages or attacking dominance. This is because...

2. ... we don't really play as a team often enough. I feel as though we have a lot of players whose instinct is always to try and do more than what is necessary or appropriate. A few too many who, when they get the ball, seem to already have the highlight replay up in their heads before they've actually done anything with the ball. So many times the simple things worked for Carlton. There was less trying to break tackles or dance around opponents, and more short handpass chains that weren't flashy but were quick, created spread, and found the player in space to make an attacking play. THAT is great contested work. It's winning the ball in traffic and then working it through the traffic to the outside, not an individual trying to create "a moment" and stuffing up. A lack of simple, selfless footy though will kill what should be quick, fast breaks before they even begin. Which is how we end up...

3. ... always having to slow it down. For a team that last year became known for it's fast, exciting ball movement, we are stagnant this year. We can't get those fast, quick breaks through handball chains going without a basic error or wrong decision bringing them undone. Then you see a few of our boys do the "steady boys" gesture, and we slow the play back to our kicking/uncontested mark game. The problem with this is that as we wait for that uncontested option to rarely present itself, we are slowing the play down, giving teams time to set up to effectively cut off our kicking game. And that is how the "uncharacteristic" turnovers by foot have become so prevalent in our game.

In short: our poor contested work is killing our ability to produce fast, direct ball movement by hand, which is leading to our slower, more predictable kicking game being compromised.

That is just how I see it. Have seen it for a long time now and nearly every game just strengthens my belief that the above is our weaknesses in a nutshell.

What I liked:
  • I loved the endeavour of Campbell. That kick inside 50 to Papley was the most outrageous kick I have seen this year, and all the evidence I need to know I want him further up the ground.
  • Ladhams' tackling efforts were immense. You take the good with the bad when you have a ruck who tries to play like a midfielder, and his tackling and pressure was very good.
  • Blakey & Paddy looked like the only Swans who could reliably hit targets all night.
  • COR being COR. No fuss, no real mistakes, constant efforts. His mark in the 4th was brilliant and courageous. He wants to succeed as a footballer.
  • Potential coming of age game from Logan, but would like to see more consistency from his conversion. I just love how he reaches his arms up at full length and the ball just lands in his hands. It's a majestic marking action.

What I didn't like:
  • JPK potentially bowing out under those circumstances. I hope we see him back at some stage. He deserves it.
  • The complete failure to launch of our senior core: Shockingly muted first halves from Mills, Parker, Buddy, Heeney and Papley when the heat was most on.
  • Warner with 12 turnovers. I know he's a kid but that is just unacceptable and if his name was Zak Jones or Ollie Florent, he'd be hanged by now.
  • Laconic McInerney. His talent is self-explanatory but he has had a very ordinary month and we can ill afford it.
  • This board's reaction to Tom McCartin having 6 kicked on him. Was it his fault? Not really. The midfield got smashed and did our defenders no favours. That never stopped anyone from laying into Melican for having 5 kicked on him in a 40 point thrashing to the Suns.
  • Our two rucks collectively losing to their young ruck was so demoralising to see and I can't imagine it was much different for our boys out there.
Onto next week, where I think we're in with a red hot chance. We're in the eight, and, if our games against Brisbane and Carlton are anything to go by, probably not in flag contention. If this year is our backwards step needed to take two forward steps, then so be it. Rome wasn't built in a day. And I would know.

That was the most dubious umpiring I have ever seen in my life. I’m lost for words after that really. We had all the chances to win in that last quarter but the decisions and non decisions over the course of the game were mind boggling. I am seething.
We are at the point where it is not the umpires, but the coaching to blame. If every other club in the league is being coached to win frees, we also need to coach our players to win frees.

Free kicks change momentum and momentum changes games.

Don't mind O'Riordan down back. Strangely reliable.

What's Fox doing these days in the VFL?
COR is the only natural defender in our team, other than Ramps.
The others can't defend one on one if thir life depended on it.
They have been taught to be a part of a whole team defence but look embarrassing & out of their depth when one part of that team defence breaks down.

If Buddy isn't moving, Buddy isn't an asset any longer.
JPK's mind got to the contest well before his body did poor bloke.
He was clearly struggling with the pace of the game prior to that.
It's time for some of the young blokes like Warner to remove the sh.t quiet patches like in the second from their game.

Positives?
Carlton supporters learning the words to their club song as it was flashing up along the neon signs around tbe ground.
Da da da da da. . . . :tearsofjoy:

Hewett seemed too happy to beat us in the post game interview.

Maybe no love lost between him and the club.
He had plenty chances as a Swan to play like that.
He still had chances & so he didn't with us.
Now at the Blues he can get lost in that muddle of top 5 draft picks they have gained from being good at being sh.t shit for years on end.

Heaps of good points caesar88 , not least about Rome (as I also know full well :))

It was a clash of game styles, however they had more committed to being in the contest and we lacked the commitment to run in support. One reason we got back into it was our better fitness. They have a number of large body types.

Sure the Umpiring was dire but it is to be expected and not why we lost. The point about individuals thinking of the highlight reel is fair and unfair. I think the tendency of say Gulden, Blakey and Warner to bite off more than they can chew is as much desperation to get momentum ticking our way. Every Oppo knows Chad is going to run and kick - this gives him the chance to handpass but it requires team mates to talk and run with him.

• I too thought COR had a good game. Like Sir Dane he has a defender's natural inclinations. His mark in Q4 was a cracker. As he is an 'unknown', the 7 Commentators barely remarked on it. Someone else and they would have raved.
  • Rampe and Paddy had decent games and kept us in it. Paddy's disposal is close to elite.
  • Lloyd and McInerney had better second halves.
  • Logan was fantastic throughout. He too could have had 6. (the unfortunate Q3 miss and the two time related Q4 misses).
  • Gulden and Blakey both had strong games. Campbell as he did late in 2021, showed what he can add up the ground.

Looking ahead, we have a tough patch and may drop from the 8. I thought we would be around the 8 and should make it and still do.
* Mills, Heeney and Parker were serviceable.

Besides the Essendon game, we seem to get beaten at the contest for long periods of the game. Clearly we are capable of competing in this area so what is the issue? Is it mental? Tactics? Whatever the problem, it needs to be rectified asap.

The other area that needs to be cleaned up is our work at ground level in defence. In the McCartains, we have the aerial contest covered. But at ground level, we get belted. Opposition medium - smalls have dined out on us. For some reason, we very rarely have anyone covering behind the marking contest. The only way we can stop them is to cut it off in the air or not have the ball get into our defensive 50. Last night Durdin, Motlop and Fisher all looked alot better than they really are.

This board's reaction to Tom McCartin having 6 kicked on him. Was it his fault? Not really. The midfield got smashed and did our defenders no favours. That never stopped anyone from laying into Melican for having 5 kicked on him in a 40 point thrashing to the Suns.

I disagreed with this. Of course Tommy copped a complete and utter bath. It was not just the 6 snags (more than the past 3 weeks) but his errors and obvious loss of confidence in general play.

There is a vast difference between Tom and Melican which the Board understands.

Autopsy 15 point loss to Carlton