List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 3

MG,are you still confident of Saints having the biggest trade period in their history.
I can't see it happening.

Personally I believe we will miss out on both the available superstars, Kelly and Martin, likely to re-sign with their current clubs and can't see us getting any of the next tier either in Lever, Hopper, Smith etc. I think we will end up walking away with some depth players like Balic or Matera tbh.

I'm definitely not getting my hopes up anyhow.

The paper signature thing isn't good but forgivable I guess, that woolworths story though.... **** that.
Pull your head in jimmy.

Jimmy is a ripper kid but this behaviour is totally unacceptable and goes against everything we're trying to achieve as a club.
If anybody has the contact details of the boy (or in particular his parents) then please DM me and we will get this sorted out.

The woolies thing isn't real, it's some super stupid, slanderous big footy 'joke'

Is the rookie list being abolished?

If so then surely NOK/Coughlan are gone.. with all the cap space we have minch and wright also, keep lonie on a one year deal

I can't see it happening.

Personally I believe we will miss out on both the available superstars, Kelly and Martin, likely to re-sign with their current clubs and can't see us getting any of the next tier either in Lever, Hopper, Smith etc. I think we will end up walking away with some depth players like Balic or Matera tbh.

I'm definitely not getting my hopes up anyhow.
I reckon its a pretty smart way to go about it. Really so much can change, it is nearly two months until end of trade period.

Confident? That changes daily!
I am confident that if we pull off what we want to then it'll be a very big off season!
That's true but every club is thinking like us right now. When players like Dusty and Kelly come out of contract, just about every single club will be making enquiries and plans on how to obtain them.

What we want and what we get are two completely different things. I'm still hopeful but really starting to get my doubts.

Being a Saints fan my whole life has really turned me into an eternal pessimist :(

I see Bruce as a better version of Jason Blake forward of centre or pinch hitting in the ruck.

Has the tank to play wing and play the Roo role going forward. Not that he will ever be a replacement for Roo, but there is a place for him IMHO
He's a better version of Kosi

Im pretty keen to see a bruce, paddy and Members forward line with no Roo permanently there before we write of any of those 3 as our forward line structure just yet.
the games those 3 played this year minus Roo I thought we had good balance and one game in particular, the Eagles in WA? we were in the game but got run over in the end.
blokes too early writing players off here, Bruce down back? pretty sure we got him from GWS cuz he was tried down back and didnt do anything. Plus his kicking down back could be a worry

The woolies thing isn't real, it's some super stupid, slanderous big footy 'joke'

It's a joke. Relax.

The supermarket story is pretty famous, you just insert the famous person of your choice. Think it started with a rapper, it's on the Internet pretty commonly.

I have infracted the poster - I too have seen this meme before - it started in the US - so has done the rounds more than once

Not worth repeating - these things can escalate or lay permanent biases without any foundation.

Listen to Moorabbin Ghost in this

Im pretty keen to see a bruce, paddy and Members forward line with no Roo permanently there before we write of any of those 3 as our forward line structure just yet.
the games those 3 played this year minus Roo I thought we had good balance and one game in particular, the Eagles in WA? we were in the game but got run over in the end.
blokes too early writing players off here, Bruce down back? pretty sure we got him from GWS cuz he was tried down back and didnt do anything. Plus his kicking down back could be a worry

Surprised there is no commentary on other potential forwards.

Battle Would have finished school now can get into it full time.

Marshall Really looks like a player to me will allow Bruce to be a forward only rotating off the bench

Freeman Could be that dynamic fast dangerous player around goals just needs luck

Connellan ....Could be that dynamic fast dangerous player in forward line needs more experience

Is the rookie list being abolished?

If so then surely NOK/Coughlan are gone.. with all the cap space we have minch and wright also, keep lonie on a one year deal
No not being abolished - just changed so that Rookies get more money and can be picked at anytime their form warrants rather than having to wait for an injury.

"The rookie list minimum wage will now increase to $71,500 per year, and Category-A listed rookie players (those taken in the rookie draft) will be eligible to play senior football in 2018 without needing to wait for an elevation to the senior list.

Clubs will still be required to list 4-6 Category A rookies, to make a total of 44 combined with the required 38-40 senior listed players."

Barry Hall wanted to kill me at the Tunnel nightclub one night.

My crime: saying Go Saints to him while he was sitting at the bar by himself.

Wayne Carey? Nicest bloke ever when I asked him to sign a Norf jumper for a mates' 21st.

Roo has even been know to tell supporters to get #%^*#.

Players are humans they have good days they have bad days ive interacted with players from all club who have been grumpy, disinterested, arrogant but then the next time be bubbly, engaging and wonderful ...
its human nature sometimes you have a bad day and are a grump some times your not and thats comeing from me a a nobody i can only imagine that is amplified as a person of interest..

ive always found players when they are being disturbed in their free time will always be more stand offish (understandably)

That's true but every club is thinking like us right now. When players like Dusty and Kelly come out of contract, just about every single club will be making enquiries and plans on how to obtain them.

What we want and what we get are two completely different things. I'm still hopeful but really starting to get my doubts.

Being a Saints fan my whole life has really turned me into an eternal pessimist :(
It's one thing to think about it but you need to have the tools to get it done - not many clubs have the tools that we do right now.

We all know about Kelly, Martin and lever for example and there is rightly a lot of interest, the landscape for these guys probably changes weekly at present.

What has me more hopeful is that with the cap space picks and players we may move who else will be in play.

Every team will be assessing their list and future needs plus there must be plenty of players reading about the cash on offer thinking I wouldn't mind some of that.

I think people might be surprised at the names that get thrown out there during the trade period, if your smart enough and willing to move you could do very nicely.

If teams had been bold enough they could have landed Martin last time he was out of contract and de goey was shopped around last year.

IMHO it's pretty likely somebody we really like will end up at the saints.

was listening to the local radio last night and the talk was about the FA next year with the GC guys coming into the FA frame .. guys like Lynch were brought up as targets for Freo.. i wonder if the worst happens and we dont land the big fish this year if next year the FA coming up are any better ?

They were great this year until they signed .
Remember all the Fyfe hype.

More and more its becoming a system, where if you want a player , convince him to come to your club, then find a trade that will make his old club happy.
Contract status - Irrelevant.

Players are humans they have good days they have bad days ive interacted with players from all club who have been grumpy, disinterested, arrogant but then the next time be bubbly, engaging and wonderful ...
its human nature sometimes you have a bad day and are a grump some times your not and thats comeing from me a a nobody i can only imagine that is amplified as a person of interest..

ive always found players when they are being disturbed in their free time will always be more stand offish (understandably)
Exactly I never do anything other than just say good morning to the players around here, leave them alone.

Now if their at training or at an offical function then their fair game and should act in an appropriate manner, that's part of the job.

They were great this year until they signed .
Remember all the Fyfe hype.

More and more its becoming a system, where if you want a player , convince him to come to your club, then find a trade that will make his old club happy.
Contract status - Irrelevant.
i think its all a learning process ... the first couple of years when it was new and uncharted territory big deals were done now i think the clubs and the players are wiser to how it works and how to work it to their favour

I would suggest from games of watched live that Savs and Joey are two of our better kicks coming out of defence.Joey will retire so surely we keep Savs
Joey is a good decision maker but his kicking can be erratic. I think Sav is a vastly superior kick, but he is inferior in his general play. Had a poor start to the season but a spell in the B grade put an edge to his hunger - definitely improved performance late in the season.