List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread II

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

These people have to justify there existence so they are just hypothosising , most of it is to fill air time and rubbish. And let’s be honest they are as dumb as dog shit some of them. I am sure many of us could get in front of the mic show our biases and piss people off too as well as talking lots of shit like we do on here.

That’s actually not that bad (compared to other mega trade ideas). Don’t think Duursma would come to us though, used to date Curtis Taylor’s sister and she now dates Charlie Comben, doubt you’d wanna play footy with your ex-gf’s brother and new bf.
tenor.gif

Twomey says in one sentence we should be happy with pick 2 (which will become pick 3) for JHF as it is only one spot off where he was drafted.

Next sentence he says we could trade pick 1 to pick 3, but we would want another first rounder back. Get real Cal!
He should stick to watching boys play U19's play.

I haven’t looked at all the trade scenarios too closely , but WCE for a pick 2 I would want a top 10 pick and a very good player . We want a top 5 plus another 1st rd pick preferably top 10 or a very good player , can’t see this happening unless Port destabilise their playing list , good luck.

Would like us to be the team that starts to clean up this bully trade system mess.

Let's come out in the media swinging.

1. We plan to hold JHF and are in talks with both player and management about what that looks like for 2023.

2. We will be using pick 1 to bid on Ashcroft.

3. We will take either Dunkley or Jackson if available with PSD 1 if available.

4. We shall continue talks with GC about Bowes accepting a lower pick than 7.

5. Any further discussions with PA include 8, PAF1, Marshall/Sinn/Bergman else see point 1!

Walking away with Logue alone from this trade period , and using our PPs effectively is already a win.

I made the mistake of assuming some of these "other picks" (which Port don't actually have, 33 isn't getting a heap done!) would be coming our way in his scenario!

Pick 2 is apparently close enough to 1 and fair value?

Firstly it isn't close enough.

Secondly, close enough to market value doesn't get the deal done.

How many times do they need to be told, he is contracted and we don't HAVE to trade and certainly not for "close enough".

I think Clarko, said he wanted to add 3-4 mature players.
We got 2, who is no.3? A mature tall forward is a need (even if it is just depth) but can't think of any options?

Dwayne on SEN said that Geelong would split his contact over 4 years x 400k.

Why on earth would Bowes do that, he's effectively working 2 years for free?

What am i missing here? Bowes is going to give up 2 years for nothing just to play in the Geelong VFL LOL
But isn't that a new contract..... is this even allowed ?

Personally i think our trading with Port has been average over the years.
Gave them Motlop, Pickett on the cheap.
They didn't want to trade Jacobs to us, who unfortunately didn't get to play out his career.
The Pittard and Polec trade looks shit now in hindsight.

Have we ever had any good trades with those flogs?

3 first rounders for the sook or GTFO.

But isn't that a new contract..... is this even allowed ?

They are morons, for the TPP it is the greater of the older/existing contract and the new one. 850k has to come out of Geelong's TPP for 2023 and 2024 regardless how much they pay him.

Bowles'd be crazy not to give up shitloads of money for a sip of that sweet, sweet culture they got brewing down there at Kardinya....

Twomey "Jack you must've been hellbent on being part of the Geelong culture to give up that money?

Bowes "No mate (grins) I'm actually making more"

<Agent madly makes "cut" gesture>

Bowes (confused) "Um... I'm not making more? What do you mean?" (looks up annoyingly at agent)

<Agent quickly scribbles something on paper in background and holds it up>

Bowes (squinting to read) "...say something about wanting to be part of the Chris Scott dash premiership sys-tem down at the cattery e-t-cee.. what..?"

<Agent gets up and storms out>

Dwayne on SEN said that Geelong would split his contact over 4 years x 400k.

Why on earth would Bowes do that, he's effectively working 2 years for free?

What am i missing here? Bowes is going to give up 2 years for nothing just to play in the Geelong VFL LOL
According to Ralph on Monday night on Fox.

Dangerfield and Ablett really want him at Geelong .

And then gushingly he says something like, ‘How can he resist that ‘ 🤮