Training 2017/2018 Pre-season Thread

Who will be our most improved for 2018?

Ben Jarman started the game on the wing.
He played the majority of last season on the wing for us, which surprised me after I heard that he struggled with a tank. Can’t play on the wing for us if you can’t run endurance. Pleased to see we are still playing him there and then resting up forward a little bit too where he is very clever.

Best way to improve his tank is playing as a wingman/forward rather than a pure forward.

I gather he kicked a couple of goals today. Skills are not going to be the issue, rather improving that fitness base.

Got to the ground about ten minutes into the first qtr and left at 3/4 time, but will provide a few comments nonetheless.

Galucci - will happily eat humble pie, however just don't see it with him. Early days, but expect more given the price we paid.

Poholke - like this kid. Moves well in traffic and good overhead. Decision making could improve.

Edwards - doesn't look out of place and look forward to him learning his craft in the twos this year. Can see something to work with.

Otten - tragedy he has lost so much pace as he is such a smart footballer, but too slow for AFL. Will be invaluable as the skipper in the twos.

Cheney - would want to do more to be playing ones.

Milera - barely noticeable in the first half, but worked into it in the third and instantly made us better when played through him. Has the ability to cut open the play so easily. Would look to keep in the twos until he starts pulling 20-25 touches week on week.

Wilson - would be more than comfortable to see him in the ones. Is an inside bull. Big bodied midfielder who will debut if we have injuries.

Himmelberg - impresses me everytime I see him. Him and Dear competed well but seemed to be competing for the same ball on many occasion. So good on the Dck also.

Signerello - I am seeing something here. He's got good skills and awareness. Reads the play well.

Hunter - not terrible. Has q good set of hands on him.

Dear - see Himmelberg. I would want to see Harry start dominating this level to get a call up.

Davis - DNP

OBrien - DNP

Jarman - didn't notice much.

Top ups
Hill did some nice things.
66 looks a unit and fierce competitor
Little blonde fella did well.
Apart from that didn't pay much attention.

Sent from my HTC 2PS6200 using Tapatalk

Just back from the game and it was hardly an inspiring performance from both clubs.
The excuses are; it was bloody hot and it was the first SANFL trial of the year and players will need that run.

The players who impressed me most for the Crows were firstly Wilson whose first half was good. He certainly has a weapon in his long kicking and he finds space and does make good decisions. Not as prominent in the second half but he did well.
Poholke also had a pretty good game in the midfield. He's certainly strong over the ball and seemed to find the ball more than his fellow mid fielders .
Milera came into the game in the second half and what he did was good. Clean with the ball and doesn't rush his disposals, so in must cases found a team mate. Looked comfortable at half back but I would still like to see a touch more aggression.

Jarman and Sig did a couple of nice things and when Gallucci touched the ball he used it well but he didn't find it enough.
Jackson Edwards was so so, hung onto the ball too long and got caught. He'll adjust and hopefully get a better feel for the speed of the game.

Rankine for West really just went through the motions and treated it as the trial it was, poor game. Didn't chase hard or get many touches but one or two touches reminds you how much talent he possesses.

First trial game for the season and it showed.

Not really, he's a very good player, like I said he can be BOG on his good days, but the term superstar gets thrown around too easily and he's certainly a rung or two below the best in the business.

And it's too early to write of Gooch yet to say he won't reach that sort of level.
Who's calling him a superstar , he's a pro with a very good cv

Galluci is a strong athlete that needs to work on his footy . He will be best 22 just not at the pointy end like dougy has been at times

But I though Hampton was not in our best 30 players & no chance for round 1... ;)
He wouldn't be, if we had a full list to choose from, and players like Gallucci & Poholke had developed as hoped.

I'd have him as the last player picked for today's game. Throw in Smith, Walker, Knight, Brouch & Milera, and he's on the edge of the 30. I had also hoped that Gallucci & Poholke would have gone past him. Sadly, the latter two do not appear to have taken the next step just yet.

He wouldn't be, if we had a full list to choose from, and players like Gallucci & Poholke had developed as hoped.

I'd have him as the last player picked for today's game. Throw in Smith, Walker, Knight, Brouch & Milera, and he's on the edge of the 30. I had also hoped that Gallucci & Poholke would have gone past him. Sadly, the latter two do not appear to have taken the next step just yet.
Edge of the 30....fair dinkum..

Another goal set up by Milera, think it was Signorello who booted that one .47-34.

I think we are really gonna need someone like him coming off HB with Smith missing.

Need another great kicker and mover in that backhalf for mine.

Mackay and Gibson are just too scrappy.

At best... and yes, fair dinkum.

