Game Day 2023 AFL DRAFT

TBF .. there were probably more different scenario's about where he'd finish up than any other player in the top end of the draft

North & Clarkson putting time into him. We have no real idea on conversations other clubs like the Hawthorn, Melbounre or WB had with him. Or GWS for that matter.

There was still the possibility being floated in the media up until the draft that we may do a trade with WC for the pick, if we traded up to get the GWS pick

And I got the impression from the Essendon draft clip Geelong were interested and probably would've taken him if he was still there. Add to that Dodoro seemed to think (or hope) we were going to take 1 of Leake or O'Sullivan. Though again, I haven't heard or read how much interest Geelong had anywhere at all really

The surprise may have been genuine. Doesn't mean he's unhappy
You are describing the theatre the AFL and media build up to get people to watch and absorb the content.

The reality is the actual draft is ran by a bunch of recruiters who spend years planning for each draft. By the time the first night comes it is sorted. First round at least.

Compare the activity in the rooms the first night compared to the second night. The second night latter rounds much more actual decions made on the fly.

The GWS trade was most likely negotiated well before the night.

Yes Essendon/Geelong would have taken him. And we needed that trade. But among all the recruiting guys they knew it was done before the telecast.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

When you think that we were almost top 8 and Curtin was considered top 3, the Venn diagram of those two things is basically two separate circles.

We slid, he slid, an overlap appears and we grab it in the same way that got us Dawson and Rankine.

Luck is when preparation meets opportunity

You are describing the theatre the AFL and media build up to get people to watch and absorb the content.

The reality is the actual draft is ran by a bunch of recruiters who spend years planning for each draft. By the time the first night comes it is sorted. First round at least.

Compare the activity in the rooms the first night compared to the second night. The second night latter rounds much more actual decions made on the fly.

Yes Essendon/Geelong would have taken him. And we needed that trade. But among all the recruiting guys they knew it was done before the telecast.

Discussed, but not decided. It only started for real when Hamish got the unexpected phone call, presumably from GWS.

Well we now know that Essendon had no idea who we were going to take for a start. And us taking Curtin basically changed the draft order and picks of multiple clubs after us

So sure, what you've described may well be right to some extent. But it is in no way set in concrete

And it doesn't take away that he probably really didn't know where he was going. Hence, surprise

It was certainly put to them before the night. But the idea that it was a done deal before is fanciful. There was always the possibility that another club would blink and offer more. And then they could even come back to us and ask us to up our offer too.

Clubs have a pretty good idea which players the other clubs want, but they're never exactly sure. GWS trading the pick to us would have been one of the more likely possibilities known to most clubs, but nobody would be betting the house on it.

Well we now know that Essendon had no idea who we were going to take for a start. And us taking Curtin basically changed the draft order and picks of multiple clubs after us

So sure, what you've described may well be right to some extent. But it is in no way set in concrete

And it doesn't take away that he probably really didn't know where he was going. Hence, surprise
That Essendon didn't know says everything about them.

All the "info" we have is through the AFL accredited media.

Part of the theatre. The drama of us getting pick 8 hinged on one phone call on the night....lol.

I am not saying the draft is rigged. Just that for the first round the deals are done and draftees know where they are going before the telecast.

Way too much being read into the reaction of an 18 year old kid.

The second night different story and you can see the guys actually working.

When you think that we were almost top 8 and Curtin was considered top 3, the Venn diagram of those two things is basically two separate circles.

We slid, he slid, an overlap appears and we grab it in the same way that got us Dawson and Rankine.

That would make a good euphemism :grinning:

It was certainly put to them before the night. But the idea that it was a done deal before is fanciful. There was always the possibility that another club would blink and offer more. And then they could even come back to us and ask us to up our offer too.

Clubs have a pretty good idea which players the other clubs want, but they're never exactly sure. GWS trading the pick to us would have been one of the more likely possibilities known to most clubs, but nobody would be betting the house on it.
I agree this is the process. Just think it happens in the lead up.

