List Mgmt. 2016 Trade and Free Agency Targets Part 1

Who do you hope we target?

• Daniel Rich - Brisbane Lions (Free Agent)

Votes: 21 7.5%
  • Jaeger O'Meara - Gold Coast Suns (Trade)

Votes: 112 40.1%
  • Dion Prestia - Gold Coast Suns (Trade)

Votes: 53 19.0%
  • Tom Lynch - Gold Coast Suns(Trade)

Votes: 24 8.6%
  • Ollie Wines - Port (Trade)

Votes: 55 19.7%
  • Other

Votes: 65 23.3%
  • Peter Wright - Gold Coast Suns (Trade)

Votes: 23 8.2%
  • Tom Rockliff

Votes: 15 5.4%

i def re-call the same rumours that us and the blues were into him, but i never heard the details of the offer

i vaguely recall that when the dogs offer came out, we inquired and then said the offer was too big for us to match

Correct. The Dogs offer and then Boyd requesting a trade caught everybody by surprise. When we heard we spoke to GWS and Boyd camp but when we heard the contract on offer we just moved on.
For what it's worth I think it was a gamble the Dogs had to make, and I'm certainly not writing Boyd off at this stage but there are worrying signs for Dogs on potential outcome on their investment.
I have absolutely no doubt we have the best young KPF to be drafted in recent times. We've got a beauty.

Correct. The Dogs offer and then Boyd requesting a trade caught everybody by surprise. When we heard we spoke to GWS and Boyd camp but when we heard the contract on offer we just moved on.
For what it's worth I think it was a gamble the Dogs had to make, and I'm certainly not writing Boyd off at this stage but there are worrying signs for Dogs on potential outcome on their investment.
I have absolutely no doubt we have the best young KPF to be drafted in recent times. We've got a beauty.
Guessing you're not counting the mini draft in that? :p

When we played Melbourne earlier in the year and Hogan kicked his 7 goals I was sitting there at the ground thinking that there are huge similarities between the attributes and so-on of Hogan and Paddy and the way they play the game, having seen more of Paddy live and on TV by that stage and seeing Hogan live again.

Same sort of size and build, similar speed, both really strong overhead and can mark in a 1-on-1 contest or a pack, both very good on the lead, both similar kicks for goal and around ground and as such, I don't see any reason why Paddy won't be very similar to Hogan, once he's had the 4 pre seasons that Hogan has had (all things being equal).

That's the big difference between the two now. Hogan had a man's body and elite endurance before he even reached Melbourne and has now had 4 preseasons, whereas Paddy's body and endurance levels were a mile off it when he arrived at St Kilda and he's only had the two preseasons since (doing only 40% of the work in one and 80% in the other, according to him).

Once their bodies and fitness levels are at a similar level I don't see any reason why they can't have a similar output on the field. I haven't seen any tricks or major attributes that one has that the other one doesn't have that will set one way apart from the other.

Massive call, would be over the moon if things turned out that way

Just my opinion but I was messaging stavro#4 over pre season saying that this kid is the most insanely talented KPF that I've seen come through for a while. We've seen some signs this season that he'll be special. His contested marking and ground ball work for a really big guy is elite. He's exceeded expectations from his underage days.
We've only seen very small samples this year at AFL level (has destroyed some VFL games) but he reminds me so much of a young Johnathan Brown, and I don't say that lightly.

Not writing off Boyd at all, it is the huge money offered over such a long period.
Shouldnt be compared to Paddy. Been in yhe system two more years and Psddy has shown more at this point.
I dont think Sydney paid that much for Buddy. Certainty not Tippett.
Will Boyd be a million $ player and what damage has it done to the Bulldogs ability to entice a Hurley type player?

