Game Day 2022 Trade Period Match Thread

Have you installed a Rheem or felt the loving embrace of Continental Tyres safely guide your trip?

• Having a shower in my Rheem right now

Votes: 22 18.0%
  • No, what a stupid poll

Votes: 13 10.7%
  • YOU DONT KNOW ME

Votes: 22 18.0%
  • Luke Jackson

Votes: 65 53.3%

If we had a pick around 24 - AllAn (don’t think he lasts) or another WA boy rated around here, maybe Hugh Davies?
Reckon Allan goes around 16- 25.
Unfortunately right in the Eagles pick zone
You wouldn't need 24 for Davies.

Assuming Allen is gone, there's a bit to like around there for us. Clarke, Jones, Hotton, Binns etc

Unsure how exactly, but I’d expect Meek to Hawks, Sharp to Freo and a shuffling of picks between the 3 teams.

The main piece will be Hawks F2 which will end up at GC. Possibly a little upgrade in first round of Hawks pick 6 to 5. GC will then have 6 and 7.

Bookmark it.

They clearly did at the beginning of this season, no Lobb changes things significantly for Meek.
We tried it maybe twice this year, just Darcy and Meek (forget a third ruck like Lobb or Jackson) and Lloyd was on 60% game time, it was clearly because we thought we had no choice. Cept it turned out so bad later in the season we left Meek on the pine even when Lobb was out (or not rucking) and played Griff as 2nd ruck.
Meek is not playing if Darcy plays whether Lobb leaves or not: end of story.

Luckily for them no one gives a s*** about Norf.
Would rather it happen to Carlton or another Victorian club. North aren't hateable in that way. A strong club without having to use pokies/gambling like any of the others in Victoria.

We tried it maybe twice this year, just Darcy and Meek (forget a third ruck like Lobb or Jackson) and Lloyd was on 60% game time, it was clearly because we thought we had no choice. Cept it turned out so bad later in the season we left Meek on the pine even when Lobb was out (or not rucking) and played Griff as 2nd ruck.
Meek is not playing if Darcy plays whether Lobb leaves or not: end of story.
Felt like JL could've used Meek during the mid season and change it up. Even in the finals, felt Meek in would've allowed unpredictability v Collingwood. Stubborn and narrow minded. Darcy was shot most games.
Meek has significantly improved this season and will be missed.

If Meek goes, Lobb has to stay. Both goes and suddenly it's just Jackson, Darcy and nothing else. That's a F on Trade week. Failure. Great, sure got Jackson but its not going to go down well with fans given 3 B22 players will have left and 2 borderline also want gametime elsewhere. 5 players leaving in a trade period isn't a good look.

This is obviously Sharp at his best, but I do like the way he worked back deep in defence & showed great composure with ball in hand. I doubted he could play the Acres role, but that game was impressive, particularly given his age.

Brodie was backed in, given a role & excelled. I can see the same result with Sharp if we get him.

Bringing in Jackson is a bold move - bang on for talent & age range. The penalty is restricted access to young talent, we've invested heavily which buffers this.

This is why I'd rather keep Meek out of the two - especially if we can get pick 21 for Lobb.

Pick 21 just sneaks us into decent pick territory and add Sharp as a 21 year old ..pretty decent trade period.

Unsure how exactly, but I’d expect Meek to Hawks, Sharp to Freo and a shuffling of picks between the 3 teams.

The main piece will be Hawks F2 which will end up at GC. Possibly a little upgrade in first round of Hawks pick 6 to 5. GC will then have 6 and 7.

Bookmark it.
I agree that sounds right. I think Sharp has some similarities with Will Brodie when he was at Gold Coast in that he seems to have not been given an extended run at AFL when on the Gold Coast list but he seems to play really well at VFL level. I think he'll be an absolute gun if given a chance.

This is obviously Sharp at his best, but I do like the way he worked back deep in defence & showed great composure with ball in hand. I doubted he could play the Acres role, but that game was impressive, particularly given his age.

Brodie was backed in, given a role & excelled. I can see the same result with Sharp if we get him.

I didn't particularly like his effort 7 seconds into that clip. Sharp looks like a good kick in those highlights but very outside. Don't we already have someone like this on our list? Drafted in the same year at pick 9.

We've invested heavily in Liam and think he needs a proper opportunity on the wing. I'm happy with Sharp at the right price but hesitant if it involves a second rounder (unless we get something worthwhile back).

I didn't particularly like his effort 7 seconds into that clip. Sharp looks like a good kick in those highlights but very outside. Don't we already have someone like this on our list? Drafted in the same year at pick 9.

We've invested heavily in Liam and think he needs a proper opportunity on the wing. I'm happy with Sharp at the right price but hesitant if it involves a second rounder (unless we get something worthwhile back).
Yes I agree on that play, it didn’t look great, but he hasn’t had a proper run at it & been able work on those poorer traits at this level. Acres had some shocking moments early on here, but was given a role that suited & those traits largely disappeared.

Sharp has already shown more than Henry at both levels & we all know that Henry was not a true top 10 pick, he never was. If Sharp comes & Henry develops, then great as NOD looks like he could become part of the mid rotation at some stage. Unfortunately I’m not sure Henry has the work ethic to play wing at AFL level.

