List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part II

geez you should have got a load of the 80s into ya,5 wooden spoons including 4 in a row 83-86,losing the first 3 games in 85 by over 100 points including 2 at moorabbin,watch carlton add kernahan dorotich and bradley to their team in 86 after 3 flags 79-82 & then be embaressed by hawthorn who out did them with just one player in platten,while we saw the likes of brain winton come to the saints

the only joy came in 1987 last round,when me and my brother accompanied our richmond supporter mate to the mcg to watch the wooden spoon playoff against brisbane,the termites got destroyed by the bears & the cheer squad seemed to have split into 2,the regulars and a group of head bangers(which was big at the time)and misfits,it imploded when the leader of the headbanger faction tried to keep the cheering going even when they were getting flogged & the leader of the regular mob came down and beat the crap out of him,oh that was one beautiful night in a very bad period

first 5 rounds of 85
loss to sydney by 110 at moorabbin
loss to carlton by 140 at moorabbin
loss to richmond by 113 at mcg,they scored 211 on a red hot day
loss to north by 39 at mcg,i remember looking over at the hilton knowing boy george was staying there
beat fitzroy by 5 points at waverley,had to agonize when mickey conlans snap from the pocket missed,he would kick a goal like that every single week without a miss,finally one for the saints
*I was 14 and went to the first 4 because I could either walk from Chelt to Moorabbin or walk to the station and get a train to the G. I missed the 5th game. I think back now and wonder why because Mum would have driven me out there if I asked her to. Perhaps she gently directed me to do something else as she could see the onset of PTSD forming. Of course we won...of course we won.

Funny thing with memories though. I remember the good times coming out of the ashes of the bad. We've always had wins that afterwards you look back on and go "yeah that was the fork in the road"
For me it was beating Carlton at Moorabbin (Plugger) that signalled the end of the desert of the 80's in 1987. Then Carlton at Waverley in 96 in the night GF. Then the run of games at the end of 2003 that gave us a glimpse, especially the Blues game at Princess Park that set us on a path to 8 great years. Then beating Hawthorn at Marvel in early 2019 coming from behind.

Each one of those glimpses coming out of barren years. I hope the last one sets us on another 8 years and this time getting the job done!

*Ramblings of a middle aged Saints fan who's brain sometimes can't fathom his heart but who's glad his heart wins the argument

Hey Saints fans, I come in peace.

Over the weekend a random doggies supporter came on our board and posted information that apparently we were heavily into Nick Hind?

Really? Why???
Brayshaw straight swap sounds fair to me 😉

5c42cad93c2d850ea46504e8470ab8a4.gif

There are a few clubs that have been sniffing around. Think he’s the type of player that moves club, plays in his preferred position and flourishes tbh.
He’s not a small forward. Wing/HBF.

There are a few clubs that have been sniffing around. Think he’s the type of player that moves club, plays in his preferred position and flourishes tbh.
He’s not a small forward. Wing/HBF.
Yeah right.

I honestly don't think I've ever seen him play except a few highlights on YouTube...
There's definitely a vacant wing role to play alongside Langdon. But again I haven't seen enough to judge whether he's a good fit or not.

Where does he play when Ryder is fit? Because I highly doubt he’ll want to move to a club where he’s further down the pecking order

This is a predicament, I’d love for Ryder to be able to play at this standard forever but if we want to go 2 rucks then we really need to have a ready made replacement in 1-2 years.

Is that Marshall and we get someone else to play Marshall’s current role, or do we look for another tap ruckman who can give us first use most of the time and use Marshall like we do now? We need to be planning this stuff now.

Good chance we need to rest Ryder for a few games over the next 1-2 years (if he goes more than just next year) so this person has a chance to make the spot theirs.

Yeah right.

I honestly don't think I've ever seen him play except a few highlights on YouTube...
There's definitely a vacant wing role to play alongside Langdon. But again I haven't seen enough to judge whether he's a good fit or not.
Kicks the ball well on both feet, and takes the game on with run and carry.
His knocks as a forward are that he goes missing & is only slight.
If he develops consistency he’ll be handy in any side.

*I was 14 and went to the first 4 because I could either walk from Chelt to Moorabbin or walk to the station and get a train to the G. I missed the 5th game. I think back now and wonder why because Mum would have driven me out there if I asked her to. Perhaps she gently directed me to do something else as she could see the onset of PTSD forming. Of course we won...of course we won.

Funny thing with memories though. I remember the good times coming out of the ashes of the bad. We've always had wins that afterwards you look back on and go "yeah that was the fork in the road"
For me it was beating Carlton at Moorabbin (Plugger) that signalled the end of the desert of the 80's in 1987. Then Carlton at Waverley in 96 in the night GF. Then the run of games at the end of 2003 that gave us a glimpse, especially the Blues game at Princess Park that set us on a path to 8 great years. Then beating Hawthorn at Marvel in early 2019 coming from behind.

Each one of those glimpses coming out of barren years. I hope the last one sets us on another 8 years and this time getting the job done!

*Ramblings of a middle aged Saints fan who's brain sometimes can't fathom his heart but who's glad his heart wins the argument
ok now you got me interested enough to have a look at the 1985 season,i went to round 6 also against geelong,if that was the game that andrew manning took what should have been mark of the year & ablett kicked 6.8,i remember ablett on joffas shoulders but didnt complete the mark,a free was paid to ablett,so joffa must have decided your not taking mark of the year over me axxhole & gave away the free,round 9 against collingwood i definately went to,round 10 against essendon maybe,if it was the game where we made a massive last quarter comeback to get within a few points before poor old terry smith(rip)made a huge blew and the bombers escaped,thought it was a different year but the 26 point final margin was exactly the same,went to round 19 against melbourne,gerard healy led the dees through the banner and went ass up to the delight of the saints crowd,but they still pipped us by 9 points,might have gone to windy hill in round 21,not sure,i went to a few games out there,i remember abusing poor old doug cox(rip)out there one time & i recall watching the seniors in the stand during the reserve game,rumors were that michael roberts and silvio foschini had traded blows at training & i watched as foschini and phil cronin seemed to s****** after dirty looks at roberts that day,might have been the game

I was only 9 years old at the time but I think that Essendon comeback in the last quarter was when there was a fire in the hotdog stand and there was heaps of smoke at the end Essendon were kicking too? Don’t know if that effected them during the last quarter but I remember it vividly for some reason! Ha ha

I have no idea if he fits in at Sydney but I think a trade would be a bit of a stickler as he was pick 54 a couple of years ago and the club would likely want an upgrade on that pick.. but honestly he is probably worth only around there anyway. You guys do have pick 52 so perhaps that would be enough, maybe a future 4th thrown in or something as well.

The amount of pressure on this young kid especially after the Cameron announcement must be enormous.
The perfect time to nominate was after we went out of the finals.
Think it is fair to say the likelihood he will be a Saint is very slim with each day even less.

Time to move on - we need a quality mid, Treloar for mine.

But the worse it gets the more it draws you in.

This is peak bigfooty man get around it.

Evolution of trade threads:

Pelican > ameetos = God > big fish > champagne > Sandra > can go any club

Long may it reign.
Jelly Kelly

Maybe you need a plumber.

I was thinking that today when Whatley suggested clubs should chase him. I like Ratta, 22yo and 40 games so should start to get some consistency.
I reckon he will be involved in the Jeremy Cameron Trade.