List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 2

Mate... Carlisle is significantly better than schade and dunn

Really? He makes a difference to us because we had a broken down Sam Fisher and an undersized Dempster but so far he's missed a season and is only a decent to good stopper. He's better than Brown though- just probably wasn't worth the trade when others were cheaper, Alex Silvagni made a huge difference to Carlton and I'm pretty sure he was delisted. Probably bigger contribution than Jake.

I think there are options outside the square. I doubt we have the right player to trade in another first. Maybe pick 8 plus a future gets it done?

If this year's super draft us actually a spud draft then you have to weigh up if the top 5 are elite or if you spend pick 2 and try as you said get Kelly and knives.

I'm tipping we go he'll for leather for Kelly (not buying that Fyfe is out completely), then go for another low hanging fruit like Steele.

Otherwise both firsts for two guns.

If that fails, then off to the draft. I also believe if the right offer comes along, the club will deal on a contracted player.

Pick 8 & next years first is a high but fair price. It's more than the Pies paid for Treloar & I'm okay with that. Kelly is a star & clearly holds more value than Treloar.

As I've earlier stated, parting with pick 2 & another first (this years or next) is too high a price with 2 being an absolute premium pick. But dishing off those two picks & getting Kelly & steak knives in the form of M Kennedy makes it extremely worthwhile.

F'ing lol if you think Gunston is the type of forward we need or that you'd get him for pick 20.
It's an example, key forwards litterly come every year, hawthorn won a premiership with Roughead who's barely a key forward with Gunston and David hale, last year the dogs had Tom Boyd and who else? Name me a player in the last 5-10 years in the draft that has the X factor and all round play of petracca?

Our game plan of bomb it long & hope for a goal out the back or crumb essentially makes our key fwds decoys.
Hard work for Paddy with our lack of foot skills & current coaching philosophy.
Couldn't agree more Glen, I've been tearing what's left of my hair out this year in frustration at this approach. Maybe my memory isn't that flash, but I felt we were quite good at lowering the eyes going forward last season? Really made it a "if it's not Paddy, it's Bruce, or it's Membrey, or it's Billings, or it's Mav" feel to our attack which was bloody exciting to watch.

Really? He makes a difference to us because we had a broken down Sam Fisher and an undersized Dempster but so far he's missed a season and is only a decent to good stopper. He's better than Brown though- just probably wasn't worth the trade when others were cheaper, Alex Silvagni made a huge difference to Carlton and I'm pretty sure he was delisted. Probably bigger contribution than Jake.
And if we picked up Alex you'd be crying that we replaced Delaney with another spud reject. Give it a rest, bloke.

Clubs need to take risks, it's part of the game. There is no certainty.
Seriously mate your posts of late are so pessimistic. Every deal we've made is a dud and everyone is against us. Were better off just tanking every year so we can get stacks of first round draft picks and become Melbourne with the 50 year rebuild.
Hang on why don't we just put "Please don't don't beat us by much" on our banner for the players to run through. I think you'd rather our recruiters just sat there browning their underpants and never took any risks.

I have been pretty positive lately, I would say after that last defeat I have been very positive comparatively. I think our list profile is shit but we play a game style that covers it. I don't rate Trout particularly because we seem to have failed with drafting players in. Last year a lot of our ring ins really stood up but a few have dropped off this year and we aren't as cohesive. I back Paddy in because it's too early to tell and I rate Acres, Billings, Newnes and Gresh similarly. I just think it's stupid to go all in for Kelly by giving two top ten picks for him when our list is still worse than others around our mark.

And if we picked up Alex you'd be crying that we replaced Delaney with another spud reject. Give it a rest, bloke.

What's wrong with having an opinion, people want to sack Richo and 90% of the list and that's okay but apparently questioning the trade for Carlisle is off limits. I will try to be more sensitive to the precious folk of the forum.

Couldn't agree more Glen, I've been tearing what's left of my hair out this year in frustration at this approach. Maybe my memory isn't that flash, but I felt we were quite good at lowering the eyes going forward last season? Really made it a "if it's not Paddy, it's Bruce, or it's Membrey, or it's Billings, or it's Mav" feel to our attack which was bloody exciting to watch.

The move the footy quickly on & bomb it deep is a deliberate plan. I recall it being mentioned on one of the tv coverage JLT matches. I can't help but think that idea is seriously outdated & I guess the proof is in the pudding. I'm not sure if we can dramatically change our game plan in that sense mid season with it being ingrained into the players.

Pick 8 & next years first is a high but fair price. It's more than the Pies paid for Treloar & I'm okay with that. Kelly is a star & clearly holds more value than Treloar.

As I've earlier stated, parting with pick 2 & another first (this years or next) is too high a price with 2 being an absolute premium pick. But dishing off those two picks & getting Kelly & steak knives in the form of M Kennedy makes it extremely worthwhile.

Still thinking K&F combo.

Edit: if Kelly leaves, I'm confident he's ours. If he stays, I reckon we will go after an ooc player of good value, but gettable with our first, keeping pick 2 for the draft. A Whitfield type.

Someone mentioned a Rory from the Crows last week... Atkins?

They don't train40 hours a week to have simple game plans like the one suggested.

I have been pretty positive lately, I would say after that last defeat I have been very positive comparatively. I think our list profile is shit but we play a game style that covers it. I don't rate Trout particularly because we seem to have failed with drafting players in. Last year a lot of our ring ins really stood up but a few have dropped off this year and we aren't as cohesive. I back Paddy in because it's too early to tell and I rate Acres, Billings, Newnes and Gresh similarly. I just think it's stupid to go all in for Kelly by giving two top ten picks for him when our list is still worse than others around our mark.
Surely then you'd prefer we trade for Kelly based on your thoughts on Trout and who he will draft? The whole of Australia knows Kelly is special. Also, why is it a done deal that we would give up two picks? I'd trade our first and Longer, deal done.

Longer already turned down going to gws last year...

Lets get one thing completely straight

1) I wanted Petraccaca over McCartin at trade time

2) At this stage Petracca is having more impact than Paddy

3) McCartin may never be better than Petracca like Hodge was never better than Judd. Its what he may do in a GF one day like Hawkins or Boyd.

4) all good to critisise him, but the trolling calling him a fat diabetic was appalling and ahiws the lack of maturity and lifes experience of the ones doing that.

5) it is not a foregone conclusion that we have made a mistake. It is silly premature posturing from some.

We were moving the ball faster from defense into fwd last year and we were better at creating turn overs into f50 entries. Thats made a huge difference but you cant take away all the responsibility off our fwds. They have had plenty of opportunities to mark and kick goals theyve stuffed up. Membrey is way down on last year.

Spot on, Longer will not go to GWS and GWS will not take a 1st and Longer for Kelly

The way I see it:

GWS's starting point will be Hawks pick + one of 2017/2018 first round picks.

Our starting point will be our 2017 & 2018 first round picks with either another player or a 2nd round pick coming back.

I suspect the deal will meet somewhere in between.

A hunch or itk?

I found it quite unusual that we would leak (deliberately I'm thinking) that we are not into Fyfe anymore due to his asking price. Are we sending him a message that he's being unreasonable with his asking price?
Blind dumb**** optimism.

I have heard that K prefers us and his old man doesn't care if he doesn't go to Norf.

Steele and Kelly families are pretty tight from what I'm told.

The Fyfe talk is just too obvious IMO.

From a commercial perspective, he has to decide how badly he wants to come to Melbourne and adjust his asking accordingly.

Norf have the $$$ but apparently we have the inside running from last year.

Lucky we are winning every game to keep us occupied until trade week. Lol.

It's an example, key forwards litterly come every year, hawthorn won a premiership with Roughead who's barely a key forward with Gunston and David hale, last year the dogs had Tom Boyd and who else? Name me a player in the last 5-10 years in the draft that has the X factor and all round play of petracca?

Key forwards come every year? What? The vast majority are taken with top 10 picks and there is maybe 1 top end key forward talent per year.

I like how you have ignored all the flags won by teams with at least 1 key forward and use the minority examples to prove you don't need them.

Roughead is not 'barely a key forward'.

I can think of a bunch of players that match or beat Petracca. Bont, Kelly, Shiel, Treloar, Cripps, Merrett to name a few. But clearly you are so far down the Petracca rabbit hole that I don't expect you to recognise that top end midfielders are way easier to find than key forwards.

lol if Longer is as shit as you seem to think then why would GWS want him.

Surely then you'd prefer we trade for Kelly based on your thoughts on Trout and who he will draft? The whole of Australia knows Kelly is special. Also, why is it a done deal that we would give up two picks? I'd trade our first and Leonger, deal done.
Great pick up right there... Trout is shit, but let's go to the draft. ROFL.

The way I see it:

GWS's starting point will be Hawks pick + one of 2017/2018 first round picks.

Our starting point will be our 2017 & 2018 first round picks with either another player or a 2nd round pick coming back.

I suspect the deal will meet somewhere in between.
He's out of contract so GWS will be on their knees cap in hand.