1st Ashes Test England v Australia June 16-20 1930hrs @ Edgbaston

Who will win?

Australian cricket must be getting soft if we want to ban someone for telling a batsman to f*** off and calling them a prick. Half our glory years team would never have got on the pitch if this happened.
Times have changed though.

It's the hypocrisy that annoys me.
If one of ours said that to Joe Root, it would've been "Ugly Aussies" at it again.
Now I guess it's called theatre.

yeah it’s old news. it came to light during his debut test and it’s been dealt with.
I’m not excusing it but plenty of people have said dumb s**t when they were 18 and then grown to understand just how dumb it was as a matured adult.
I don't think mature adult and ollie robinson go hand in hand.

He doesn't strike me as the type who is particularly intelligent.

Bringing Ricky Ponting into it is very odd considering the punter has been retired for more than a decade.

The optics of giving a send-off to Australia's only Muslim player is also a bad look when one considers what Robinson said many years ago.

Once again, I wouldn't expect someone of Robinson's intelligence to care for, or even identify such nuances.

Time have changed though.

If one of ours said that to Joe Root, it would've been "Ugly Aussies" at it again.

I don't mind the odd send off - but you look like a flog when the guy has got 140 odd.

Brett Lee used to annoy me if his celebrations after bowling a tail ender.

Mitchell Starc giving the one armed point to Vince in 2017 when he bowled him off the Perth crack was also a bit silly.

I'd prefer our players didn't do it - even the screaming in the general direction of the batsmen.

All in all, it is just a game and I have no doubt players get emotional in the moment. Still, giving players a send off just opens up the chance of getting one back or having the game quick you up the arse.

I don't want Robinson to get anything for that send off. I want Usman to hit him for four to bring up his second hundred of the series and to calmly walk down the wicket and tell him to hurry up and fetch the ball as there's more runs on offer. Just stir him up.
I just hope we send some short stuff his way when it is his turn to bat, wish we had Starc in the team to do it.

considering the weather situation I wonder if England will aim for 150-200 & declare. Try to get a result today or at worst only take 1 session tomorrow. Weather is not good for tomorrow.
Come on England, do it for the good of Test cricket. You hate draws and want results :drunk:

Odds have swung back in Australia's favour, but England could still bat us out of the game. Hopefully we can get them out for under 250 and chase it quite comfortably.

As for Robinson, I have no problem with a bit of 'theatre', but there's nothing clever about f*** off you f****** P****, especially when the guy has just made 140. Just makes you look like a peanut. Australia's best response would be to say it doesn't bother them but it does make Robinson look like a bit of a clown.

I don't mind the odd send off - but you look like a flog when the guy has got 140 odd.

Brett Lee used to annoy me if his celebrations after bowling a tail ender.

Mitchell Starc giving the one armed point to Vince in 2017 when he bowled him off the Perth crack was also a bit silly.

I'd prefer our players didn't do it - even the screaming in the general direction of the batsmen.

All in all, it is just a game and I have no doubt players get emotional in the moment. Still, giving players a send off just opens up the chance of getting one back or having the game quick you up the arse.
Then again, it's the Ashes, and emotions do get a bit frayed in the heat of battle. I'm sure Robinson and Khawaja will have a beer together at some point.

Sorry, I thought I was posting on a cricket thread on a footy forum, not the ex-Australian players group chat.
There's coaches on here that have been coaching high level cricket for decades. I know for a fact that someone involved with the NSW development setup posts on BF if not the cricket forum.

I get that the Cricket board is antagonistic to a fault, but just because some of the views in here are dumb does not entail no-one knows what they're talking about.

So awesome to wake up to those 2 wickets - shame we couldn't have gotten a bit more play as I reckon we would have done maximum damage.

Hopefully it shows a few in here that were saying the "rain saved Australia from losing" and "Boland needs to be dropped" (at the first rain delay) that perhaps they were (massively) over-reacting to what was an evenly poised game at the time.

What utter tripe of we batted defensively we batted the normal Test rate, **** me these arrogant pricks think they are God's gift to cricket for upping the run rate a bit.

Then again, it's the Ashes, and emotions do get a bit frayed in the heat of battle. I'm sure Robinson and Khawaja will have a beer together at some point.
I don't think Usman does the beer thing.

I don't really care about the juvenile send-off.
I'm more annoyed that Pommy Plopper Robinson ended up with 3 bloody wickets.

Australian cricket must be getting soft if we want to ban someone for telling a batsman to f*** off and calling them a prick. Half our glory years team would never have got on the pitch if this happened.
It's just media beating it up, Usman has already said he doesn't care. Not that much really seems to to bother Usman at this stage of his career. If Robinson is intent on sending people off to get a reaction he is better off doing it to one of younger guys or an old hot head like Davey, not the calmest cricketer on earth who is seemingly incapable of been flustered in his current headspace.

It's been way too convenient over the years for other countries to gain the sympathy of the media by complaining about the big bad Aussies. Yes, at times the Aussies' behaviour not been all that good, but there's always been that expectation of Australians from other countries that they have not been willing to exhibit themselves.

As you say, it's the hypocrisy that annoys me. I expect things like "Well they do it" from children.

What utter tripe of we batted defensively we batted the normal Test rate, * me these arrogant pricks think they are God's gift to cricket for upping the run rate a bit.

I think they are hoping Australia falls for the trap of trying to emulate this Bazball rubbish. Just play our game, not theirs.

I don't want Robinson to get anything for that send off. I want Usman to hit him for four to bring up his second hundred of the series and to calmly walk down the wicket and tell him to hurry up and fetch the ball as there's more runs on offer. Just stir him up.

the weird thing about the send off is that they have tried verbals against Usman in the past and he just doesn't bite.

It's been way too convenient over the years for other countries to gain the sympathy of the media by complaining about the big bad Aussies. Yes, at times the Aussies' behaviour not been all that good, but there's always been that expectation of Australians from other countries that they have not been willing to exhibit themselves.

As you say, it's the hypocrisy that annoys me. I expect things like "Well they do it" from children.

Last 10 years i would say most abusive series have been SA vs england yet those two teams are some of the first to play role of victim against our guys as you said its the hypocrisy thats issue all teams sledge yet only one team has been consistently attacked by all and sundry for doing it.

1st Ashes Test England v Australia June 16-20 1930hrs @ Edgbaston