2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 4

Interesting times ahead for GWS & the Gold Coast Suns. Being pulled back to the rest of the pack re: draft selections may well see GWS falling off the pace in the coming seasons. Although retaining players like Kelly would seem to contradict what I've just said...... hmmmmm back to bed Jiggster?

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

GWS still has a lot of young players who are going to improve. I can’t see them falling off the pace for a few years at least . Their side should be strong even if they lose a few this year because they will get picks and draft in young players who, no doubt we will all want in a year or two.

I reckon it means we have given up on Hugh to be honest. He's probably delisted next year if he can't at least kill it at VFL level next year.
A lot of GWS guys were playing NEAFL because they were playing for a star studded club.
Jack Steele included and the reason he looked for better oppurtunities.

GWS still has a lot of young players who are going to improve. I can’t see them falling off the pace for a few years at least . Their side should be strong even if they lose a few this year because they will get picks and draft in young players who, no doubt we will all want in a year or two.
They actually had an incredible year considering the injuries & suspensions over the season, including finals.

They'll be fine for years. Heap of young kids still a year or two of peak.

Struggling to understand "all" the love for him would be reasonable. Struggling to understand "any" of the love for him? Did you watch GWS's last game? Was their best player if I recall and almost BOG at one stage. That game alone would justify "some" love for him.
Shorter than Roberton and Gilbert? By 1 paltry cm? He's 2 substantial cm taller than Danny Frawley who I think did a reasonable job as a key defender.
Aside from that he's very handy further up the ground, and just about to come into his prime. Anyway, nobody's saying he's worth selling the farm for, but a good player on the improve worth a good pick.
Perhaps the word ‘any’ was too strong, but my points still stand. One good game does not a career make. Everyone thought Tom Boyd had finally come good after his grand final performance (even his whole finals series), yet this year he was getting dropped.
The fact he is only “1 paltry cm” shorter than Roberton and Gilbert is exactly my point- these guys are third falls at best, not proper key backs. And Danny Frawley, for all his immense worth, didn’t have to play on 200cm beasts like Tom Lynch, Ben Brown and Joe Daniher, and would have been able to legally chop their arms if he did. The game has changed a lot since Spud’s days.
Like you, I’m not totally against getting him in principle, but GWS will want more for him than is worth giving up, given his contract status and our current list.

I reckon it means we have given up on Hugh to be honest. He's probably delisted next year if he can't at least kill it at VFL level next year.
Lol I highly doubt it. We giving up on Paddy aswell?

We only have two key backs apart from the 28yo Brown who's only got a year to run. Fair to say there's a hole there.

I think it's like the Gaff debate, most are happy to have him however it's about what we are willing to pay draft pick or player wise to get him. I'd happily take Tomlinson in any deal not involving a first rounder, whether that be outright or a downgrade. Hickey and a future second rounder for example. If GWS don't want to accept that fair enough, move along.

I'd happily take Hartlett. Has all the attributes to be a gun half back. Needs a fresh start. Perfect replacement for Joey imo.
Hartlett, Savage, Webster and Roberton as the non-key defenders.

That's some incredibly accurate kicking right there.

Not sure why Port would want to trade him after just keeping him last year when he was a FA

I like that SEN Inside Footy (the first link) for player ratings and comments. They give a sentence or two for each game and a rating out of 10. They mention state leagues too, minus the ratings.

What I found from Tomlinson's was that his disposal does let him down in some games, but most of the games in 2017 he was defensively very good and the reason why they gave him only a 5 or 6 was that he didn't get much of the ball, as they know he can. But when we've got Carlisle and Roberton doing that, we sometimes just need a stopper.

At 193cm he has the ability to be a stopper or a winger. I wouldn't rely on him being a rebound defender but would be happy with him marking it on the wing and giving it to our ball users.

His 2016 NEAFL season is hilarious. He had a couple of 30 disposal games, then before he got back into AFL side he racked up 44 & 52 disposals.
I’m just not convinced he is the ‘stopper’ that we need. He is only 193cm, so may well even struggle to take the guys that Brown does now.

As I said mate; " back to bed Jiggster " LOL!

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

i dont know about that ... the achillies injury isnt an easy one to get back from talking to a guy i know who did one in another sport a while back he reckons the mental side of it is a tough thing to come back from that having trust in it to not go again ... Hugh has a good head on his shoulders and has that natural talent i think the club would be prepared to be extra patient with him

I had achilles issues, they are ****ed but the clubs don't keep patience for ever. I like Hugh, he's great young man but if they are recruiting an expensive tall defender the writings on the wall for him. We would get him right and trade him on otherwise.

A lot of GWS guys were playing NEAFL because they were playing for a star studded club.
Jack Steele included and the reason he looked for better oppurtunities.

True but go and watch the games, they are terrible. Some of the opposition are like the Cooma Dingoes and stuff. Steele was killing it in NEAFL and looked like he wasn't getting out of first gear. It's the worst state level comp in the land.

Think Tomlinson on a wing makes us too top heavy if we are also playing Paddy, Bruce and Membrey up forward. Gameplans seem to be moving towards more and more pressure, being that tall with a one paced midfield as well wouldn't be the way I'd go.
game plans are didctated by the coaches who come up with them... if you are chasing the evolving game style you are always behind the times... the best coaches design the game style to suit their strengths not follow the current trends .. i reckon we are about to do just that and come out with something differant to what we have been showing for the last 3 years - time will tell if its a masterstroke or an epic fail

+1

been saying this for a long time. Trying to emulate others game styles is destined for failure. By the time you master it, the game has evolved.

We have to look at what we have personnel wise, what we stand for and build our own game style around it.

RTB did it and we almost won a flag with it.

I’m just not convinced he is the ‘stopper’ that we need. He is only 193cm, so may well even struggle to take the guys that Brown does now.
I would think he's more the third tall (ie will be our equivalent of getting Lever or Haynes or similar from the draft) and HG and Carlisle are still intended for the bigger guys. Hugh would follow Brown. I'm not an advocate for him at some suggested prices, but the stopper role wouldn't necessarily be his his role would it?

+1

been saying this for a long time. Trying to emulate others game styles is destined for failure. By the time you master it, the game has evolved.

We have to look at what we have personnel wise, what we stand for and build our own game style around it.

RTB did it and we almost won a flag with it.

Whilst I sort of agree nothing is going back to 3 tall forwards and defenders because contested marking is finished and room in the backline is finished thus tge ball is on the deck more and more during games unless of course you are playing keepings off around the ground

I don't want Tomlinson just cause I don't think he's a good player.

His best attribute is that's he's tall and not a plodder.

He plays in a backline which also contained Corr, Haynes and David who always took the best forwards.

He has a very average kick as well which will give everyone here the shits and honestly what role does he serve?

He's not going to come in and take Brown's place unless somehow he learns to play larger than himself. He plays Carlisle's role but much poorer.

Now to price, he's going to be expensive, our defence is perfectly capable of eeking out another year of Brown and if we improve our midfield there will be a carry on effect on less pressure on our defenders

Ameet, please. Just cause they play for GWS doesn't mean they're good

Whilst I sort of agree nothing is going back to 3 tall forwards and defenders because contested marking is finished and room in the backline is finished thus tge ball is on the deck more and more during games unless of course you are playing keepings off around the ground

I agree for now. But just watch what happens if a team develop 3 big marking fwds. The opposition will have to evolve to counter it. You simply can't give the opposition free marks.

Right now I agree, it looks antiquated. But the game seems cyclical to me and I reckon the days of a monster FF aren't necessarily completely over.

Time will tell I guess :thumbsu: