List Mgmt. 2020 List Management II

He was playing footy before that, it's just he didn't stop playing soccer till relatively recently
18 months ago he was playing 2s at St Mary’s and not long before that hadn’t touched an oval shaped ball, so say 2 years ago he hadnt played AFL at all, what are the Cat B rules?

195cm athletes that have a great speed /endurance mix dont grow on trees and given he played centre back in Soccer it will give him a good grounding in reading the play, I mean **** me dead we have had no assistance from the Next Gen system at all the AFL should throw us a bone and help us to secure this kid seeing he is from our region. 🤬🤬

18 months ago he was playing 2s at St Mary’s and not long before that hadn’t touched an oval shaped ball, so say 2 years ago he hadnt played AFL at all, what are the Cat B rules?

195cm athletes that have a great speed /endurance mix dont grow on trees and given he played centre back in Soccer it will give him a good grounding in reading the play, I mean fu** me dead we have had no assistance from the Next Gen system at all the AFL should throw us a bone and help us to secure this kid. 🤬🤬
Not long before that - 'Kolar was swiftly moved into the St Mary's Colts side just a few years after first taking up the game'. Just a few years, so realistically he's been playing for a while. I can see stats for him playing for St Mary's going back to 2015 in fact, that's u13's.

So how the **** is that “ not long before that” just a bullshit article with contrasting info basicly, typical AFL site.

What are his parents background do you know? Kolar is German I don’t suppose one of his parents migrated to Australia?

Kennedy is the best inside midfielder we have next to Cripps. Lose him and we are in deep water. Cripps will not have any rotational support again this year.
Setterfield is best starting midfield and is Crippa's side kick but he also needs to be rotated and supported. IMHO you need 2 with another off the bench. I would argue that maybe Stocker can be used but we all know what the coaching panel feel about this kid.
Is he really though? I feel like he's kind an option in the middle and forward, but he's almost the depth/understudy to others there. His defensive running just hasn't improved which hurts us the other way, and I don't like the idea of Cripps, Setterfield, Ed & Kennedy in the same midfield.

I had high hopes for him and I know he's had a stack of injury issues but he just hasn't come on like we'd hoped. Setterfield's arrival really hampered his opportunities. I hardly see us being "in deep water" if Kennedy left the club, he's played 29 of 61 possible games and it's not like we've capitulated in those 32 games due to his absence.

Macreade is the best developing KP defender we have and by the sounds of it, we have just got his body right. Makes no sense in delisting him. Except for Marchbank, who IMO is best 22, we have no others developing. We need at least 2 KP defenders developing. Delisting this kid is a huge mistake. Huge mistake both with quality and needs.

There are players on our list, who will add very little long terms compared to these 2. We have taken our eye off the ball long term. Will hurt.
We definitely need more KP depth and it wouldn't surprise me to see a player added either in the draft or a DFA (or both). Macreadie was our best developing prospect, but kind of by default. BSOS never showed anything, Goddard was never more than a stopgap, Marchbank is in the Nick Haynes mold of 3rd tall/intercept rather than a key defender.

Again, I had high hopes for Macreadie, he was more or less penciled in my 22 as the Jones replacement in a couple of years time, but alas nothing eventuated. Will be interesting to see if he heads anywhere as a DFA or rookie. It did feel like he had finally got himself fit after a couple of years but then maybe there's other stuff we're not seeing from the outside, perhaps he wasn't fully committed to the rehab/training or had checked out (that reminds me, there was some scuttlebutt - possibly from P Baz - about Kennedy's effort/attitude when he was back out of the seniors this year, perhaps that has a little to do with his demotion to the rookie list).

People are overstating the importance of a lot of KPD depth on a list. I count 6 AFL clubs that have good KPF's, these days most clubs are playing 1 KPF and a resting ruck. We dont need a lot of depth there. I think the way Austin is shaping the list mirrors what clubs look like in 2020 and im good with that.
You have your Best22 keys, then a couple that can step up due to injury, then your future developing keys... Club needs List balance..

I reckon we have plenty of KPD depth: Weitering, Jones, Plowman, Marchbank, Casboult and arguably McGovern can all play there. Could also re-purpose JSOS. If we happen to pick up a couple of injuries to these players, the AFL have proposed 3 list pickup periods after rounds 4, 8 and 12, so that's some added security. I don't think we need to scramble to add another KPD.

We will be able to easily replace Macreadie with a mature KPD that could prove better backup for the next year or so, so we'll be in a better position should we add a stop gap.

Longer term, Jones has enough years left that we have time to still draft and develop a replacement, if we can nail a selection this year.

If the list management team determined Macreadie, Ben etc. were not projecting to add value, then we already had none developing.

I reckon we have plenty of KPD depth: Weitering, Jones, Plowman, Marchbank, Casboult and arguably McGovern can all play there. Could also re-purpose JSOS. If we happen to pick up a couple of injuries to these players, the AFL have proposed 3 list pickup periods after rounds 4, 8 and 12, so that's some added security. I don't think we need to scramble to add another KPD.

That's a bit ambitious, I feel.
As good as Casboult was for the time Jons went down, he's just not the solution.

JSilvagni or Plowman KPD's? I don't see it, unfortunately.

Marchbank, Plowman, McGovern and JSOS don't have the attributes to play on KPP's.

To be an undersized KPP, you need to be athletic and built like a brick E.g. Steven May.

JSOS and Marchbank don't have the build, McGovern doesn't have the physicality and Plowman is a specialist lockdown defender on small forwards.

Casboult is 31 before next season starts and Jones will be 30. They're not going to be around forever and form can drop off very quickly as players start hitting this age bracket.

KPP's generally take a solid four years of development before they're ready. We need to plan for this now or next year by drafting a KPD.

That's a bit ambitious, I feel.
As good as Casboult was for the time Jons went down, he's just not the solution.

JSilvagni or Plowman KPD's? I don't see it, unfortunately.
What do you mean solution you only need 1 decent key back (Weitering) the other talls be that 1 or 2 just need to be mobile and disciplined .
Richmond have won the past 2 flags without Rance .

* just delisted the one-game Cripps Stopper wonder, Dylan Clarke (will re-rookie if available).

Taller, big-bodied mids just aren't their go. :)

What do you mean solution you only need 1 decent key back (Weitering) the other talls be that 1 or 2 just need to be mobile and disciplined .
Richmond have won the past 2 flags without Rance .

Astbury & Balta?

It's not just the height of the players but their abilities.
I don't see a KPD in JSilvagni or Plowman. Just don't have the reach, speed, height......maybe, but I don't see it.

Marchbank, Plowman, McGovern and JSOS don't have the attributes to play on KPP's.

To be an undersized KPP, you need to be athletic and built like a brick E.g. Steven May.

JSOS and Marchbank don't have the build, McGovern doesn't have the physicality and Plowman is a specialist lockdown defender on small forwards.

Casboult is 31 before next season starts and Jones will be 30. They're not going to be around forever and form can drop off very quickly as players start hitting this age bracket.

KPP's generally take a solid four years of development before they're ready. We need to plan for this now or next year by drafting a KPD.
It fascinates me the emphasis there is on Key defenders do you realise there are very few contested marks actually taken inside 50 .
And that the best contested mark players in the game dont average even 3 a game .

It fascinates me the emphasis there is on Key defenders do you realise there are very few contested marks actually taken inside 50 .
And that the best contested mark players in the game dont average even 3 a game .

It's the opportunity they create for other players, 3rd talls and smalls

Most of all, reducing intercept marks

Pretty sure it is just a puff piece to try and demonstrate how successful the AFL is as a code, converting all these players from rival sports
We will always be screwed regardless. Quanor played afl since u10’s yet was still eligible.
Its a joke of a system

I agree with Eiffel 65, if you want to play as an undersized KPP, you need athleticism or a big body build. Marchbank is possibly the only one who could fit the bill, but he's missed almost 2 years in footy and played only 48 games in 5 years (an average of 9.6).

For reference, Weiters is 196cm (98kg) and Jones is 199cm (97kg), whereas Plowman is in the low 190s cm and 90kg, almost 10cm smaller and 10kg lighter as well.

In terms of Casboult, I expect him to be playing up forward to cover for the loss of Charlie. So currently, if one of Weiters or Jones was to be injured, we would have no one to cover.

I agree with Eiffel 65, if you want to play as an undersized KPP, you need athleticism or a big body build. Marchbank is possibly the only one who could fit the bill, but he's missed almost 2 years in footy and played only 48 games in 5 years (an average of 9.6).

For reference, Weiters is 196cm (98kg) and Jones is 199cm (97kg), whereas Plowman is in the low 190s cm and 90kg, almost 10cm smaller and 10kg lighter as well.

In terms of Casboult, I expect him to be playing up forward to cover for the loss of Charlie. So currently, if one of Weiters or Jones was to be injured, we would have no one to cover.
Most of this forum has Marchy written off as a KPD, but that was the role he was recruited for. Do we all remember Bolts spruiking his long term goal to goal line, including Marchbank? Times are changing and players getting bigger, but if Rampe, Jonas, Grimes and co can do it, it is not beyond possible. We will have the likes of Kemp, Plow, potentially JSOS or Mcgovern to assist, so some creativity could make it work.

I agree that we need a mobile 198cm KPD ideally, but I am sure we could put a model together to work if essential. On the proviso the bloke finally gets on the park consistently. The secret is to provide pressure further up the ground, we have recruited to do that so will be an interesting watch to see how it works.

Plow at 191 cm is only 2cm shorter than Dylan Grimes and Marchy at 193cm is the same height. Plow did a pretty good job on Jack Darling this year and barring the Hawk Jack Darling is nearly the hardest player to move off the ball. Not saying that either are the long term answer but both could easily pinch hit if required and if there is a gorilla down there Levi could cover. This board has a "sky is falling" mentality - WE NEED small forwards, We NEED KPD cover. We may well have cleared a list spot for said cover but even if not we are a long long way away from having a KPD crisis.