Brayshaw said on a abc interview he sees Young moving to the midfield and Frederick to wing - he must read big footy...
also said he was flat after his mate Cerra chose to leave
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Sean Darcy said something similar: "I'm going to flatten my mate Cerra because he chose to leave".also said he was flat after his mate Cerra chose to leave
agree.
I want to hit this draft very hard.
Use the Cerra picks
Trade next years first for Gold Coast/Brisbane/Richmond late firsts/second rounds
Agreed, all these players we want aren’t going to be there at our picks.Hit this draft hard with the picks we get, yep!
Trade next years first, big no. Some big WA based players unsigned past next season still & some good options in that draft too.
Don’t need to throw all eggs into 1 basket. If we get Carltons 1st & 2nd we will have 4 picks inside 30. Plenty!
Young is a great player, but I don't think he moves as quickly with the ball as Cerra.
Cerra uses his opposite foot all the time to get the ball moving, I'm not sure Young could do that.
Young is a better mark, but I'd reckon he'd be better at half back.
Crowden, Switta, maybe Erasmus pinch hitting.
CogsCogs is nothing like Bennell on the field or off the field
They both go hand in hand in a functioning forward line.Rachelle Rachelle Rachelle View attachment 1220382
Just play players in their natural positions..the ones they are best at. All this trying to turn mids into defenders or vice versa is rubbish.Young is a great player, but I don't think he moves as quickly with the ball as Cerra.
Cerra uses his opposite foot all the time to get the ball moving, I'm not sure Young could do that.
Young is a better mark, but I'd reckon he'd be better at half back.
Crowden, Switta, maybe Erasmus pinch hitting.
loved for the sheer effort of the thingOk so it’s that time of the year again where every freo supporter is in hiding running through 1000s of hypothetical trades that can net us the best draft hand possible. Now admittedly I am that freo supporter and have been messing around a little bit with some trade possibilities as I have nothing better to do with my life. However after watching yesterday’s u19 game it indeed became clear to me that the club needs to find a way to acquire as many draft picks as possible in the next 2 seasons (preferably from WA) and not pretend like the list doesn’t still have significant holes (did anyone say forwards?) with the loss of Adam Cerra, next year we probably won’t be that good (this is just my opinion - natural decline for a massive leap in 2023) and therefore I hate to say it but next year is likely again a development year in which we will be looking to pump as many games into the youngsters whilst lowering our expectations. This is okay and I think we can all get behind the young group we got coming through if the club fully commit themselves to this draft to getting in as many quality youngsters as possible.
So here are the trades I would attempt to make if I was a list manager (committing to the rebuild)
Trade 1 Scenario 1
Fremantle Carlton
Adam Cerra Pick 6
Future 3rd Pick 25
Trade speaks for itself, this is the most realistic A.Cerra deal (for this trade period we will be ignoring the most obvious deals)
Trade 1 Scenario 2 (Ross The Boss)
Fremantle Carlton
Adam Cerra Pick 6
Michael Walters Pick 25
Future 2nd Future 1st
It’s well documented that Ross has a fantastic relationship with Sonny and in this scenario he is made the head coach of the Carlton football club who have made it known that it is finals or bust. Therefore that future 1st would be outside the top 10. So essentially this is a match made in heaven for Ross and Sonny and Cerra gets to tag along as well albeit a bit of a third wheeler. Sonny really could use a fresh start but he loves the footy club and makes sure freo ream the blues for his services on the way out. We love you sonny ️
Trade 2 (Brisbane say GAGF to the 2021 draft)
Fremantle Brisbane
Future 1st (Car or Fre) Pick 15
Pick 27 Pick 18
Pick 47
Pick 52
Future 3rd
This deal allows freo to have a greater presence in this years draft. While dependent on the Adam Cerra deal possibly still having a first round pick in 2022. Tbh this deal favours Brissy but partly due to the fact I want to be on good terms with my good pal Briztoon. Actually **** it I’m adding a future 3rd. The late picks can be combined to entice a club like Collingwood who are in dire need of some of those juicy draft points. Briztoon is this a fair deal? I shouldn’t have to wait long.... you also get to choose between Carlton and freos first round pick in 2022
Trade 3 (A 3-Way for Luke Valente)
Fremantle Adelaide West Coast
Luke Valente Pick 59 (WC) Pick 50 (Fre)
Future 4th (WC) Future 4th (Fre
With all due respect i hope that Luke is doing ok but I fear that it is highly likely he will heading back to Adelaide. Unfortunately due to these circumstances he is worth very little in a trade and has never played an AFL game the only bright spot is that he is in contract so a club has to trade for him. If we could squeeze out something like a Pick 50 and Future 4th then we would be doing ok.
