Preview 2022 draft prospects

My money is on us trading it down to 22 with Essendon for their future second.

Sounds good.

Pick up a F2, then take three of Barnett/Keeler/Weddle/Cowan/Hewett/Hotton/Clarke/Hayes/(Ryan if we must).

Much more palatable.

Hardly worth getting frustrated over

Once the top 8-10 are gone there is probably bugger all between the next 10-15 in terms of talent

The point that was being made… take a punt… bring in some X factor.

If it’s George at 16 so be it

Not a skinny KPD or a pedestrian mid who’s never going to get a game behind 3-4 others
My opinion. Despite all the opinions from drafters, experts and BF afficiandos history remains the best teacher in draft pick value. Look at results. The biggest difference between picks is pick 1 to pick 2. The first 5 picks are clearly the next best group. The 1-10 are significantly better than 11-20. 11 -20 have a clear advantage over 21-30

Once you get to 21-30 the difference flattens right out. Not much difference between 21-30, 31-40 or 41- 50. Probably drops off a bit after this.

It makes sense, talent and ability to play a sport is given out in a pyramid fashion or a bell curve if you prefer that. The outrageously talented are few and set themselves apart in a way that is pretty easy to assess. As you drop down pure talent drops away and variables such as desire, work ethic etc start to play a bigger part and the difference between players becomes blurred and less predictable. As long as kids given an extra dose of talent put in work it doesnt matter how hard the chasing group work they cant catch the best kids. There will be exceptions but as a general rule this holds very well

So look at the output from kids picked in the teens over time and its clearly better than the 20 somethings. Pick 16 is a more valuable pick that 25 or 27. We have had a lot of lower picks in recent years. We need to hold onto any teen or top 10 we get as that's where the gold is unless we get an offer not to be refused.

P.S Dont mind Ryan with a near 30 type pick but our 16 to 18 pick needs to aim higher than him IMHO

Sounds good.

Pick up a F2, then take three of Barnett/Keeler/Weddle/Cowan/Hewett/Hotton/Clarke/Hayes/(Ryan if we must).

Much more palatable.
Barnett 20, Weedle 15-20, Cowan 15-25, Ryan 15-25 all likely to be gone.

Keeler, Hewett, Hotton, Clarke, Hayes, Richards, Burgiel, Hustwaite IMO are likely to be available.

My money is on us trading it down to 22 with Essendon for their future second.
Will probably depend if there is someone we rate highly still available. Think this and also trading 51 for a future 3rd is what might happen which will put us back in the first 3 rounds next year. If this happens Ginnivan gets promoted after the draft and we hold a rookie spot for later.

Keen to trade out our pick 16 for either of the following:

• Future first from a club like Geelong or Melbourne
  • Future second from a club like North or Adelaide

Would also accept pick 16 for an F2 and a pick in late 20's.

We need to bolster next years hand, and if Hine rates 15 -30 as even then it's the perfect opportunity to do so. 2 or 3 picks in the 20's in still very solid.

2023 bottom 4 teams in hawthorn and west coast hold multiple future 2nds.

And both hold 2022 picks in the 20s that they might seek to upgrade

Don’t mind that idea if it gets our turn… and all of the top 12 or so prospects are gone. Why not ? 🤷‍♀️

3x 2022 picks in the 20s and securing a future 2nd from a weak team would be a good outcome

Barnett 20, Weedle 15-20, Cowan 15-25, Ryan 15-25 all likely to be gone.

Keeler, Hewett, Hotton, Clarke, Hayes, Richards, Burgiel, Hustwaite IMO are likely to be available.
Also likely to be gone
Hewett 10-15
Hotton, 15-20
Hayes 15-20
Clarke 20-25

Possibles
Burgiel 25-30 fine player
Hustwaite 25-30 fine player
Keeler 30-35 potential
Richards 40-60

On reflection I can see where the boys are coming from. If Weddle or Cowan slid, and we ended up with a F2nd, Cowan/Weddle, Burgeil/Hustwaite, Keeler and a F3rd ….. not too bad.

I see reason in trades that improve our hand for next year, but my gut wants more competitve, athletic, skilled youngsters on the list with this coaching crew.

We seem to have something special going on at the club, and I want more good kids in there to learn in this environment.

(Cowan or Clarke, please Dekka).

If after pick 15 we traded out pick 16 for WC pick 26 and WC future 2nd

It would give us 25,26,27 (pushed back due to F/S)

There will still be some talent in that range… players that have slid a bit on the night

Then can as others have suggested trade out our pick 51 for a future 3rd… before upgrading Noble and all done ✅

And West Coast would get 4 top 20 picks to snap up the WA prospects ✅

The collective sigh across the board when we pass on Hewett is going to hurt, but that aside it’s shaping to be a fun night for once with it the first genuine best available draft I can remember for us. I hope everyone’s favourite gets over the line!*

*except for the peeps that want us to go tall because we never go tall 🤣

Hewitt might be a Bust and what would people say then?

The same thing they say for any other player we select that might be a bust? What’s your point Dave?

That IF we pass and he does come a Bust then people won't be Sooking we Passed him up then

I was just told that one player we might be interested in later is a guy by the name of Tom Mccallum, To be honest I'm not sure if we are interested in taking him but I know we have interviewed him

Tom McCallum​

Looks good mate: Height: 192cm; Weight: 78kg; D.O.B: 15-05-2004

STRENGTHS:
AERIAL ABILITY
ENDURANCE
INTERCEPT MARKING
RUN-AND-CARRY
SPEED
VERSATILITY

193cm, I believe. I don't know much about him but he looks like an upgrade on Ryan.
Likewise, I was thinking the same thing regards to Ryan.
Have to go with Dekka's comment on Ryan though "if he's available at our first pick".
Could have a couple of Tassie boys in Cowan & MacCallum in B&W next year

Tom McCallum​

Looks good mate: Height: 192cm; Weight: 78kg; D.O.B: 15-05-2004

STRENGTHS:
AERIAL ABILITY
ENDURANCE
INTERCEPT MARKING
RUN-AND-CARRY
SPEED
VERSATILITY

I saw one phantom draft that had North taking him in the 20's.

Looks promising in that package - as they all should though.

Bit more height and size than Ryan

Preview 2022 draft prospects