List Mgmt. 2019 Draft and Trade Hypotheticals Thread

If you get Daniher's groin issues solved (and I don't see why we couldn't, he's not the first guy to have OP problems), you've got a truly excellent player. Before these groin issues set in, he had played 4 straight years of 21, 22, or 23 games and averaged 13 touches, 6 marks and 2 goals a game before hitting his physical prime.

Pick 5 and 9 is overs for him, but honestly I'd get over it pretty quickly if we gave them up for him along with some later pick swaps. The draft will always be overrated. I reckon it'll end up being pick 5 and something in the late teens or early 20's for him.
Yeah, De Goey and Moore were pick 5 and 9 in 2014, but otherwise it's really hard to find a 5 and 9 combination that would make you depressed that you potentially gave them up for Daniher IMO.

I still hope we don't give up that much, and I think it's overs.
I am? I see no implication. I just called you out for comparing the two with a contradiction of Barrett
proportion.

Hannebery: 2018, 15 games which was a poor season.
Daniher: 2019, 4 games...that’s a poor season!
What contradiction? Daniher has shown he can still reach his best. Hanners didn't in 2018 from a much larger sample size. Most of us thought he was cooked FFS.

Exactly!
Daniher IS a great player, no one is denying that fact, but it's the probable cost and the question marks over his body that has me not so excited.

Papley gets on the park most weeks, that's the sticking point for me.

ill trust the medical team rightly or wrongly

Yeah, De Goey and Moore were pick 5 and 9 in 2014, but otherwise it's really hard to find a 5 and 9 combination that would make you depressed that you potentially gave them up for Daniher IMO.

I still hope we don't give up that much, and I think it's overs.

What contradiction? Daniher has shown he can still reach his best. Hanners didn't in 2018 from a much larger sample size. Most of us thought he was cooked FFS.
And was one of best on ground in R23 against us...you’re right, you ‘thought he was cooked’. It’s now 2019, he’s not and that’s how wrong you are!

Okay.

massive importance.....certainly not a dime a dozen player some seem to believe when looking at his overall impact...and how few there are to this level in the comp..

overly exuberant, eye bulging, mouth gaping, jack jumping mad-man like goal celebrations also spark and energize the team and fans alike...can't put a price on that. :D
And blows scoring chances through selfishness more often than not....if he fixed that his worth would be 2 first round picks.

I don't think it's really selfishness. I think he just plays on instinct which is to his own peril sometimes.

He probably needs to pull it back a bit, but we're usually too conservative, so I don't mind it.

buddy moved to us to be with his partner

papley has never not given 100% for us when on the field

agree with calls for respect
The Bud comparison is not really relevant here.

Dodoro has stated the Daniher is a contracted and required player at Essendon in 2020. Yeah, good luck when he feigns injury for 12 months while you pay him 800k+ you ******* ******.
We need to call his bluff......what a trumped up reputation.

The best negotiators look for where the value lies for everyone. It’s not about winning and losing a negotiation, that is fundamentally flawed. You can’t negotiate without knowing where the other party will get their value, that’s where you get your leverage...Essendon are not gaining any value by not trading. Trust me, they want to trade, we know they do, we need to find the right balance to get a deal done that can still have Essendon protect their tough guy negotiator status....but it ain’t 5 and Papley.

Straight swap?
I would be satisfied with that but it looks like the crims offer is too good to ignore for Paps. I suspect that we will get pick 9 which we will then give to you. Most footy commentators think that Danihers value is around pick 10 so that's around the right mark.

Bombers Joe Daniher thread from page 330 is absolute comic gold. I got banned for too many likes, although liked the ban message haha.
View attachment 759158
You were literally the only poster to come in and stir up the Essendon board. It’s fine to enjoy the moment but not by giving everyone the bird whilst you’re at it. That’s what flogs do. And you’re bragging about it for a few ‘likes.’ Wow.

So many quality Swans posters on this site GotTheGoodes to name but one. You do them all a disservice.

Hope he gets his body right and becomes the star we know he could be.

Cheers

blakely going to start as a midfielder next year? I wasn’t a fan of McCartin in the back line and I think he’s got real potential as a FF. Maybe Reid finally becomes that defender he wants to be?
I like the potential trade but I’m not sure where it fits and what we need to give up.
Half the battle with players is getting them to embrace their role. In his interview on the Swans site he said he enjoyed the role down back. Now that was without training for it in the pre season. He will be a gun wherever the coaches send him such is his attitude.

******* stoked! Just don't want to sell the farm for him. A dons supporting mate of mine was over the moon they might get 5&9 for him. He was happy to throw fantazia in with him for that price. 2 top 10's just won't sit well with me. Really hope it's only 1 top 10.
My Essendon mate calls him autumn leaves because his always falling. Can't see how he thinks that.