Trade 4 (The trade no one even remembers)
Fremantle Collingwoood
Pick 47 Pick 33
Pick 50
Pick 52
You know those picks swaps that occur during trade period that literally no one ******* remembers. Yeah that is this trade
Trade 5 (Rory gets his wish to get back to Victoria - BONUS TRADE)
Fremantle Gold Coast
Rory Lobb Future 1st
Pick 33 Pick 43
Future 3rd
Look i feel as though not a lot of reaming had been done up to this point. You could argue I was the one getting reamed, maybe I was the guy being realistic. I looked at the trades that I had made and instantly felt a darkness of regret shading over me. This is not it.. I said quietly to my self.. I must do more... I must do one more. So I turned on the television and switched over to VFL 360 trade edition. And then I saw it.. an idea.
“What are the doing.. Gerald?” Mumbled Robbo
“Where are the Gold Coast Suns going?”
“They’ve done nothing”
“Well that’s the grand question isn’t it Robbo, on a day where they needed to make a statement they have squandered on an opportunity. The pressures building on Stewart Dew they need to give him something to work with, something to give him a chance to prove himself when the glaring introduction of Alastair Clarkson relocating to Queensland seemed inevitable”, Gerald remarkably responded
“What do they need, Gerald?”
“I think they someone”
“Who”
“Well a key target, someone they can assure will help the development of Ben King and take some pressure off”
I dashed to my computer and searched up the Fremantle Dockers playing list. I then filtered the system for Key Forwards... three results presented themselves strongly. One - Matt Taberner, Two - Josh Treacy, Three - RORY LOBB. I then recalled a prior conversation with Rory and his management earlier in the year.
“Rory would be open to a move to a Victorian club at seasons end if a good offer come up” his manager told me
“I’m sorry, I don’t get it,” I questioned
“He’s girlfriend has an offer from Steve Rosich to work over in Melbourne... a really strong job offer,” I shook my head in response putting an end to the conversations and strongly denied any chance of a deal occurring setting a strong stance around girlfriends manipulating players into requesting trades.
That night I spent the phone talking to Gold Coast.... practically pleading with them to take on Rory Lobb. Regrettably I had to talk the guy up, gagging at every complement that I could conjure to ensure his value to Gold Coast. Eventually they caved, but told me that they would only be willing to part with a future 1st not pick 3. I had to mute the phone as I let out a little chuckle at those words and then agreed to the offer. When I told Rory that I got him a deal to head to Victoria he was so pleased and thankful for the opportunity that he would buy me a car. He then hung up and I sat down shocked at the events that had just transpired over night. However before I could even get one minute of shut eye I got a phone call from Gold Coasts management.
“RORY LOBB IS ON HOW MUCH?” they screamed into the phone. Admittedly I had no idea what his salary was at the present stage but it couldn’t be that bad surely... right?
“How much?” I responded nervously
“You are the list manager how do you not know?”
“Just send me the details,” with several seconds an email came through of the details and my eyes bulged at the figure that was sitting in front of me.
“Could I interest you in a future 3rd...?”
“Deal but we will have to give you Pick 43 back.”
Holy **** this list management stuff was too easy but I felt so bad for the Suns I gave Pick 33 back as well
“Thank you... you are too kind,” their management responded
“No, no thank you.. thank you,” i said breathing a big sigh of relief
The deal was complete
“You are well aware that Gold Coast isn’t in Victoria right?” my assistant waking in to the briefing room asked
“Yes. But I’m not sure Rory does.”
“Hey, Amanda can you release the Blakely we’re losing too many players due to girlfriends”
“Of course but not before I....