Redpath looks a better prospect currently. Still 6.5 years to show his worth.
5.5 years... Boyd was a Dog last year too

Just my opinion but I was messaging stavro#4 over pre season saying that this kid is the most insanely talented KPF that I've seen come through for a while. We've seen some signs this season that he'll be special. His contested marking and ground ball work for a really big guy is elite. He's exceeded expectations from his underage days.
We've only seen very small samples this year at AFL level (has destroyed some VFL games) but he reminds me so much of a young Johnathan Brown, and I don't say that lightly.

you know i'm ultra critical on him, mainly because i havent seen a lot of him, but theres thing he's done this year that make me think i was wrong

having said that the only thing stopping me from conceeding now is that we look really vulnerable on rebound with him down there as he doesnt have the tank yet to apply defencive pressure like bruce and membrey can

Completely agree. Though I still thought Jesse had the edge on him due to his ability to cover the ground, but Paddy is improving that area of his game very quickly so I'm even more bullish. The kind of player you can build a team around (not unlike his mentor).

you know i'm ultra critical on him, mainly because i havent seen a lot of him, but theres thing he's done this year that make me think i was wrong

having said that the only thing stopping me from conceeding now is that we look really vulnerable on rebound with him down there as he doesnt have the tank yet to apply defencive pressure like bruce and membrey can

The big fella started from a really long way back when he was recruited. To his credit he's improved immeasurably since then, it's easy to see this year how much better he's covering the ground. He's never going to be a big defensive pressure/tackler because of his size and build but it won't be a major issue either. That's why we will have Jack Lonie and Mav Weller in the area.
Fitness is not about how quickly you can cover ground, it's about how quickly you can recover and go again, and that's the area that Paddy will be working hard on over the next 2-3 pre seasons.

The big fella started from a really long way back when he was recruited. To his credit he's improved immeasurably since then, it's easy to see this year how much better he's covering the ground. He's never going to be a big defensive pressure/tackler because of his size and build but it won't be a major issue either. That's why we will have Jack Lonie and Mav Weller in the area.
Fitness is not about how quickly you can cover ground, it's about how quickly you can recover and go again, and that's the area that Paddy will be working hard on over the next 2-3 pre seasons.

I'm worried about the concussions he's gotten though. I mean he's had 4-5 in the last season and half. A couple of times he was knocked out cold. It's scary when you think that a young Lions (?) player had to retire because of a concussion. Obviously I'm nkt saying he'll have to retire but it worries me how often he gets concussed because, as you say, he's a beauty.

Concussion is an extremely serious issue these days and not something I'm an expert on but the knocks Paddy has had have been on the minor side of things. The Collingwood and particularly the Adelaide knocks looked very serious but they were more precautionary than anything if that makes sense?
You can have your cage rattled without actually suffering a concussion. You never know with concussions but it's not an issue with Paddy at this stage.

I remember on one of the thinly-veiled troll threads on the main board about our youth last year a dogs fan (of all people) who had watched Paddy in the VFL assuring everyone that he was going to be an absolute ripper and for Saints fans not to worry about him in the slightest.

Watching him this year in the seniors that dogs fan has proven to be correct. I'm convinced Paddy is going to be an absolute beast of a player, there's just something about his presence he possesses on the field that you know you have seen in only the very best forwards. Us Saints fans should know, we've seen a few.

Surely if that's true he wouldn't have resigned for 2 more years last September....

Something is going on , keep hearing same thing about Rocket . Host of players will be seeking new homes . Smells a bit like the Brisbane situation with Vossy.
I really hope they sort things out , dont think the Suns could survive a rebuild .

On debut he dropped a simple mark and picked it up off his toes like no big young player I've ever seen. People got nervous that night but he showed signs.

Who's these people that got nervous. I've never doubted him. We've been so good last few years with draft picks. You wouldn't do your due diligence on him and be wrong. He's got character and plays for the team as well. Hogans all about himself which is why he's a flog! And whoever said earlier about the 7 he kicked on us. I reckon 3 of them were legit and the other 4 were either handball receives or free kicks because he pleads for them. Paddy goes and gets the ball and doesn't cry foul. If you watch hogan all he does if he doesn't mark it. Look to the umpire for help. And that run up! Bloody hell give me paddy all day every day!

We'd prefer a fully fit JOM every single day of the week, but one of our major needs is midfield class with running ability and Gaff would bring that. His kicking this year has apparently been uncharacteristically poor, but as I thought was the case from all the times I've watched him in the past, it's apparently usually extremely neat and reliable (including inside 50, which is very important) so I certainly wouldn't say no to him for the right price. He just runs and runs and keeps on getting it and Paddy and co. would love to be on the end of his neat passes for the next 10 years.