2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 4

I have to say plugger I'm glad your not doing our trading.

Well that maybe true but id have a go. You would just say use the draft because most stars come out of the draft. Also all duds come out of the draft. Its far to early and we wont probably care or remember but I don't rate this draft at all so it isn't actually overpaying if the club feel the same and the slight inside knowledge suggests they do. I still say the last 2 flags were helped by sides not playing safe. Richmond were going worse then us this year and paid big for a nice player in Prestia. I reckon you would say Martin is worth a late second rounder with an early first coming back.

As I said earlier Sloane is unlikely, but...
I sort of understand the reservations about his age but we want to win a flag. If we haven't done that by the time Sloane hangs them up then we are not going to win one with this group.
You're damned if you do and damned if you don't in these situations. If our footy department thinks mature talent gives us the best shot at winning a flag then I say go for it. If they're happy to go to the draft then that's fine, but it'll be a longer wait unless a few of our kids turn into superstars very quickly.
It's going to be an entertaining couple of weeks I believe.
exactly this ... he is 28 not 32 has got heaps of great footy then a heap of good footy then a lil bit of average footy ahead of him before he is done by the time he is done we would be looking to rebuild anyway as we would have a heap in their twilight..
at the moment we have youth and we have lost a hell of a lot of experiance if we do go to the draft (and im not against that) we are going to have to rely on the 4-5 year guys to step up and become the leaders of this club

It was a crap year they had previously made the finals and had 4 stars, they identified their needs and filled them at a reasonable price . Prestia and caddy for a first and second the big bloke for chump change.

Delidio was still contracted on big coin and delivered nothing played 11 games in his last year, they got geelongs first and GWS third for him.

They had a pretty good trade period the tigers.

It was a crap year they had previously made the finals and had 4 stars, they identified their needs and filled them at a reasonable price . Prestia and caddy for a first and second the big bloke for chump change.

Delidio was still contracted on big coin and delivered nothing played 11 games in his last year, they got geelongs first and GWS third for him.

They had a pretty good trade period the tigers.

You wouldn't have paid 6 for Prestia with a second back. You may have got Caddy that I will agree.

So we should also trade for a key forward if they are better than what we have.

Draft for talent, trade for need.
We should do whatever it takes to win a flag and be a successful club for a extended period
IMO Slone is a player we need badly

Well that maybe true but id have a go. You would just say use the draft because most stars come out of the draft. Also all duds come out of the draft. Its far to early and we wont probably care or remember but I don't rate this draft at all so it isn't actually overpaying if the club feel the same and the slight inside knowledge suggests they do. I still say the last 2 flags were helped by sides not playing safe. Richmond were going worse then us this year and paid big for a nice player in Prestia. I reckon you would say Martin is worth a late second rounder with an early first coming back.
Never pay full price even in hypotheticals on big footy.

Martin was a free agent I would have loved him.

Why have recruiters who watch kids for years and then come draft time say let's swap them for other players because we have no idea who to pick. Two picks in the top 8 we should be able to choose some quality for the next 10 years at least Earn your money

Because watching kids play doesn't mean they don't get injured, don't have the right attitude, don't improve and many other things. If it was that simple every player would be picked in the same order by every club. Even then there are variables.

Wallace on TR just said Saints ahead of Melbourne on Gaff.

Suddenly we are now a destination club over Melbourne?

This is how silly this 'destination club' BS has become.

Far fetched assumptions and far flung theories on attractiveness or not of clubs dont stand up to scrutiny

They may be best 22, I don't view them that way.

It makes little difference even if you do, Stevens is arguably best 22 what was he worth. The truth is that only the guns command first rounders unless you are desperate, caddy was traded for pick 24 I think.
Ok but we dont have a 2nd round pick.
So trade 8 for 23 and 24,
Then trade them on for hall and saad.
Feel better?

Swapping pick 7 & 8 for Sloane is basically having a crack at the flag in the next 4 years . If we don't win one then what ? We've given up our first rounder two years running. Expect a drop off a cliff .

Like adelaide or sydney or hawthorn or geelong did after years and years of no first rounders?
Hell even the bombers had 2 years of firsts taken off them years ago... the sky isn't exactly falling now

Swapping pick 7 & 8 for Sloane is basically having a crack at the flag in the next 4 years . If we don't win one then what ? We've given up our first rounder two years running. Expect a drop off a cliff .
Rubbish. Total garbage.

We are the youngest list in the league.

Billings
Gresham
Membry
Steele
Acres
White
Dunstan
Newnes
Webster
Longer

All have not reached anywhere near tjeir peak

Paddy
Hugh
Freeman
Rice
Battle
Long

Havent even had a go yet.

And we are going to fall off a cliff?

Ok

Why have recruiters who watch kids for years and then come draft time say let's swap them for other players because we have no idea who to pick. Two picks in the top 8 we should be able to choose some quality for the next 10 years at least Earn your money
It's not trouts decision is it, he drafts with what he's given.