List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Discussion (cont in Pt 2)

I know he does. Doesn't mean he's anymore chance of coughlan of making it. They're pretty much the same player.

Tom Simpkin played 31 games. Pretty close to those averages. How come he didn't make it then?
I liked tom he had some endearing qualities unfortunately for him its no 1981.

Well I'll one up you, I hope we fold and cease to exist just to see your face. Oh the funny looks it will bring. I hope someone steals my wifes car tonight so she wakes up and totally freaks out. Funny as ****. Even better if the house burnt down, she would totally ******* blow her stack.
Any of that would not make the slightest difference to me.

Still cant wait for Friday week and all the juvenile melts.

Dont disappoint me

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...s/news-story/fd590ffb46b2b67a5c59120ee023c7f4

Cameron and Suns chief executive Mark Evans are close friends dating back to their time at Melbourne Football Club.

The move will trigger a number of football department changes with current Suns list boss Scott Clayton seemingly headed for the exit.

Clayton will fulfil his draft duties for the Suns.

The veteran recruiter is in talks with the Suns about 2018 and has also been linked to St Kilda.

Western Bulldogs list manager Jason McCartney also falls out of contract after the draft and faces an uncertain future.

Cameron made an ill-fated move into the racing industry several years ago and became embroiled in the Bill Vlahos punting club scandal as chief executive of BC3 Thoroughbreds.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...s/news-story/fd590ffb46b2b67a5c59120ee023c7f4

Cameron and Suns chief executive Mark Evans are close friends dating back to their time at Melbourne Football Club.

The move will trigger a number of football department changes with current Suns list boss Scott Clayton seemingly headed for the exit.

Clayton will fulfil his draft duties for the Suns.

The veteran recruiter is in talks with the Suns about 2018 and has also been linked to St Kilda.

Western Bulldogs list manager Jason McCartney also falls out of contract after the draft and faces an uncertain future.

Cameron made an ill-fated move into the racing industry several years ago and became embroiled in the Bill Vlahos punting club scandal as chief executive of BC3 Thoroughbreds.
Oh god no.

I know theres a seperate thread for this but why dont we talk more about our coaching panel and football administration around richo. Seems like the teams who have won flags past few years have got this spot on. Thought we wouldve shaked things up a little more. Surely they wouldve known Ameet was being courted..

A bit of noice going around that Stephenson will be the big slider come draft night & possibly even a late teens pick. The heart condition likely a significant reason but also his poor disposal, lack of identified position & struggle with his diet. He doesn’t come across as the biggest pro going around. On the other end of the spectrum you’ve got blokes such as Brayshaw running 100 x 100m sprints every Christmas. With that in mind we 1. Can’t expect Stephenson to go before our picks; & 2. May skip him ourselves. Something like this may play out imo:

1. Bris - LDU
2. Freo - Dow
3. Carl - Rayner
4. NM - Cerra
5. Freo - Brayshaw
6. Coll - Coffield
7. StK - Clark
8. StK - Bonar/Murphy
9. WB - Murphy/Bonar
10. Carl - Higgins/Constable/D Fogerty

I’m really warming to Clark & reckon he’s as bulletproof a pick as you can get. Good combo of inside-outside, duel position player, runs both ways, etc. want.

For the other pick Bonar is obviously who I favour looking more like a rock solid midfielder once he gets his endurance up however I’m okay with Murphy to an extent.

A bit of noice going around that Stephenson will be the big slider come draft night & possibly even a late teens pick. The heart condition likely a significant reason but also his poor disposal, lack of identified position & struggle with his diet. He doesn’t come across as the biggest pro going around. On the other end of the spectrum you’ve got blokes such as Brayshaw running 100 x 100m sprints every Christmas. With that in mind we 1. Can’t expect Stephenson to go before our picks; & 2. May skip him ourselves. Something like this may play out imo:

1. Bris - LDU
2. Freo - Dow
3. Carl - Rayner
4. NM - Cerra
5. Freo - Brayshaw
6. Coll - Coffield
7. StK - Clark
8. StK - Bonar/Murphy
9. WB - Murphy/Bonar

I’m really warming to Clark & reckon he’s as bulletproof a pick as you can get. Good combo of inside-outside, duel position player, runs both ways, etc. want.

For the other pick Bonar is obviously who I favour looking more like a rock solid midfielder once he gets his endurance up however I’m okay with Murphy to an extent.

Ive been away but where does this Murphy talk come from? My mate who watches Sandy reckons he is just a very ordinary player.