He's a turnover looking for somewhere to happen. Not AFL standard.
In some ways you're probably not wrong in the comment Hampton is our ranked 30th or higher. Because I thought about this, and I think the players around the 23rd best to 30th best are much of a muchness with little separating between them. Each would have their pros and cons, and some validity to be next in line for selection in AFL. The thing I like about Hampton though is he has the speed to do some quick chain damage. Similar to a Cameron type. If he can burst through packs more than he gets caught, then he adds more dimension to the team. We'll soon find out in the next few rounds to see where Hampton stand with the team selections.

While we want to play these mids that can't defend or tackle in our defence we will continue to have problems.
Surely we should put a line through players like Mackay, JJ and even Douglas when proving under pressure let us down.
But our problem is there just not players banging the door to play.
Those putting a hand up in some way are or should be.
Fogerty --- Excited real talent but if Tex ok they will probably drop.
Murphy --- Yes way to go but has got it and could even go back on smalls in D if want.
What worries me is they will add another mid for first game in Camerons role.
Doedee --really impressed with him but needs big defenders to do their job unlike today.
Hampton -- Like him because has pace and can tackle with nice size and can mark but just makes too many mistakes but rate over CEY
CEY -- Ok did quite well today but worries with turnovers . Still think he not good enough but with a lot of the kids not producing might get chance.
Milera --- Galucci --- Are they unlucky due to injuries or are they just top draft pick flops. Talent there but time is now.
Poholke -- Was hoping from pre season feedback he would be playing where CEY was but not done enough for coaches and from our roving BF reporters did not shine today in SANFL.
Signoralla -- I think great trier but not AFL and see being delisted season end.
Dear -- When given chance in AFL team shows something but does not do enough to get decent chance.
Himmelberg -- I hold out great hope for as don't have lot of bigs in squad and shows something. Half as good as brother would be nice.

Extra plus to GF team.
Gibbs --- Obviously class but in both games seen , he seems to just throw ball onto boot too often with wish and prayer.
Gibson -- Will be in rd 1 but made couple of bad errors but rather see him in backlines than mackay -- Douglas etc. as will put body in.
McGovern -- He wants to forget about all the publicity re marking etc and just get hands dirty and want ball and actually lead . The 18 yr old kid showed him how to do.

While we want to play these mids that can't defend or tackle in our defence we will continue to have problems.
Surely we should put a line through players like Mackay, JJ and even Douglas when proving under pressure let us down.
But our problem is there just not players banging the door to play.
Those putting a hand up in some way are or should be.
Fogerty --- Excited real talent but if Tex ok they will probably drop.
Murphy --- Yes way to go but has got it and could even go back on smalls in D if want.
What worries me is they will add another mid for first game in Camerons role.
Doedee --really impressed with him but needs big defenders to do their job unlike today.
Hampton -- Like him because has pace and can tackle with nice size and can mark but just makes too many mistakes but rate over CEY
CEY -- Ok did quite well today but worries with turnovers . Still think he not good enough but with a lot of the kids not producing might get chance.
Milera --- Galucci --- Are they unlucky due to injuries or are they just top draft pick flops. Talent there but time is now.
Poholke -- Was hoping from pre season feedback he would be playing where CEY was but not done enough for coaches and from our roving BF reporters did not shine today in SANFL.
Signoralla -- I think great trier but not AFL and see being delisted season end.
Dear -- When given chance in AFL team shows something but does not do enough to get decent chance.
Himmelberg -- I hold out great hope for as don't have lot of bigs in squad and shows something. Half as good as brother would be nice.

Extra plus to GF team.
Gibbs --- Obviously class but in both games seen , he seems to just throw ball onto boot too often with wish and prayer.
Gibson -- Will be in rd 1 but made couple of bad errors but rather see him in backlines than mackay -- Douglas etc. as will put body in.
McGovern -- He wants to forget about all the publicity re marking etc and just get hands dirty and want ball and actually lead . The 18 yr old kid showed him how to do.
You want Gibson in our backline over Douglas.

I can only assume you didn't watch today's game...

Noticed this too over both games, and its a little bit puzzling, cos its not like him at all! Loves to work through traffic and find the good options.

Just caught up on 70 odd pages I was behind, disappointing with how little real information was in there (or that I missed). We barely even get scraps as to what's going on at the club in terms of where players are at with injuries which is pretty lame - just makes the pre season that much shitter with no information coming out.

As for today's game, Fogarty pushed super hard for selection and would be a real chance I'd have thought. All 4 shots on goal were earned from strong marks rather then any cheap goals which was a great sign. Was surprised by the right to left he had going for the first two but that might have been the wind more than anything else.

I still really like what I see in CEY, he's just in cruise control but keeps his feet and dishes it out to our advantage. I still not know how he'll work with our best time as I think he really needs to be on the ball for us to get value from him and we have a lot of stronger first choice midfielders that won't see him get the time he'd ideally get/need.

