List Mgmt. 2016 Trade and Free Agency Targets Part 1

Who do you hope we target?

• Daniel Rich - Brisbane Lions (Free Agent)

Votes: 21 7.5%
  • Jaeger O'Meara - Gold Coast Suns (Trade)

Votes: 112 40.1%
  • Dion Prestia - Gold Coast Suns (Trade)

Votes: 53 19.0%
  • Tom Lynch - Gold Coast Suns(Trade)

Votes: 24 8.6%
  • Ollie Wines - Port (Trade)

Votes: 55 19.7%
  • Other

Votes: 65 23.3%
  • Peter Wright - Gold Coast Suns (Trade)

Votes: 23 8.2%
  • Tom Rockliff

Votes: 15 5.4%

Agreed, imo he had a good season last year and is still quite young, but in reality rucks don't actually go for that much. So many decent to very good ruckmen have been traded for bordering on peanuts over the last few years.
one big season or even half a season (say if hickey gets injured for the second half of this year) and he could demand a much higher pick. The very top rucks are worth almost as much as mids/forwards.

When has that been the case though? I honestly can't remember the last time a ruckman was traded outright for a top 15 pick

fair, but unlike other positions, if you have a single dominant ruck (part time rucks would never garner a top 15) you're not going to trade them, and your second string ruck won't be playing seniors to show his wares. There has to be some pretty extraordinary circumstances for this hypothetical to play out. However, although unlikely, there's a small chance this hypothetical could happen at the saints in the next two years. One goes down injured, the other plays a blistering six months. If there was a mid season trade period, Hickey could probably get us a top 15 pick from a team in their premiership window but without a solid ruckman.

Be nice if we could just get a few free agent a grade mids and hold onto both longer and hickey. Hate to lose another granny due to decimated ruck stocks :S

AFL has announced plans for a mother-son/daughter rule... Yet another caveat on the 'open' draft... :rolleyes:

So all of the players from the bayside who now will play for the filth or Carlton will have their kids allocated to these teams instead of the Saints team.

Farce of the highest order. What about Father/Daughter? Or Stepfather second cousin third removed?

The AFL commission is a running gag.

AFL has announced plans for a mother-son/daughter rule... Yet another caveat on the 'open' draft... :rolleyes:

i think we need to calm down a little here. lets be honest the mother-daughter, father-daughter stuff really wont affect us at all and its a nice rule to bring in

the potential for a mother-son rule will and it will also affect the other 10 clubs, there is no way the numbers of games qualification will be low/pass through without the likes of wce, port, sydney, st kilda, geelong, richmond, norf cracking the shits and blocking it. that is unless, every club is on an equal footing

Brisbane thought so and he's had a lot of development since and hasn't even started the trajectory.
Sorry you can't realistically say that
We got him for a pick 23?
He isn't worth a lot more than that
Top 10 pick is for stars

With GWS facing a big salary cap squeeze (less so now that Scully has re-signed and they've restructured his contract) you'd think they would be extractable if you offered them enough money and they weren't fully entrenched in their team by the end of next year though. Just like how Steele seems likely to leave this year.

If we're really serious about getting genuinely "elite" talent in I reckon this is the most likely way to be able to do so without having to sell the farm, or take a huge punt on the fitness of someone like JOM.
Wouldn't come cheap

i think we need to calm down a little here. lets be honest the mother-daughter, father-daughter stuff really wont affect us at all and its a nice rule to bring in

the potential for a mother-son rule will and it will also affect the other 10 clubs, there is no way the numbers of games qualification will be low/pass through without the likes of wce, port, sydney, st kilda, geelong, richmond, norf cracking the shits and blocking it. that is unless, every club is on an equal footing
It stinks of favouritism. They get access first and the financial benefits of being a foundation club.

Yes, the effect will probably be minimal, but it's another filthy look for the game.

