List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 2

Surely then you'd prefer we trade for Kelly based on your thoughts on Trout and who he will draft? The whole of Australia knows Kelly is special. Also, why is it a done deal that we would give up two picks? I'd trade our first and Longer, deal done.

If he comes for reasonable price I'm very happy but the desperate need to get stars without developing our own is sad. I have little faith that we won't puff our chest out tell every one he's coming then sell the farm and end up worse off.

Hindsight is a gud thing but there were talks that Gws wanted pick 1 and 21 in.return for 4 &7..we cud hve had our kpf in peter wright who has shown more than paddy imo and 7 cud hve been lever who trained at our club...how cud we miss nt spotting the talent...oh and we missed sloane too who trained with us as well.....

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Saints have a clever drafting and trading team

Sometimes too clever

Petracca was clear number one

The Boyd deal changed things up, ie the dogs clouded the saints minds

I remember reading an article by Emma Quayle where she questioned McCartin's accuracy in front of goals.

Paddy can't play 2nd ruck either unlike Wright or Moore

So yeah, Paddy might turn out to be like another Levi Casobault rather than Tom Hawkins

Things are not looking good so far for him

The ITK will keep going positive about McCartin, but yeah, one day, McCartin has to show results in goalkicking rather than just a highlight of a kick or a mark here & there. Still hasn't kicked more than 2 goals in a game. Moore has already had one game where he kicked 5, and I think he's more of a 2nd forward.

It's an example, key forwards litterly come every year, hawthorn won a premiership with Roughead who's barely a key forward with Gunston and David hale, last year the dogs had Tom Boyd and who else? Name me a player in the last 5-10 years in the draft that has the X factor and all round play of petracca?
the flip!?

Roughy is one of the best KPFs in the game.

2008 - 75 goals
2009 - 51 goals
2010 - 53 goals

2013 - 72 goals (Coleman medalist)
2014 - 75 goals
2015 - 50 goals

Only season he hasn't kicked more than 40 goals was his first 2 seasons & the year (2011) he ruptured his Achilles.

However i agree our delivery inside f50 is appaling and nt even kennedy can do much..i am sure we hve a gud one on our hands with paddy...he has gud footy iq and what we need is be better with our ball use rather than just bombing it in and having 3 on 1...

Given the criteria was x factor AND all round play.....

What specifically about his all round play? He isn't a full time midfielder. He isn't a high possession getter. He isn't deadly by foot. He's not an elite decision maker. He's a gun in the making HF. What else about his all round play? He has great core strength. Anything else in the all round play that sets him apart?

As a few of those you've marked no, can do things Petracca can't do (with regards to common play). Although Petracca has his own strengths, they aren't exactly setting him apart.

I'd argue that Rioli has actually shown that he is in another stratosphere of all round play.

Or get rid of trout and go to the draft.

Yep lets sack another. I wish some people could go back in time to see what they said before the year and after GWS. I know things change but the positivity at the time was to positive and now its hurting all those who overrated everything. And because of that everything else is to blame apart from the obvious fact the fixture is harder, more injuries, overrated list and we are still building.

Really? He makes a difference to us because we had a broken down Sam Fisher and an undersized Dempster but so far he's missed a season and is only a decent to good stopper. He's better than Brown though- just probably wasn't worth the trade when others were cheaper, Alex Silvagni made a huge difference to Carlton and I'm pretty sure he was delisted. Probably bigger contribution than Jake.

Let me clarify, carlisle is significantly more talented than those two... been tough last 3 weeks when teams have belted us and its been raining entries, first 6 rounds he looked tremendous coming off a 12 month layoff and hip surgery

What specifically about his all round play? He isn't a full time midfielder. He isn't a high possession getter. He isn't deadly by foot. He's not an elite decision maker. He's a gun in the making HF. What else about his all round play? He has great core strength. Anything else in the all round play that sets him apart?

As a few of those you've marked no, can do things Petracca can't do (with regards to common play). Although Petracca has his own strengths, they aren't exactly setting him apart.

I'd argue that Rioli has actually shown that he is in another stratosphere of all round play.

Got to say I reckon you are harsh on a few things. Looks an excellent decision make, very good kick, fantastic mark and will play in the midfield. Remember this guy has missed one whole season.

He's a high possession getter when he plays midfield. He is actually a very good decision maker with exceptional disposal see the game today. As with many players in his mould in the past he's playing HF as he develops a tabk and slowly playing more mid mins ala Dangerfield and Martin...

HQnERl4tmaEiYoKActM0Fo6MJMqElk-mIe_mI08Waa46Y4BgTpWIQUvdE8Z54RnGGRKH5-4Uyp0znJF5W0XBafIuox8N0XIkz732pLrH=w320-h240-nc

Hindsight is a gud thing but there were talks that Gws wanted pick 1 and 21 in.return for 4 &7..we cud hve had our kpf in peter wright who has shown more than paddy imo and 7 cud hve been lever who trained at our club...how cud we miss nt spotting the talent...oh and we missed sloane too who trained with us as well.....

Never once offered 4 and 7

It's an example, key forwards litterly come every year, hawthorn won a premiership with Roughead who's barely a key forward with Gunston and David hale, last year the dogs had Tom Boyd and who else? Name me a player in the last 5-10 years in the draft that has the X factor and all round play of petracca?

No mate, mids come around every year. Key forwards are like hens teeth.

I don't see the X factor that Petracca supposedly has... he missed two 50/50 shots at goal late in the game then kicked the easy one after great work from his teammates.

Someone with X factor would have nailed the 1st two.

At this point in time he's probably the most overrated player in the game.

He's a high possession getter when he plays midfield. He is actually a very good decision maker with exceptional disposal see the game today. As with many players in his mould in the past he's playing HF as he develops a tabk and slowly playing more mid mins ala Dangerfield and Martin...

Ok, so a wait and see like another 50 youngsters in the comp. I agree.

No mate, mids come around every year. Key forwards are like hens teeth.

I don't see the X factor that Petracca supposedly has... he missed two 50/50 shots at goal late in the game then kicked the easy one after great work from his teammates.

Someone with X factor would have nailed the 1st two.

At this point in time he's probably the most overrated player in the game.

Looks bloody to me. I reckon there are some who hope he is no good because we could have taken him. I have no doubt at that at least 95% of people on here would going off tap if he was ours. He was great today. Anyone looking for fault can find it

Saints have a clever drafting and trading team

Sometimes too clever

Petracca was clear number one

The Boyd deal changed things up, ie the dogs clouded the saints minds

I remember reading an article by Emma Quayle where she questioned McCartin's accuracy in front of goals.

Paddy can't play 2nd ruck either unlike Wright or Moore

So yeah, Paddy might turn out to be like another Levi Casobault rather than Tom Hawkins

Things are not looking good so far for him

The ITK will keep going positive about McCartin, but yeah, one day, McCartin has to show results in goalkicking rather than just a highlight of a kick or a mark here & there. Still hasn't kicked more than 2 goals in a game. Moore has already had one game where he kicked 5, and I think he's more of a 2nd forward.
Plenty of clubs disagreed.