Trades 2022 Round 2 Trades ....You wouldn't dare, would you ?

What will Weller's position status be in the VFL this year? ;)
aKDXzMj_700b.jpg

Team.png

Read all off-season, first time poster here.

Biggest rookie that I am missing is Nick Martin - thinking about dropping Ward, moving Rachele to M8 for next week, playing Hayes and then putting Nick Martin in the emergency forward spot. Would net me 80k and allow for a better team structure this week while only costing one trade.

Also keen to bring Hewett in for McInerney to correct that mistake, but think that I will do that next round if the round one trend continues. Geelong tend to push the zone pretty deep to protect the backline and they allow a lot of uncontested possession on the wings/half back (where McInerney played a lot this week). So I feel that it won't be an 80 gap between him and Hewett this week again (fingers crossed).

Be grateful for any guidance on whether people pull the trigger on Hewett now, whether the Ward to Martin trade is sound and/or any other glaring problems with the team you can see.

That's alot of roughies mate, I commend you but feel your misery at the same time.
Oh its worse than that.
Round 2 trades last year
out a couple of schmucks in Sleevo and Lachie Young.
round 3 trades
Out sleevo and Lachie Young in a couple of schmucks.
+ 5 trades on Heeney.
I had used 14 trades by round 7.
Pretty obvious were I fecked up.
2 roughies the first week it was possible to have completed roughies.
On the Brightside though.
I don't know anyone else to have ever done it!

View attachment 1351661

Read all off-season, first time poster here.

Biggest rookie that I am missing is Nick Martin - thinking about dropping Ward, moving Rachele to M8 for next week, playing Hayes and then putting Nick Martin in the emergency forward spot. Would net me 80k and allow for a better team structure this week while only costing one trade.

Also keen to bring Hewett in for McInerney to correct that mistake, but think that I will do that next round if the round one trend continues. Geelong tend to push the zone pretty deep to protect the backline and they allow a lot of uncontested possession on the wings/half back (where McInerney played a lot this week). So I feel that it won't be an 80 gap between him and Hewett this week again (fingers crossed).

Be grateful for any guidance on whether people pull the trigger on Hewett now, whether the Ward to Martin trade is sound and/or any other glaring problems with the team you can see.
I would give Ward another week mate.
Baldwin to Martin is the trade I would do.
If you reckon Hewett is a keeper (plenty of folks do) the other trade is fine.
Welcome to the board.

I’m only missing Rachele after switching to Brodie before the game. I think I can live with that decision. Need to see Rachele do it again before I trade him in at that price.

Crisp and Whitfield were disasters but I expect both to turn it around. Assuming Whitfield isn’t injured, I can’t see myself sideways trading them. I don’t know how you could have any confidence going Whitfield to someone like Houston off one sample size, screams trap to me. The only trade I’d be willing to do is Whitfield up to someone like Hall, but then again, it’s giving me flash backs of going Clark to Hurn in round 3, watching him ping his calf 2 mins in, while Clark tonned up. So then I traded Hurn to Ridley, who then got concussed in his first game in my side. Chasing points rarely works out for me.

I've had several but my math says Gawn has to score 175+ to maintain his price. We all know he was overpriced to start with.
Gawn routinely spuds up in Round 1 every year and his price is irrelevant IMO because you’re picking him to keep for the whole season unless he gets injured.

I can see the appeal in Witts’ cash gen but dumping a bloke after 1 round who is still a very good chance to be number 1 in his position is insanity for mine

First time playing SC for me, good score of 2300 first week I thought but I'm not alone by the looks in thinking of making some moves haha
Someone please talk me out of these moves
Baldwin-Martin
Ridley-Docherty
Soligo-Stephens
Don't trade ridley IMO.
He is a keeper for the year and cant be written of just yet.
Baldwin to Martin seems solid he will make plenty of cash.
Stephens scored less than he requires to make 150k I wouldn't be trading for him at his price.
this site is useful for working out what each rookie will go up with a score of x.
hope this helps.
Welcome to the board.

