List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

Wow reading the North board, one post believes that by taking Hill and his contract they are doing us a favour and thus by taking Clark a second rounder will do it. Football fans are so deluded.

To be fair that pretty much sounds like us every year.

Cerra had a bit more hype and proven form. Clark could be anything.....which is why you keep him and hope, not sell him off to start the same process over. We don't recruit well so the chances are that it's just killing time and being active for the sake of it.
More media hype I agree.

But go look at the north board. Plenty of posters saying he is a gun.

So clearly there is enough hype and proven ability without having hit potential for a top 10 pick

He had talent, he was just a s**t person. On pure footy he looked like he might have some special traits.

Their list looks full of youth and challenging for a flag. I'm not sure what you're looking at.
Maybe what he just posted and the five freebies they get when the AFL is performing fellatio on them every year.

More media hype I agree.

But go look at the north board. Plenty of posters saying he is a gun.

So clearly there is enough hype and proven ability without having hit potential for a top 10 pick

Maybe they're seeing something we can't. Can we give Ratts 6 months off and let someone else see what they can do with the list before breaking anything?

He had talent, he was just a s**t person. On pure footy he looked like he might have some special traits.

Their list looks full of youth and challenging for a flag. I'm not sure what you're looking at.
If he was then why didn't their "gun" recruiters pick it up?

Call me weird but I can't shake the feeling that if it was us, you'd be be saying its an example of how s*** our recruiters are in that not only did we waste Pick 26 on Gould, we then didn't interview Taylor enough and wasted another pick!!!

Then no doubt you'd say it was just plain luck that we picked Warner.

PS - On the trade front I hear that either Dylan Stephens or Caleb Serong might be gettable - which one do you reckon we should chase?

Call me weird but I can't shake the feeling that if it was us, you'd be be saying its an example of how s*** our recruiters are in that not only did we waste Pick 26 on Gould, we then didn't interview Taylor enough and wasted another pick!!!

PS - On the trade front I hear that either Dylan Stephens or Caleb Serong might be gettable - which one do you reckon we should chase?

Probably wouldn't think about it with a late pick like Robbie Young or Matty Parker or any other player that had a crack and didn't make it. The proof of their rebuild is in the pudding, they aren't going to get every pick right and don't but they keep bring in talent into their system which develops well and allows kids to take roles without too much pressure.

They get legs up and special treatment but they also create a lot of their own luck. I have finally come to terms with Geelong just being a very well run club recently too. They might not win flags heaps but they are elite at defying the gravity of the equalised system and are always in the hunt.

That isn't luck, that is just really really good management. Both clubs have had horrible periods in the last 30 years but in their recent history they have outperformed most other clubs. Not just us.

By the way look at Dylan Stephens VFL stats, he's a very good player who has only been in the system for a short time and can't break into their side. I'd give them Ryan Byrnes, Allison and Highmore for him in a second.

There's a reason Clarko is keen to get Hunter Clark

Cerra had a bit more hype and proven form. Clark could be anything.....which is why you keep him and hope, not sell him off to start the same process over. We don't recruit well so the chances are that it's just killing time and being active for the sake of it.
Cerra was backed to play in the midfield, that's the big difference.

Clark's games in the midfield early in his career were better than anything Cerra produced.

The question for me is what has Clark done to have such praise. He does a sidestep here and there to find space but other then that, a bit overrated. His kicking, his claimed weapon has been shocking this year. Then we get into his fitness base. He can't run a game out in the guts, it's clear as day. From what we saw early on, he looked like the middle was his for the taking but he hasn't come on. Windhagers passed him in year one.
So that’s Cal Twomey/Riley Beveridge/Jason Gabelich and Daniel Cherny all saying Hunter Clark is gettable
There’s a stink on here about what players we may or may not trade. Ultimately in the end you have to crack eggs to make omelettes.

We all know our list is compromised, especially our B Grade midfield group. If we have to entertain a calculated risk to trade or draft to upgrade our list so be it. Retooling via the draft just doesn’t work anymore, due to FA, NGA etc., and especially as we are not a VIC powerhouse club.

If another club comes knocking for Clark or any other certain player with a top 10 draft pick or picks or a player, so be it. Lets do it.

NBA, MLB and NFL are all good working examples of this. We can’t sit back and be vanilla expect different.

Funny that.

The North board says exactly the same thing about the saints board

Gotta love trade time.

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk
You do this every year, anyone and everyone is coming to norf. I think you just pump this shit out to get some noise happening and remain relevant. It’s fair enough but pretty boring leaking rubbish to the crowd of bottom feeders. You should get a decent bounce, you have quite a bit of talent imo.

Funny that.

Gotta love trade time.

Funny that, because you’re the lot apparently chasing 3 of our players.

Two are contracted just btw and we are quite happy to keep them because we are not under salary cap pressure, so ball is firmly in our court.

If North are genuinely going after Clark you'd hope we do a Freo and play hard ball as they did with Hill and Weller.

Not sure how they get it done though. They won't split pick 1 and they have nothing after that.

Even if they get 19 as a PP it's not going to be enough.
top 10 pick.

Equivalent of what we used on him.

Funny that.

Gotta love trade time.

You guys have half a dozen posters creaming themselves over Landing Clark and then on the same hand think it’s unreasonable we would want a top 10 pick for a talent who has been so unlucky with collision injuries in the last 2 seasons.