List Mgmt. 2022 Draft and Trade Hypotheticals: Kinnear & Dalrymple - we march to no drum but our own!

Suns supposedly happy to offer pick 6 as part of Bowes. If Lloyd wants out Bowes and pick 6 does sound attractive. Would put us in prime position for Jed Busslinger and we'd have good depth for the rebounding role Lloyd fills

Bowes was who we originally bid on before picking up Florent. Description matches how we play

Suns supposedly happy to offer pick 6 as part of Bowes. If Lloyd wants out Bowes and pick 6 does sound attractive. Would put us in prime position for Jed Busslinger and we'd have good depth for the rebounding role Lloyd fills

Bowes was who we originally bid on before picking up Florent. Description matches how we play
I was thinking the exact thing. He would be a very handy pickup. But the only issue is his contract is heavily backended. We got quite a few key players coming out of contract ibnthe next 2 years.

Yeah just how big is the question. He's never been a star so can't be that huge. Plus we could do what Geelong and Saints did with Rohan and Hanners and actually extend his contract. Less per year but more overall

Bowes is rumoured to be looking for more midfield time. Sooo not sure if he'd find that option attractive.

They have plenty of options

Campbell could learn the Lloyd role

Flick around the backline and Gould comes in

Rankin will play senior footy imo

Gould was signed for a reason and may have been told he will get his chance

Matt Roberts as well mate

With the changes in rules to dumping salary, could we potentially get Bowes and pick 6 for some token pick eg third rounder?

If that was the case, it would be very tempting. I still however would prefer to keep Lloyd as I don't think we desperately need early picks this year given where our list is.

If Lloyd was to leave I could see Rampe replacing his role and Gould being that medium defender

Bowes is interesting.... The questions involved include
Do we rate Bowes?
- BloodySwan posted that we bid on him, so we (at least) used to rate him
Do we have the cash?
- Could change contract around, ie extend the years and even out the pay. Harley has said a few times lately that our trade goals revolve around retention of our list.
How much do we want the draft pick?
- I assume we would need to give something back, like p18 (or p14) for Bowes + p7. How much better will the player at p7 be compared to p18?

Still only 24yrs, medium defender. Lloyd is unsigned, Fox is getting older, Rampe is old. But like Punts wrote, we have plenty of options back there including Rankin, Gould, Campbell

You can see we have had a bit of a shift in list management in the past few years.

I agree Lloyd will go as his role is relatively easy to replace (we already have lots of options) which allows salary cap space to be placed elsewhere.

Same view with Hewett with players coming through that would have seen us overpay his role.

Bit more shrewd that we once were I reckon. Keep the list turning over, don’t overpay outside of key players / positions and don’t overpay when you have others that can perform the role at better value.

With the changes in rules to dumping salary, could we potentially get Bowes and pick 6 for some token pick eg third rounder?

If that was the case, it would be very tempting. I still however would prefer to keep Lloyd as I don't think we desperately need early picks this year given where our list is.
I would think it'd take our top 2 picks for Bowes + 6.

Lloyd compo would be second band so beginning of round 2?

I would think it'd take our top 2 picks for Bowes + 6.

Lloyd compo would be second band so beginning of round 2?
My understanding is the AFL will be happy to sign off on deals which in the past they wouldn't have if it's in the name of dumping salary. So in this case, we could do a deal with GC whereby Lloyd goes as an UFA, we could send GC a token pick to make it official and in return, we take on his contract in full and they give us pick 6.

Can anyone more versed in the black art of trading confirm or refute this? Cheers

Allegedly, and I have no basis apart from a reported backhanded contract, and some boards speculation, that Bowes is on $800K for 23 & 24. Yikes!

If some how we have cap space and If It's a classic NBA salary dump then pick 14 or 18 and not both is enough.

If totally desperate pick 36 would suffice.

Sent from my SM-G990E using Tapatalk

Allegedly, and I have no basis apart from a reported backhanded contract, and some boards speculation, that Bowes is on $800K for 23 & 24. Yikes!

If some how we have cap space and If It's a classic NBA salary dump then pick 14 or 18 and not both is enough.

With Papley as yet unsigned I find it difficult to believe we would find that type of $ palatable.

If totally desperate pick 36 would suffice.

Future 3rd thanks he’s not that good

Yep.. hes the absolute priority. Paps is so much more important than a pick upgrade

Don’t stress he’ll resign

Wants to go back to back after Saturday

The salary dump certainly adds an element of intrigue to future trading, although I would prefer to take on expensive discards at a discounted rate rather than take on the full salary for an attractive pick or two. Treloar is the perfect example, why pay $900K for five years when I can get Collingwood to foot $300k per annum for the life of his contract?

Not against signing Bowes under these circumstances, but I do not want him if he is supposedly on $800K and we're paying the full amount. It would upset the apple cart quite a bit and a few of our players would inevitably leave because of it. Also, if Bowes worked out for us, how would we negotiate a contract extension if his salary is already overinflated?

Brodie Grundy is probably going to Melbourne, but hypothetically speaking, I'd be happy for the Swans to take on a contract like his if Collingwood were paying 15-25% of his remaining 5 years.

The salary dump certainly adds an element of intrigue to future trading, although I would prefer to take on expensive discards at a discounted rate rather than take on the full salary for an attractive pick or two. Treloar is the perfect example, why pay $900K for five years when I can get Collingwood to foot $300k per annum for the life of his contract?

Not against signing Bowes under these circumstances, but I do not want him if he is supposedly on $800K and we're paying the full amount. It would upset the apple cart quite a bit and a few of our players would inevitably leave because of it. Also, if Bowes worked out for us, how would we negotiate a contract extension if his salary is already overinflated?

Brodie Grundy is probably going to Melbourne, but hypothetically speaking, I'd be happy for the Swans to take on a contract like his if Collingwood were paying 15-25% of his remaining 5 years.

Grundy is so done and would stuff our cap