Opinion 2014 Draft ( Live discussion ) Mod notice post #6629

Are there any more invited to the state drafts or this that it?
Any reason Mclaren wasn't invited to the national draft?

Mmmm I dunno mate, if Melbourne lose Frawley I expect them to take Brayshaw and Lever/Durdin
If Melbourne get a top 5 pick for Frawley I don't reckon there is anything surer than them trading out that pick for a GWS or Gold Coast mid, someone like Dylan Shiel or perhaps Mitchell from the swans.

The Bound for Glory team have put together their mock draft.

1 St Kilda – Patrick McCartin (Geelong Falcons)
2 Melbourne – Christian Petracca (Eastern Ranges)
3 Greater Western Sydney – Angus Brayshaw (Sandringham Dragons)
4 Brisbane – Peter Wright (Calder Cannons)
5 Western Bulldogs – Jake Lever (Calder Cannons)
6 Carlton – Jayden Laverde (Western Jets)
7 Richmond – Jarrod Pickett (South Fremantle)
8 West Coast – Paul Ahern (Calder Cannons)
9 Adelaide – Sam Durdin (West Adelaide)
10 Gold Coast – Liam Duggan (Western Jets)
11 Collingwood – Darcy Moore (Oakleigh Chargers) (f/s)
12 North Melbourne – Jordan De Goey (Oakleigh Chargers)
13 Port Adelaide – Caleb Marchbank (Murray Bushrangers)
14 Fremantle – Lachie Weller (Southport)
15 Geelong – Connor Menadue (Western Jets)
16 Gold Coast (compo) – Corey Ellis (Western Jets)
17 Sydney – Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) (a/s)
18 Hawthorn – Tom Lamb (Dandenong Stingrays)
19 Greater Western Sydney (compo) – Connor Blakely (Swan Districts)
20 Essendon (compo) – Hugh Goddard (Geelong Falcons)

We also ended up with:

26 Carlton – Reece McKenzie (Northern Knights)

43 Carlton – Tom Wilkinson (Sandringham Dragons)

61 Carlton – Sean McLaren (Sandringham Dragons)

Would be very happy with that return (mainly because of the first two selection), however, without knowing much about Tom Wilkinson his numbers read well as a midfield accumulator, we've loaded up on two KPP's and two midfielders.

Does anybody else have concerns that Durdin could be the next James Sellar?

I'd be worried that McKenzie's latest burst of form will push him into the first round :(

367509-052aa87a-b874-11e3-848d-cd1e735129aa.jpg
mckenzie.jpg
443340-a47a5d16-04c4-11e4-b1cf-7e2d177ab5ea.jpg

.... would it be THAT unrealistic that we would pull the trigger on him with our first pick?

Any word on the suggested mid-season draft?

Having lost Boots, Duigan and Scotland throughout the journey, Mick emphasized in the Garlett press conference that having players unavailable for selection was hurting his ability to field a competitive side.

What are peoples thoughts on Lachie Weller at Pick #6?

Looks an incredibly smooth mover, quick, nice disposal - has the sort of frame which could see him bulk up.

... and if it didn't work out and he wanted to head home to his parents in Queensland (even though they are originally from Tassie), we could always do what the GC/GWS do and hold him to ransom.

The highlights package below looks impressive, but then again he's only playing against Isaac Heeney + 21, and he could become a Kane Lucas type.

Why would Melbourne bother to match an offer when a top 4 pick is up for grabs?

They can't match the offer anyway, he's an unrestricted free agent, so he picks where he wants to play and that's where he ends up. Best Melbourne can do is put a sizable offer on the table and hope he decides to stay.

Frawley has been as good as going to Hawthorn for about 12 months.

however, without knowing much about Tom Wilkinson his numbers read well as a midfield accumulator, we've loaded up on two KPP's and two midfielders.

I've seen Sandringham play a few games this year. Tom Wilkinson really stood out to me. Has speed to burn but also has the ability to take a contested grab.I remember him taking two incredible contested marks deep forward against the Geelong Falcons and finishing off both times. He moves through the midfield and forwardline as well. Love those players that have great intensity and he has that.

In fact there's a few guys from Sandringham that I liked when I watched. Josh Clayton looks a bright prospect and was also impressed by Will Fordham as well.

I guess I've only seen a glimpse of them but Clayton strikes me as a player that could definitely get drafted. Surprised not to see him in the BFGN phantom draft.

What are peoples thoughts on Lachie Weller at Pick #6?

Looks an incredibly smooth mover, quick, nice disposal - has the sort of frame which could see him bulk up.

... and if it didn't work out and he wanted to head home to his parents in Queensland (even though they are originally from Tassie), we could always do what the GC/GWS do and hold him to ransom.

The highlights package below looks impressive, but then again he's only playing against Isaac Heeney + 21, and he could become a Kane Lucas type.
A player with Lucas' ability and performance at junior level would be a first round pick. Was tracked since the 2008 draft. Hindsight is an exact science.

McKenzie will be the player to watch at this years draft. Could go anywhere from about 20 onwards IMO.

How athletic is he? He's not just another Serhat Tehmel/Luke Mitchell who rag dolls kids but doesn't have enough tricks for the next level?

Honest question mate. I havnt seen him play.