bigman

Mar 29, 2004
All Parts
When is the NAB AFL Mid-Season Rookie Draft?
The evening of Wednesday, June 2, in the week following round 11. Nominations for eligible players opens at 9am AEST on Monday, May 10 and close at 5pm AEST on Tuesday, May 25.

Watch all the NAB AFL Mid-Season Rookie Draft picks LIVE and EXCLUSIVE on AFL.com.au
and the AFL Live Official App from 6.30pm AEST on Wednesday, June 2

Nicks today saying if the right player is there we may have up to 3 picks
In the mid season draft

he mentioned small forward role and quick midfielder as options they were focusing on

no mention of ruck

Last edited by a moderator:
Some media reports are saying (I think it was Twomey) that there might only be a dozen or so picks, total?

Seems light on for what is essentially a free hit.
Theres a few teams that dont have a spot on their list..

And some of the ones that do only have one spot..

LTI spots arent automatically used.. its not a simple decision to use them.

Up against Fish in a few contests.
Did you watch the game?... The delivery Callow and his fellow norwood forwards was getting wouldve had any defender struggling..

Callow looked bloody great and his contested marking was brilliant but he had a distinct advantage!.. if himmelberg or frampton were playing for norwood last weekend, and on the recieving end of that delivery, they probably wouldve kicked 7..

Yeah, I cant see us taking Callow at this point..

We have fog, tex and TT as our KPF’s and also Frampton and Himm in the mix.. although himm seems to be struggling and has fallen out of favour.

Nicksy has talked up fog in just about every interview he’s done lately so you think fog is a lock if nicksy gets his way.. Nicksy also said the other week that he is really rating the leadership etc that Billy has been bringing.. pity he cant convert his sanfl form to afl level though!..

I dont rate either himm or frampton.

But both are contracted till the end of next year so I think we will continue with the fog, tt, tex, frampton and himm KPF mix for another year.

Nicksy said, when asked the clubs intention in the MSD, that they will be looking for a small forward.

So.. All this really adds up to us not taking Callow.

I think we’ll take a small forward and then with our second pick grab Oliver.. and that’ll be it.

My thoughts too. I think we take that WA kid Thorpe and then Oliver, and out MSD is done.

I'd be inclined to say a third is critical at the moment with our squad. More to do with we need to develop Fogarty and he's the victim of any switch down to two key forwards. It's certainly near the bottom of the list when it comes to what positions I'd be trying to fill with a mid-season draft pick.

Mind you, I kind of expect us to run three talls for this build, seeing I reckon Gollant ends up giving it a good shake next year if he remains healthy.

I see it more about total performance across the ground. You only play a 3rd when all 3 are going well. A 3rd for structure that's not up to it ie Frampton causes lots of grief elsewhere. It's no coincidence that our best 2 games have come not carrying a non-performing tall. The reality is that exceedingly few contested marks are taken in our forward 50, height is of little value to us, we need space and ground ball pressure. I think Thilthorpe and Fog with an in-form McAdam is enough aerial power for a forward line. Rotating mid, small forward and higher half forward round out the structure. All tackling desperados though, total non-negotiable. Obviously Tex is still there, but following his departure that's the the structure I'd like to see.

Kind of on this, I think for too long our club and supporters have leaned on points for as a being proof we've nailed the structure. This is wrong, the only thing that matters is score differential. Kicking 3 extra but causing 4 more due to lack of pressure from our 50 through the arcs is counterproductive. And we know that finals footy is highly contested and that's when our rebounders and mids are under pressure which causes dirty ball into our 50. We've been structuring a great downhill skiing forward line for ages and it works when our kids are on top. It doesn't when they're not.

I get it, but this seems harsh. Jimmy Rowe was overlooked in multiple drafts and has now played every game for us this year, without looking like going out of the side any time soon. We rookied Porplyzia back in the day, got rid of him, drafted him back a few years later before he became one of the best small forwards we’ve had

Every team can make poor judgements. To me, Callow is at least showing that he should have been drafted last year

Now, whether WE should prioritising drafting him right now is an entirely different question, one that I’d lean towards no for

It's harsh, but it is where Jackson sits at the moment. Passed on two drafts and a team desperate for a key forward (noting his trial coincided with Pattons exit) went for a 22 year old journeyman over him. The other issue is they're small forwards, Callow is a key and due to how difficult it is to find key forwards, I do suspect every club has already put a lot of work into scouting him.

I do think Callow ends up forcing himself onto a list, eventually. I suspect it to require a Podisadly kind of path though where he's required to lay waste to the 2s for a few years before he's thrown that shot.

Sure, but as I said around draft time, I'd rather give Callownor another rookie such as Maher a go. They have upside and time on their hands.

Wasn't that Callows Achilles heel come draft time last year? That he was essentially the finished product.

Maher sure, but again... it's a very similar story, though if I remember correctly, he did his knee on trial.

Some media reports are saying (I think it was Twomey) that there might only be a dozen or so picks, total?

It's about the same as 2019. I don't think it's too surprising either, seeing most of that class was quickly delisted.

Fringe prospects, or mature agers... it's not exactly a winning mix. Or ruck prospects which is really the highlight.

My thoughts too. I think we take that WA kid Thorpe and then Oliver, and out MSD is done.

I think you're setting yourself up for disappointment here.

Likelihood is we take Davis and call it a day.

I think you're setting yourself up for disappointment here.

Likelihood is we take Davis and call it a day.