1. Bris - LDU
2. Freo - Dow
3. Carl - Rayner
4. NM - Cerra
5. Freo - Brayshaw
6. Coll - Coffield
7. StK - Clark
8. StK - Bonar/Murphy
9. WB - Murphy/Bonar

Starting to feel like Brayshaw won’t be there at 7/8.

I’m on the Hunter Clark bandwagon aswell. campaigner is mad dog. With silky skills to match. Perfect combination if you ask me.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...r/news-story/454a17bc31e4ac9e38f9e43421cf0c25

Not sure how Hunter isn’t considered a top 10 prospect tbh?

Look at this:

“He finished the campaign averaging 26.8 disposals, 6.7 tackles and 6.2 clearances per game in the TAC Cup, while he also showcased an ability to hit the scoreboard from midfield.”

7. Clark
8. Stephenson/Bonar/Murphy

Go Saints.

1. Bris - LDU
2. Freo - Dow
3. Carl - Rayner
4. NM - Cerra
5. Freo - Brayshaw
6. Coll - Coffield
7. StK - Clark
8. StK - Bonar/Murphy
9. WB - Murphy/Bonar

What do you like about Murphy?

I’ll admit I’m starting to warm to him after Barrels comments & watching Murphy’s highlights.

Seems like a BJ prototype to me. Does he play midfield in the future though?

Got a nice kick on him & good goal sense. Can take a mark too.

What do you like about Murphy?

I’ll admit I’m starting to warm to him after Barrels comments & watching Murphy’s highlights.

Seems like a BJ prototype to me. Does he play midfield in the future though?

Got a nice kick on him & good goal sense. Can take a mark too.

With regard to Murphy, I’m not a massive fan but he does look to have some tools & in a draft that doesn’t have a lot to like he may be best available. Marking & kicking look to be a feature, footy IQ & ability to find the footy look to be his weakness. One of the youngest in the draft & only now prioritising footy so only way is up. Could be a Fyfe/Hird type, could be Sam Dunell.

Starting to feel like Brayshaw won’t be there at 7/8.

I’m on the Hunter Clark bandwagon aswell. campaigner is mad dog. With silky skills to match. Perfect combination if you ask me.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...r/news-story/454a17bc31e4ac9e38f9e43421cf0c25

Not sure how Hunter isn’t considered a top 10 prospect tbh?

Look at this:

“He finished the campaign averaging 26.8 disposals, 6.7 tackles and 6.2 clearances per game in the TAC Cup, while he also showcased an ability to hit the scoreboard from midfield.”

7. Clark
8. Stephenson/Bonar/Murphy

Go Saints.

I think it will come out closer to the draft how highly rated he is. Twomey rates him #9 in his latest rankings.

Ive been away but where does this Murphy talk come from? My mate who watches Sandy reckons he is just a very ordinary player.

Rumour has it he seems to be in the mix around 6-9 with Pies, Saints & Dogs interested. He’s received a draft invite with only those in contention for top 10 to receive invites. Apparently 19 are going to the draft.

1. Bris - LDU
2. Freo - Dow
3. Carl - Rayner
4. NM - Cerra
5. Freo - Brayshaw
6. Coll - Coffield
7. StK - Clark
8. StK - Bonar/Murphy
9. WB - Murphy/Bonar

Bit of a bonar killer tbh. Not the worst outcome by any means coz who knows how these kids will turn out in the end..

I'll still be hoping like hell a Brayshaw or a Coffield gets through to us tho.

BF hype/highlight clips are strong. THE GROUPTHINK IS REAL.

Rumour has it he seems to be in the mix around 6-9 with Pies, Saints & Dogs interested. He’s received a draft invite with only those in contention for top 10 to receive invites. Apparently 19 are going to the draft.

Well based on my mates description of him he will be one of the 9 to miss out.

Also, I really don't get the hype surrounding Bonar. I'd rather us target genuine mids or those that can make the transition easily. Murphy's a utility and I really hope the club isn't that keen on him, we already have guys who can play his role in White McKenzie Connellan etc. Hunter Clark is probably our best bet at 8. I've seen him listed as high as 7th overall. I was keen on Stephenson but now his heart condition worries me. Rayner, LDU, Cerra and Dow will be taken with the first four picks, then it's a mixture of Fogarty, Higgins, Coffield in and around our picks.

My thoughts have changed a bit since the end of the trade period, but the best combination IMO would probably be Brayshaw and Clark. I'd be stoked if we could nab those two.

Well based on my mates description of him he will be one of the 9 to miss out.

I don’t think there’s any doubt that on form he’s nowhere near top 10 but recruiters may see afl qualities in him that they don’t see in others. Who knows where he goes but certainly looks to be at the least a top 15-20 pick. Who do you like?