Rhys Stanley ( 23yo ), largely prospective went for pick 21.
Paddy Ryder (26yo) went for 17 +37. ( probably worth the same as 15).
Ben McEvoy (23) in outright terms certainly fetched the equivalent.
Robbie Warnock (22 yo maybe ) Pick 24 +
27 yo Darren Jolly was probably the last one, went for 14 +37.
Cam Wood before that went for 14 (aged 19 probably )

Mumford was a forced trade and Sydney were ( rightfully IMO ) reamed.
Earlier a forced trade to Sydney ( pick 28)

If Shaun Hampson(25yo) is worth 32. Jesse White(26yo) 44. Trent West(26yo) 41. Hamish McIntosh(27yo) 38. Angus Graham 42. Brent Renouf 33, you'd expect a bit more for a young contracted player with a lot more upside.

Rhys Stanley ( 23yo ), largely prospective went for pick 21.
Paddy Ryder (26yo) went for 17 +37. ( probably worth the same as 15).
Ben McEvoy (23) in outright terms certainly fetched the equivalent.
Robbie Warnock (22 yo maybe ) Pick 24 +
27 yo Darren Jolly was probably the last one, went for 14 +37.
Cam Wood before that went for 14 (aged 19 probably )

Mumford was a forced trade and Sydney were ( rightfully IMO ) reamed.
Earlier a forced trade to Sydney ( pick 28)

If Shaun Hampson(25yo) is worth 32. Jesse White(26yo) 44. Trent West(26yo) 41. Hamish McIntosh(27yo) 38. Angus Graham 42. Brent Renouf 33, you'd expect a bit more for a young contracted player with a lot more upside.
comprehensive :O

It stinks of favouritism. They get access first and the financial benefits of being a foundation club.

Yes, the effect will probably be minimal, but it's another filthy look for the game.

what benefit? nothings been announced on mother-son

there is no evidence to suggest there will be any financial benefit from having a womens team. its a cost if anything. 1m per a year. now that may change into the future, but right now i think people are over-stating the benefits from having a side. once it launches and gets underway i think people will see this

Sorry you can't realistically say that
We got him for a pick 23?
He isn't worth a lot more than that
Top 10 pick is for stars

Well he can say that because it's his opinion.

We got him for below his value because it was a buyers market. Brisbane faced losing Billy for nothing & accepted the best deal that they could

Sorry I understand that it was his opinion which is the purpose of this site.
We may have got him for slightly unders but I think a late first rounder would be more realistic

my mistake thought you were talking about scully, id give up a 2nd rounder for steele hasnt really done much
Yes Steele for a second rounder is about fair value
maybe slightly less, GWS not usually tight

to follow up on Barrels post. daisy said on c7 pregame that there will be a mother-son rule announced but it will be pro-rata'd given how short their season is, they think it will be a 35 game qualification. given the season is 6 games, thats a tick under 6 seasons. so i dont think we are missing out much here, as long as we get a team eventually

My recollection was that the Hawks were negotiating after him, but they were asking more than the Hawks wanted to pay. Hawks were then happy to pay the extra that was being asked for someone who was a bit more proven. Lions then left holding a man who was going to walk if he couldn't get traded.

Pretty much... Except the Hawks didn't expect McEvoy to be on the table. Billy was waiting on the call to go & sign a contract with the Hawks. Once Haw got Ben thr left Billy in limbo land... But he wasn't going back to Brissie.

I'm not getting into the cons of trading either of Billy or Tom....most people know my viewpoint.

Its silly season early .
So far this week rumored player movements.
Jenkins - Brisbane
Hibberd - Melbourne
Cloke - Hawthorn
Barlow - Hawthorn
B Crouch - Hawthorn
Vickery - Western Bulldogs
Broomhead - Port Adelaide
Mayne - North Melbourne
Prestia - North Melbourne/ Carlton
Marchbank- Essendon/Carlton
Downie - Richmond

So all of the players from the bayside who now will play for the filth or Carlton will have their kids allocated to these teams instead of the Saints team.

Farce of the highest order. What about Father/Daughter? Or Stepfather second cousin third removed?

The AFL commission is a running gag.

Its girls footy. Please tell me you really do care because I doubt it. And we are going to probably play in a year or two anyway.