Personally I want Chapman trained up for the vacant wing spot over summer & I’d be happy with a Nod, Chapman & Sharp wing rotation as each of those players are flexible to play elsewhere if required during a game. Aish too is can play there & it would finally give us some options in that position.

They can and I said this ages ago but no one seemed to agree.
Nah, I can see it too. Right now he's athletically gifted enough to run as a mid type player, full stop. In roles not in the ruck, or as a primary fwd. He really could be another Blicavs (spelling?) and be the in-case-of-injury ruck.
The only question I have is how long he can do that before age/wear take away that level of athleticism.

On the flipside, Jackson's a gamble too, just like Hogan was, and McDardy was. I haven't seen enough to believe he'll be a certain champion. Hope he is though. Will be great to watch.

On Pixel 4a using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hogan and Dardy had significant off field issues though and went off the rails around their mates once they moved home. Haven't heard any reports of Jackson having those issues.

Personally I want Chapman trained up for the vacant wing spot over summer & I’d be happy with a Nod, Chapman & Sharp wing rotation as each of those players are flexible to play elsewhere if required during a game. Aish too is can play there & it would finally give us some options in that position.

Pearce and Hamling have missed a lot of footy the last few years. If they're both out we need Cox at FB and Chapman at CHB?

If the 5-on-the-bench thing is real, then absolutely I think we keep both Lobb and Meek, simply because we'll really need them both, even with Jackson on the list.

Having five on the bench (if true) I think would immediately lead to lots more swapping of players between different positions during a game - not just for us, and not just in the ruck, but for all teams everywhere. We'll either be the instigator if it, or responding to other teams doing it, as it's the ideal way to both create mismatches for size and / or speed, to keep your damaging players fresh, to blood /expose youth without losing experience, and to deliver playing time to fringe players who deserve it, but just aren't getting a shot, and will start to look elsewhere for opportunities shortly (not just us with that problem).

Lobb is 30 and is gone after next year, but we don't have two 30-goal kpf players to replace him with yet (doubt we'll get a full season out of Tabs again next year I'm sorry to say...). Amiss and Treacy are still too far away to replace either Lobb or Tabs as a main threat. Yes Jackson could replace Lobb, but we'll still need him elsewhere as well.

We'll often need another big body in at the clearances next year, as well as in defense. Our opponents targeted Brodie as our only big-bodied midfield extractor in our last few games, and our clearances really suffered as a result. We've also lost Mundy and Acres in the midfield - both of whom had decent size, and Logue in Defense. Fyfe wasn't really fit or up to speed this year and looked to have lost a yard of pace. Unless his shoulder repair included installing a time machine, we should expect at least some of the same thing next year. Serong and Andy are both good but small-ish, and struggled to constantly contain the bigger stronger midfielders like Cripps, Curnow etc. A little extra help here would be welcome. Ras and Johnson are promising but green, and don't have AFL bodies yet - neither are ready to fill the void when Brodie is tagged out of it, or goes down with injury. If it's not Jackson in there it may be Banfield, but good as he is, he lacks that tiny bit of polish in the guts.

Alternating two rucks in Darce and Meek gives both of them game-time, reduces playing loads and the risk of soft tissue injuries, and gives them both time to rest. The whole 'ruck resting forward' thing doesn't really stand up anymore IMO - multiple high-speed full field transitions seem to be the current trend, helping out on defensive transitions are expected, and English et. Al. all ran Darce ragged at times last year. I'd much rather alternate Darce and Meek to keep them both fresh, while keeping Lobb forward and Jackson somewhere in the middle - it maintains our ruck dominance throughout the game, without robbing us of our best key forward.

I would only play Jackson as a ruckman sparingly - more as a shock tactic or a change-up/pinch hitting ruck than anything else, and as a dedicated swingman for the rest of the time, playing him anywhere / everywhere during the match / season (or close to it)... to completely f**k with the opposition's match-ups as much as anything.

Even if you don't play Jackson in the guts or up forward, having him roam across half back as an intercept mark might allow us to swing Chappie onto a wing and Young in the midfield, or vice versa... Both have enormous potential playing through there, but they're not being trialled there now, as there's no versatile coverage for either down back... They are staying there through list inflexibility as much as their talent as defenders. Keeping Jackson solely up forward, or as a second ruck, means that these two might get fewer chances to shift around... If we lose Lobb or Meek then that's what Jackson will be forced to do, and there goes his number one strength - being able to play basically any position, and create massive match-up headaches everywhere he goes over an entire match.

Aishe is a great swingman who wants for nothing, except perhaps height. Versatile as he is though, there's still some roles he can't play through sheer physical height or strength mismatches. Jackson being there too eliminates that problem... So even if some forward is too quick or slippery for Jackson, Aishe can cover them, and once again you free up one of our young talented half-backs to go elsewhere and do some real damage.

I could go on and on, but you get the idea... Jackson really is a genuine unicorn who can drive opposing coaches crazy with his abilities. The second you permanently lose either Lobb or Meek however, then he will be required to fill only that role, which renders his huge price tag and reputation instantly redundant. He'll be forced into repeatedly filling one or two tall KP roles through a list shortage, rather than filling any role on the fly during a game.

Personally I'd rather have Darce and Meek both playing if it means we can keep a tall marking option in Lobby up forward at all times, while also sending Jackson off to free up someone else to go and really twist the knife somewhere more useful. 😎