I awoke in a pool of sweat in my bed... “Ah ****”, it was only just a dream
Out: Adam Cerra, Michael Walters, Rory Lobb, Luke Valente, Future 1st (Car or Fre), Future 2nd, Pick 27, Future 2nd, Future 3rd
In: Pick 6, Pick 15, Pick 18, Pick 25, Pick 43, Future 1st (Car), Future 1st (GC), Future 3rd (Bri), Future 4th (WC)
2021 Draft: 6,8,15,18,25,43
2022 Draft Projections: 6,12,50,55,57
Hopefully I took up an entire page of BigFooty because I reckon this took an hour to type and freo recruit some ******* forwards
Keep the top 10 picks until draft night. Why pull the trigger early??Let’s assume we land pick 6 from Carlton.
Do we swap 6 or 8 with:
Brisbane for 15, 18?
Richmond 16, 26?
Gold Coast 19, 22?
Hawks 21, 24?
Would we rather 2 top 10s or a top 10 and 2 other picks inside 26… plus our own 2nd rounder?
I’m usually in the higher picks group but this year there just seems an awful lot of potential quality WA talls that will fall in the 10-30 bracket.
In other words would we rather:
Erasmus, Rachele and tall slider (Williams, Bazzo maybe lucky if JVR or Amiss fall there)
Or Erasmus, Amiss, JVR + slider with our 2nd.
Obviously we could just hypothetically take any 2 of Erasmus, JVR, Rachele, Amiss with 6 and 8 and just pick whatever with our 2nd.
In short. Do we keep 6 and 8 or spin one of those into 2 later picks?
loved for the sheer effort of the thing
Keep the top 10 picks until draft night. Why pull the trigger early??
I agree, with the exception being if West Coast really want Erasmus and we rate him lower than the players we would take with #8 - then we swap our pick #8 with their #10 and their second round pick.Personally I would keep 6 and 8 rather than risk not getting the player you thought would last to say pick 15.
I got worn out reading it but it was worth it.loved for the sheer effort of the thing
Personally I would keep 6 and 8 rather than risk not getting the player you thought would last to say pick 15.
Remembering out pick 8 is going to be pick 10, I think you just take Amiss there. Is 10 a slight reach? Maybe it's the tippy top of his value but when you add in the fact he specifically addresses a need and is from WA, its enough external factors to make it worth it.But then do you reach?
Let’s say we want Amiss but think he falls around 20.
Do we just grab him at 8?
What’s undeniable is our need for talls and WA has produced about 3-5 for this draft.
So, say we do miss him at 15 you’d imagine JVR is available.
What I’m going for is 2 of: JVR, Amiss, Williams with 2 picks around 20.
Remembering out pick 8 is going to be pick 10, I think you just take Amiss there. Is 10 a slight reach? Maybe it's the tippy top of his value but when you add in the fact he specifically addresses a need and is from WA, its enough external factors to make it worth it.
I dont want to downgrade either top 10 picks personally. Think we are far better off keeping both, taking best mid at 6 (8), Amiss at 8 (10) then trying to grab the Dogs first round pick off them. We should be able to take one of JVR or Rachelle at the Dogs first round pick.
The over-arching trade/draft plan should be something along the lines of using Cerra and our current and future draft hands to get a Cerra replacement (Erasmus/Johnson), 2 of JVR/Amiss/Rachelle/Williams, Clark, Motlop and Benning. We should be able to do this while keeping our future 1st I think
How do we get the dogs first?Remembering out pick 8 is going to be pick 10, I think you just take Amiss there. Is 10 a slight reach? Maybe it's the tippy top of his value but when you add in the fact he specifically addresses a need and is from WA, its enough external factors to make it worth it.
I dont want to downgrade either top 10 picks personally. Think we are far better off keeping both, taking best mid at 6 (8), Amiss at 8 (10) then trying to grab the Dogs first round pick off them. We should be able to take one of JVR or Rachelle at the Dogs first round pick.
The over-arching trade/draft plan should be something along the lines of using Cerra and our current and future draft hands to get a Cerra replacement (Erasmus/Johnson), 2 of JVR/Amiss/Rachelle/Williams, Clark, Motlop and Benning. We should be able to do this while keeping our future 1st I think