Nicks has publicly said we're looking first and foremost at a small forward.

After Murphy went down this became even more of a need, as well as for overall depth.

Only 13 players selected in the 2019 mid-season draft (it was cancelled in 2020). 5 clubs passed, and Sydney was the only club to make 2 selections.

Might be a few more this year, due to Victorian kids who didn't have a chance to show their wares in 2020.

Although i think we'll only take 2 in the MSD (Thorne & Oliver), Jackson Callow IS Tasmanian, and Hamish does like his Tassie boys!

Would make 3 on our list.

I would love 3 if they meet some of our needs. We can try them in our system and delist at the end of the season. A back up mature ruckman would be good.

It takes a fair bit of effort to bring someone new in so it is really only beneficial if you intend to play them. Knoll to the Gold Coast as they need a Ruckman is probably a good example.

I think some supporters also immediately assume that “our clubs got two players on the LTI list so we’ll have two spots we’ll use”..

When in reality thats not the case at all..

Nicks has publicly said we're looking first and foremost at a small forward.

After Murphy went down this became even more of a need, as well as for overall depth.

Looking and going for are different things (and of course, it's a public comment so it could just be us foxing). I suspect when push comes to shove, we'll choose to bolster our small forward stocks in the 2021 rookie draft or late national draft instead.

Not sure if someone has mentioned this, but..

Is there a chance we could be a bit strategic come the MSD and not just bring in players based on a 'need'? If a KPF is going to be there at our pick, say it's Jackson Callow (and we already know we're likely to pick up one of Oliver & Thorpe), couldn't we pick him up in the MSD, sign him up for 18 months if we've got the cap space, showcase him in a few AFL games whilst he also dominates in the SANFL like he's currently doing, and then use him as trade bait in the National Draft at the end of the year along with one of Himmelberg & Frampton?

Or it might give us the freedom to trade both of them if there's any interest, and keep Callow.

My guess is that if Callow were to continue to perform at SANFL level and he was to nominate for the Draft again at the end of the year, he'd certainly be in that 25-35 range for me.

There are clubs that are in need of a KPF who don't have a free spot in the MSD, and who may give up some currency for Callow if he continues to perform.

IMO North don't deserve a PP for a variety of reasons, none more so than the fact that Callow would be a top 15 pick if he was to have entered the National Draft at the end of the year, so they're essentially getting a free hit at a KPF.

Not sure if someone has mentioned this, but..

Is there a chance we could be a bit strategic come the MSD and not just bring in players based on a 'need'? If a KPF is going to be there at our pick, say it's Jackson Callow (and we already know we're likely to pick up one of Oliver & Thorpe), couldn't we pick him up in the MSD, sign him up for 18 months if we've got the cap space, showcase him in a few AFL games whilst he also dominates in the SANFL like he's currently doing, and then use him as trade bait in the National Draft at the end of the year along with one of Himmelberg & Frampton?

Or it might give us the freedom to trade both of them if there's any interest, and keep Callow.

My guess is that if Callow were to continue to perform at SANFL level and he was to nominate for the Draft again at the end of the year, he'd certainly be in that 25-35 range for me.

There are clubs that are in need of a KPF who don't have a free spot in the MSD, and who may give up some currency for Callow if he continues to perform.

IMO North don't deserve a PP for a variety of reasons, none more so than the fact that Callow would be a top 15 pick if he was to have entered the National Draft at the end of the year, so they're essentially getting a free hit at a KPF.
Callow was in last year's draft, and nobody picked him. Hawthorn gave him a shot during the pre-season, and still didn't pick him up. There is nothing at all to suggest he'd be in the top-15 of this year's draft. It's far more likely that he wouldn't be drafted at all.

Players have the option of nominating 6 or 18 month contracts, when nominating for the MSD. I doubt the club would be looking too closely at anyone asking for 18 months.

Callow was in last year's draft, and nobody picked him. Hawthorn gave him a shot during the pre-season, and still didn't pick him up. There is nothing at all to suggest he'd be in the top-15 of this year's draft. It's far more likely that he wouldn't be drafted at all.

Players have the option of nominating 6 or 18 month contracts, when nominating for the MSD. I doubt the club would be looking too closely at anyone asking for 18 months.

Sorry that last paragraph where i mentioned North Melbourne was related to Jacob Edwards as a top 15 pick. I would still rate Callow in that 25-30 range if he was to nominate for the National Draft, he seems to have a lot of tongues wagging at the moment. You're only as good as your recent form, and he has it in spades.

No one drafted Rory Sloane, no one drafted Luke Brown, no one drafted Bernie Vince, no one drafted Jordon Butts.

Nabbing a bit of currency probably not the worst idea even if we don't see a future for them on our list.

Just hope we don't leave list spots vacant

No one drafted Rory Sloane, no one drafted Luke Brown, no one drafted Bernie Vince, no one drafted Jordon Butts.

Nabbing a bit of currency probably not the worst idea even if we don't see a future for them on our list.

Just hope we don't leave list spots vacant

I'm pretty sure Luke Brown and Bernie Vince didn't miss out in their first draft. Sloane and Butts didn't.

I think it's 100% certain we'll leave spots open after we're done with this one though.

I'm pretty sure Luke Brown and Bernie Vince didn't miss out in their first draft. Sloane and Butts didn't.
None of them were taken in the first draft they were eligible for

I think it's 100% certain we'll leave spots open after we're done with this one though.
I feel you're right :(

2021 Mid season draft (June 2nd)