First time playing SC for me, good score of 2300 first week I thought but I'm not alone by the looks in thinking of making some moves haha
Baldwin-Martin
Ridley-Docherty
Soligo-Stephens
rd1 and rd2 scores can be very different, literally polar opposites. The amount of times we've seen 100s in rd1, followed up by 30s in rd2. Or 70s in rd1, followed up by 150s in rd2.

Most people won't trade.

1 trade is fine, especially if it's obvious
2 trades only if you're really desperate
3 trades absolutely no way

Baldwin to Martin is the only trade I can get behind. Key forward for a wingman that finds a heap of footy and knows how to kick a goal

Ridley could go 120 and Doch could score 80. You can wait a week

If Soligo is given another chance, he could score 70 or 80. Dyl Stephens is expensive and only scored 60. McInerney is fine and Lloyd + Warner are about to return from covid, who knows how he'll go. Mead or Maginness might be better options, and cheaper

Baldwin-Martin
Ridley-Docherty
Soligo-Stephens
Baldwin to Martin a must imo but it doesn't need to be this week unless you have a lot of other issues to deal, which it seems you don't. Nice score

If Hinge or Gibcus get dropped and the Whitfield rumours persist or aren't cleared up (pictured at training, running fine, etc), then I might just trade him out. Hardly any options to deal with a Whitfield late out (as they play so late in the round) and there's no way I'm copping a donut this early in the year.

I would give Ward another week mate.
Baldwin to Martin is the trade I would do.
If you reckon Hewett is a keeper (plenty of folks do) the other trade is fine.
Welcome to the board.
Thanks mate - appreciated.

Think you are probably right re Ward given that there really aren't that many rookies with high cash potential and job security. Will just bring in Martin for Baldwin to make that correction and allow myself more flexibility if needed next round.

Will hold fire on Hewett until next round given that I may need to move Whitfield if there are strong rumours he is injured.

If Hinge or Gibcus get dropped and the Whitfield rumours persist or aren't cleared up (pictured at training, running fine, etc), then I might just trade him out. Hardly any options to deal with a Whitfield late out (as they play so late in the round) and there's no way I'm copping a donut this early in the year.
1647943169433.png
I was thinking Noddy to skinner if I lose one.
Gibcus and Whitfield out and Im in trouble.

View attachment 1351712
I was thinking Noddy to skinner if I get any trouble.
Gibcus and whitfield out and Im in trouble.
Yeah you might have to. I reckon Gibcus will play. Hinge more of a drop risk, but even he should play.

I refuse to take Skinner early. McKenzie is a test and he's clearly ahead of Skinner. Clurey just 2-4 weeks away. Skinner might not even get any price rises.

Got 2302 with Ryan, Ridley and Whitfield last round.

Don’t have Nic Martin but want to wait a week to see how Ward goes.

He he churns out another sub 50 score and Martin scores well I’ll probably look to make the switch.

More than likely a direct Dixon > Martin trade though.

Dan Houston is tempting the hell out of me and as much as it has been said before I think he is finally set to break out as a player. Luke Ryan’s role is pretty unclear with Pearce returning to take the mantle as their number one defender, Young looking solid as a third tall (Ryan’s original role) and Logue playing a bit of a combination.

Doubt I pull the trigger, but I could see him dropping to an 85-90 average.

Yeah you might have to. I reckon Gibcus will play. Hinge more of a drop risk, but even he should play.

I refuse to take Skinner early. McKenzie is a test and he's clearly ahead of Skinner. Clurey just 2-4 weeks away. Skinner might not even get any price rises.
On last weeks form I reckon the tigers would have subbed Gibcus out late in the game if Prestia had not done a Prestia.
He was cramping hard and really struggling late in the game.
Massive sub risk now I think.

Yep. It would suck to have to do it.
I suggest if Hinge is dropped and others have to trade him it is worse.
At least I have 50k spent elsewhere. My dud pick cost 123k.
Hinge won't get dropped. He'll be given a run of games to prove himself or not

On last weeks form I reckon the tigers would have subbed Gibcus out late in the game if Prestia had not done a Prestia.
He was cramping hard and really struggling late in the game.
Massive sub risk now I think.
Making him a sub doesn't make any sense to me. They want him to develop, and fast. He'll be playing AFL or VFL imo. Not uncommon for first year players to cramp in their early games. I thought he played quiet well.