List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft

What do you think of him, Arr0w?

Would’ve thought a small forward is the least of our priorities.

Plenty to like, very clever, and makes the draft by 3 days, late/rookie pick
Very promising youngster, didn’t realise how young, 29 December young.

Originally from Burnie, and playing for North Launceston where he kicked 10 snags in his third senior game as a 17yo.

This old fella was born in Burnie and played juniors for North Launceston decades ago, very easy to get invested. I didn’t see small forward as a priority with Durdin and Motlop shaping as very long term staples. Depends a bit on desired structures I suppose. At 17 and 179 cm, could grow to be “medium” rather than “small”. Corey and Jesse are little tanks, but a bit more size in the mix may be a good thing. (Apologies to Matt Owies, but I see limitations)

Seth and overager Leary are both very draftable small forward options from Tassie.

Very promising youngster, didn’t realise how young, 29 December young.

Originally from Burnie, and playing for North Launceston where he kicked 10 snags in his third senior game as a 17yo.

This old fella was born in Burnie and played juniors for North Launceston decades ago, very easy to get invested. I didn’t see small forward as a priority with Durdin and Motlop shaping as very long term staples. Depends a bit on desired structures I suppose. At 17 and 179 cm, could grow to be “medium” rather than “small”. Corey and Jesse are little tanks, but a bit more size in the mix may be a good thing. (Apologies to Matt Owies, but I see limitations)

Seth and overager Leary are both very draftable small forward options from Tassie.

There are some interesting types sub 180 in this year's draft. Konstanty, Hagan, Drury, Long.

Draft preferences have to consider needs, however, notionally could get behind any of that list making their way to ours.
I don’t overly rate the top end of the draft, but there are some great role players to be had in the later rounds.

From articles I've been seeing sounds like we're in the Allan or Hollands boat if theres no sliders such as Philippou or Humphrey. To me sounds right adding to our gut runners and outside ball use. I'd like to think we'll be able to find a way to get that 3rd pick inside 30 we're hoping for and select one of the many forward 50 options in Hotton, Clarke, Konstanty etc

Really our only 2 pressing list issues at this stage and then bring in development KPP over the next few years.

From articles I've been seeing sounds like we're in the Allan or Hollands boat if theres no sliders such as Philippou or Humphrey. To me sounds right adding to our gut runners and outside ball use. I'd like to think we'll be able to find a way to get that 3rd pick inside 30 we're hoping for and select one of the many forward 50 options in Hotton, Clarke, Konstanty etc

Really our only 2 pressing list issues at this stage and then bring in development KPP over the next few years.

I knew the Allan family when growing up.

They were all good sportsfolk across many different sports, so not just 'athletes'.... far from it.

And brains too - Ben's Dad was (is?) an accomplished lawyer, highly regarded. I imagine he's retired now.

And they were all very solid units - Ed will fill out very nicely in short order and will be an absolute beast.

Strong work ethic too.

Is he speculative at #11? No more than Hollands imo.

Note who he models himself on.

Kh3pRAMl.jpg

And sounds like someone else we rate, already at CFC.

1668730066052.png

And understands the importance of being a good/great kick!

1668730126734.png

Athletically, speaks for itself.

1668730159083.png

There has been some talk in WA that Geelong have Ed Allan in the mix for their selection as Hawthorn are apparently considering Jye Clark at 6.
If this occurs one or two of the more fancied players may drift down the order.
He is the one most likely to be the bolter of the draft, as he did not play much of the season and clubs see a real upside in him being that tallish athletic mid-fielder which clubs are attracted to.

Think half of those players will be gone by our 2nd pick

You may well be right - I've taken the ADP from 7 phantom drafts on the Drafts & Trading board and put most of those with a 25-35 average range in the poll.

And I added a few of my favourites in as well. ;)

Reckon ya right and either lad would be a good outcome for the club, Ed Allen or Oliver Hollands, both have the natural ability to be solid contributors and play decent footy in any team. If Allen does sneak into top 10 there’ll most certainly be a bigger named slider too.
It happens most drafts 2022 ain’t gonna be any different, interesting times ahead.
Go Blues.

New poll is up - now asking what we should do with our 2nd pick, currently selection #29.

Have your say and tell us why!
I voted George even though I think it's completely unrealistic.
Best available talent, and in a position of need. If it weren't for his ACL, I'd be wanting him at #11. Even now, if we took him with our 1st I wouldn't be upset.

Note who he models himself on.

Kh3pRAMl.jpg

And sounds like someone else we rate, already at CFC.

View attachment 1555973

And understands the importance of being a good/great kick!

View attachment 1555974

Athletically, speaks for itself.

View attachment 1555975

Not seeing anything special with his kicking based on that package. Not bad, but he's no Bont.

In general kicking for most draftees will improve with exposure and mentoring at elite level of footy, takes some time to adjust and familiarize to tempo of the big game.
Bontempelli is a mercurial AFL footballer, a little unfair to compare a fresh youngster, to such an outstanding bench mark.

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft