List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread II

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

I rate Emma Quayle very highly. I think their drafting has been good. Always going to miss some.
I’ve never been a huge fan of Marshall but he always for some reason was a favourite of Hinkleys. He definitely had a decent year this season though. I always thought he lacked a presence but perhaps now coming into his prime, 25 in 2023 he will start to impose himself. How do we see our round 1 forward line up if Marshall gets to Arden st?
His 45 goals paint a slightly misleading picture: 9 came in two games vs Adel; 5 vs WC; 4 vs GC; 3 vs North. Only real haul against a top side was 4 vs Syd. Having said that, think he’d be useful ….

Marshall is 6-12. Add 8 and future first and it's about 3800 points.

3800 points is what Adelaide offered us for 1 last year. Rawling set this as the benchmark day 1 of trade week.

Marshall + 8 + F1 is fair.

Haven’t we agreed fair is not what we are after?

I want to set up a bidding war between Port and Crows next year.
We haven't done much good trading for a long time, we did luck out with Log this year though IMO, got a good deal, but historically we have sucked at trading.
Now we have currency and i don't want us to let it go for cheap.
Players like Marshall and mid first rounders are not what we need, we need high end talent. unfortunately JHF is that talent but he is being a little baby.
I reckon a 24 year old kpf who kicked 45 goals last year is proven high end talent.
A draft pick will never give us that next year.
I dont rate the draft like most do in here. We need men not boys. I'm sick of losing every week. If we could get a sure thing like butters or Marshall we should 100% take it. We need to build momentum next year and move up the ladder a bit so good players want to join us next year.
A player who wont be ready for 12-24months wont help with that.
Ofc your entitled to your opinion though mate. Would be a shit forum if it was just me talking all the time.

Yep, he'll be starting HFF and rotating through the midfield.
I think that Clarko rates him, so we'll see.
Absolutely. And he's very versatile too. Can play forward, wing, midfield and down back too.

FWIW, people wanting to overpay for Clark.

The Saints nuffs are doing best 22 in their trade thread, and he doesn’t feature in multiple of the bet 22s, & in the remaining he’s on the bench. A early pick of a fringe/unknown from that basketcase? Goodness me.

Never have I been happier that Noble does no longer have the keys to our club.

The worst outcome from the jhf trade for us is
Pick 8 we pick the next Mason wood
F1st we pick another fail.
Sinn/Bergman and they never live up to expectations.
Effectively we end up with nothing.
Getting someone who is playing good footy already should be the goal. Not 3 speculative picks.

FWIW, people wanting to overpay for Clark.

The Saints nuffs are doing best 22 in their trade thread, and he doesn’t feature in multiple of the bet 22s, & in the remaining he’s on the bench. A early pick of a fringe/unknown from that basketcase? Goodness me.

Never have I been happier that Noble does no longer have the keys to our club.
No one’s saying an early pick

Old mate with the intel says a pick around 18 for hunter which is essentially a future second for us

Maybe sweeten it with another pick swap

His 45 goals paint a slightly misleading picture: 9 came in two games vs Adel; 5 vs WC; 4 vs GC; 3 vs North. Only real haul against a top side was 4 vs Syd. Having said that, think he’d be useful ….

All goal kickers who kick a large number of goals have days out against shit opposition, Franklin kicked 69 goals in 2012, 13 came from a haplass North in Tasmania. The good ones just don't have too many donuts against the better teams, they can produce something.

When Cameron beat Brown for the Coleman in 2019, he bagged 9 goals against GC who gave up late in the season, who you play, where you play and when you play can have a big impact. Anyone who plays predominantly at the docklands doesn't have to worry about the wind, or the sun/rain (usually). It isn't a level playing field.

Old mate with the intel says a pick around 18 for hunter which is essentially a future second for us

I want to believe but Just so jaded by injury prone players.

Is there anyone in the draft at 18?

A first round pick for someone who isn't best 18 and isn't 20 or under is an early pick.

The worst outcome from the jhf trade for us is
Pick 8 we pick the next Mason wood
F1st we pick another fail.
Sinn/Bergman and they never live up to expectations.
Effectively we end up with nothing.
Getting someone who is playing good footy already should be the goal. Not 3 speculative picks.
That’s a rather bizarre way to look at it.

Marshall's second half of last year was very good. Kicked 25 goals in last 10 games. 7 of them against finals teams or contenders. Averaged 6 marks. Kicked multiples against Geelong x2, Richmond, Sydney, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Bulldogs last year as well as lots against lower teams.

That was his best year, coming into prime. Pick 8, F1 & Marshall worth thinking about. Pick 2 & Marshall a no-brainer IMO.

we get Marshall and say we can pass on Cadman

Do we look to play off WC with GWS! say we are trading so thet give us 2 and 20 or 26 to jump to 1

Why would we downgrade 1 to 3 to end up with pick 20 or 26?

I reckon a 24 year old kpf who kicked 45 goals last year is proven high end talent.
A draft pick will never give us that next year.
I dont rate the draft like most do in here. We need men not boys. I'm sick of losing every week. If we could get a sure thing like butters or Marshall we should 100% take it. We need to build momentum next year and move up the ladder a bit so good players want to join us next year.
A player who wont be ready for 12-24months wont help with that.
Ofc your entitled to your opinion though mate. Would be a s**t forum if it was just me talking all the time.
100%, but Marshall had his only decent year last year in a Port side that was substantially better than ours.
You send Larkey into that side he goes for 65+, debatable of course.

We have a generation talent up for trade, we need to get something better than an above average forward who isn't taking a mark inside 50 unless it's on a lead.
We can't be replacing top end talent with decent footballers, we have enough of those, we need the Petraccas and the Olivers to make our side better. that's top 5 range.