- #3,851
Agreed.
Only small deficiencies are that he can’t kick, handball, run, tag, defend, attack or tackle.
Exaggerating a bit mate. He's a handy player. No worldbeater at AFL level, but has a role and usually does it OK.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Agreed.
Only small deficiencies are that he can’t kick, handball, run, tag, defend, attack or tackle.
Agreed.
In footy, a swingman is equally inept at both ends of the ground?
Exaggerating a bit mate. He's a handy player. No worldbeater at AFL level, but has a role and usually does it OK.
Gibbs will leave a hole,which is why SOS wouldnt let Crows have him last as our entire structure could have collapsed down the spine in 2017...Just based off where I think teams might finish next year, I see the rough wash up being ...
OUT : Gibbs, 40, 22, 40
IN : Kennedy, Lang, 10, 30, 36, 26
Obviously I ignore later picks in this assessment.
If 22 cancels out 26, and 40 cancels out 36, that means ...
OUT : Gibbs, 40
IN : Kennedy, Lang, 10, 30
To be perfectly honest I see Kennedy as a Gibbs replacement. Which means the net gain is : Lang, 10 and 30. Which means SOS has to chose wisely at 10 and 30 in the draft. But 10 is the key - he's got to ace that.
And if BENSOS is indeed a serious talent, then the extra second next year is worth its weight in gold.
Overall another excellent off season by SOS and it is clear our priority is youth, though the proof will be in the pudding which is picking well at the draft. In this respect it is comforting that he chose to retain 10 instead of trading it, say for a Schache type. Shows he has confidence in his picking.
Agreed.
From a list management point of view, today was a masterclass by SOS.
29yo out for 20yo, 21yo plus double-dip in top 10 of draft. Buying a backup ruck (needed) for nothing.
List wealth grew today FOR SURE. Oh, we'll get hammered next year and Gibbs will star at Adelaide, but long term, it was the day we had to have and it's gone very well. 3, 10, Kennedy... if we draft/develop them right, the list is in a tremendously exciting place.
about right...in order I reckon
Palmer
Buckley
Graham
Boekhurst
Smedts
White
(G-Mac)
If the team can do without him Murphy. Just a hunch, offer him to a club that needs him to go the final step.Have we now run out of trading stock for next year? If not, who would SOS trade out for picks? I can't see anyone.
Agreed.
Agree for my choice its Adam Cerra and Joel Garner.Give me 2 Midfielders with picks 3 & 10. I'd be happy if we grab Dow with pick 3.
Im bullish on Kerr making it and potentially the reason we didn't go for Schache. Have seen him and Polson in the players break during the past few weeks, working hard down at Ikon. Seems to have a really great attitude to make the most out of his opportunity.
That's great to hear.
I want my youth to have supreme work ethic and professionalism. Diet + strength training absolute prerequisites.
Willo has been in the gym too, legs look a little bigger according to Instagram.
Agree.
Like to see Williamson push into the midfield more so as a running hb.
With that weapon of a foot reckon he’s most dangerous behind the centre, if you know what I mean.
Hayes was a powerhouse through the ruck but his play around the ground was equally impressive. Taking a commanding contested mark from a kick out, using his body effectively in the contest. He was clean at ground level and also involved in general play.
While Hayes did not receive the opportunity in this game, he is also a genuine threat when utilized as a key forward with his vice-like hands overhead and body-on-body strength making him very hard to defend.
With Hayes' dominance and advanced game it would be reasonable to compare him to a young Matthew Kreuzer. Hayes has the opportunity to follow in Kreuzer's footsteps to become a two time All-Australian Under-18 ruckman and will likely also feature in the first round of the draft at seasons end.
I know, spewing we missed out on Schache but still a great trade period. Need to keep strengthening midfield and forward line now in draft and delisted freeSchache is a Bulldog .......................... damn !!!!
S White one more year?
I have to agree on first point and respectfully disagree on the second.Fair point. I prefer Williamson in that role though. Unless you see him replacing Docherty (although I think it'd be a mistake to move Docherty from where he's the best in the comp).
Any chance we'd be interested in Sam Hayes at pick 10 if he gets there?
http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/19244198/knightmares-afl-draft-wrap-sam-hayes-starring-ruck
Sorry to the players I'll miss out naming here, but we may have the following as best 22 players, plucked from the last 3 trade/draft periods:
2015: Weitering, CCurnow, McKay, Silvagni, Cuningham
2016: Marchbank, Pickett, Petrevski-Seton, Macreadie, Williamson, Fisher
2017: Kennedy, Pick #3, Pick #10
We don't really know what this years draft picks will bring along, but given the recent drafting history, they'll likely work out and if they do:
That could make for 14 best 22 players 21 years of age or under, up and about next year.