McGovern was really disappointing, invisible, hopefully the little injury he had was nothing. He's such an X-factor at the moment but I'd like to see him turn into more then that and start to show some consistencyin his game this year. Not ruling it out, but really hoping to see that from him this year.

Our midfield didn't really seem to be going at it, at least not like they did in our first JLT match. Sloane and Crouch seemed to be rather invisible it felt like to me, Gibbs didn't get as much as I'd like but kicked a couple and almost had a couple more shots with that.

After Wilson I thought Poholke was next best. He actually goes and gets the ball and puts his body on the line.
One fault he has like a lot of Crows, very right sided. Wish at times he would kick with non preferred foot but he had a decent game today.

I ventured down to Richmond Oval yesterday my thoughts fwiw.

1) The Wolf Pack were going half rat power and turned the ball over a lot.
2) We only played 12 AFL listed players and heaps of new topups so we also turned the ball over a lot.

Davis and ROB didn’t play

Otten (key defender) - played well, he is still a chance for Round 1
Cheney (defender) - solid but didn’t do enough, no chance for round 1
Milera - (defender) - Out of sorts early, played well in the third quarter and subsequently rested. No chance for round 1.
Hunter (Ruck) - Rucked well, marked well around the ground and took a hanger in the goal square. Not the worst back-up to the back-up ruckman in the AFL
Wilson (inside mid) - If he doesn’t play AFL this year he will win our SANFL B&F
Gallucci (inside mid) - Didn’t look right, lacked his usual zing. Did some good things but is playing like a guy that doesn’t trust his body. No chance for round 1.
Poholke (inside mid) - Needs to get a bit more of the ball but he would get a game in some AFL teams. Strong body, good hands, effective disposal.
Edwards (inside mid) - Didn’t do a lot but he is a beautifully balanced footballer.
Signorello (forward) - A typical Sig game, did some great things and some shockers. Kicked two goals and looked lively. He should stop trying to outmark our key forwards and not drop easy marks when he is on his own. If he keeps improving he could replace Mackay as whipping boy.
Jarman (forward) - Looks like he thought the A6 ressies were playing and asked for a run. Least athletic football I’ve ever seen but has a Brownlow brain, he can find the ball and uses it well.
Dear (Forward/Ruck) - Showed the usual glimpses but needs to rip SANFL games apart
Himmelberg - Still raw but has some party tricks, he could become a very good AFL player.

I ventured down to Richmond Oval yesterday my thoughts fwiw.

1) The Wolf Pack were going half rat power and turned the ball over a lot.
2) We only played 12 AFL listed players and heaps of new topups so we also turned the ball over a lot.

Davis and ROB didn’t play

Otten (key defender) - played well, he is still a chance for Round 1
Cheney (defender) - solid but didn’t do enough, no chance for round 1
Milera - (defender) - Out of sorts early, played well in the third quarter and subsequently rested. No chance for round 1.
Hunter (Ruck) - Rucked well, marked well around the ground and took a hanger in the goal square. Not the worst back-up to the back-up ruckman in the AFL
Wilson (inside mid) - If he doesn’t play AFL this year he will win our SANFL B&F
Gallucci (inside mid) - Didn’t look right, lacked his usual zing. Did some good things but is playing like a guy that doesn’t trust his body. No chance for round 1.
Poholke (inside mid) - Needs to get a bit more of the ball but he would get a game in some AFL teams. Strong body, good hands, effective disposal.
Edwards (inside mid) - Didn’t do a lot but he is a beautifully balanced footballer.
Signorello (forward) - A typical Sig game, did some great things and some shockers. Kicked two goals and looked lively. He should stop trying to outmark our key forwards and not drop easy marks when he is on his own. If he keeps improving he could replace Mackay as whipping boy.
Jarman (forward) - Looks like he thought the A6 ressies were playing and asked for a run. Least athletic football I’ve ever seen but has a Brownlow brain, he can find the ball and uses it well.
Dear (Forward/Ruck) - Showed the usual glimpses but needs to rip SANFL games apart
Himmelberg - Still raw but has some party tricks, he could become a very good AFL player.
Anyone capable of playing running half back that we haven’t thought of? Wilson? We hardly need another inside mid at this stage.

Wilson is an attacking option, who will only get better with AFL training loads.

Don't think he plays r1 but he's a handy depth option.

Anyone capable of playing running half back that we haven’t thought of? Wilson? We hardly need another inside mid at this stage.
I was surprised that we played Wilson, Gallucci and Edwards as inside mids. I also thought we may have tried Wilson in defence, Gallucci as a small forward or on the wing and Edwards on the wing.

Training 2017/2018 Pre-season Thread