The first round being such a polished TV product. And the Phantom drafters getting so much right.

Second night not so much.

Why dont you just supply us ALL with the name of this journalist of yours?.. why the privacy and secrecy?

not sure why a journalist would want to remain anonymous in this situation.

a journo interviewed a family who, if this is true, gave him their thoughts.. none of the info gleaned is anything controversial, unexpected or damaging to anyones reputation… journo then starts sharing this info with others..

So, where’s the need for suppressed names and confidentiality now you’ve decided to share it further?..

did the family somehow not know they were talking to a journalist?.. did your mate the journalist trick them into this interview?

is this journalist actually not a journalist but someone who wants to be one?..

I messaged you with the name of the journo. What more do you want?

I'm not quite sure where there is such a shitfight over this in here. Hasn't this been addressed directly in articles about us and Curtin?

We scouted him from a long way out, including meeting with him multiple times at the start of the year. But we realised pretty early on that he was going to be a super high pick this year, and we were expecting to push for finals. Especially after a strong start to the year, we resigned ourselves to not having access to him and stopped actively pursuing him.

Then, right near the draft it became clear he could be a slider just due to the needs of the teams in front of us, so we quickly placed some calls to ask how he would go if he came to us.

It's not that we ignored him all year, but we expected he would be out of our reach.

Curtin himself wouldn't have known where he was going, because it hinged on GWS accepting the trade. That always depended on which club was putting forward the best offer. WCE were reportedly keen, they could have feasibly put together a strong enough offer to get the pick. So could any other club. In the end it was us. He would have known we were in the mix, and of course once the trade went through he would have been 99% sure. But before that he would've known there were still multiple clubs in the mix.
Yes I like this post and agree with all parts of it.

I mean I didnt even know we were a even remote chance till that Ronald McDonald poster started speculating a pick swap with GWS was actually a realistic viable option only a week or two before the draft.

Kamala Harris Vp GIF by GIPHY News

The harder you prepare, the luckier you get

Yes I like this post and agree with all parts of it.

I mean I didnt even know we were a even remote chance till that Ronald McDonald poster started speculating a pick swap with GWS was actually a realistic viable option only a week or two before the draft.
The trade was probably done at that point.

But embargoed for draft night theatre.

First top ten draft pick traded draft night?

Pick swaps are open from trading period till the end of the draft? How come they are all "done " draft night.

Unless I missed them none are announced between end of trade period and draft night.

So why am I copping s**t for the fact a journo told me this. So confused as to why people get their backs up about such a trivial thing. Simply thought I’d share it and check out the backlash.
What's the issue with scrutiny? If you post something, people will probably fact check it. Just blindly accepting what someone says these days on the internet is understandably a bad idea.

It's probably the way you phrased it as well. Saying "the AFC showed very little interest" is directly contradicted by what our recruiters have said. You might have meant "we didn't speak to him until right before draft night" but that's not how what you said could be interpreted

I still cant believe Norf didn't take Curtin at 3 when they are desperately crying out for KPP's and lost Mackay.....

All these high end mids they have drafted, one or two will eventually not get game time and be seeking a trade in 2/3 years I'm certain....
Their spine is going to be crap.
And even if they draft one next year it will take 5 years for them to develop.

The trade was probably done at that point.

But embargoed for draft night theatre.

First top ten draft pick traded draft night?

Pick swaps are open from trading period till the end of the draft? How come they are all "done " draft night.

Unless I missed them none are announced between end of trade period and draft night.

I'd guess that if Curtin wasn't going to be available at GWS pick, we weren't going to trade up

Sure, I get that the pick swap with GWS was largely agreed on prior to the draft, but to say that all the clubs knew in advance of the draft exactly how it was going to play out is a bit of a stretch

I agree this is the process. Just think it happens in the lead up.

The first round being such a polished TV product. And the Phantom drafters getting so much right.

Second night not so much.

No. The Phantom drafter Twomey was uncertain this year, recognising that Curtin might slide, but predicting Crows to hold their 3 picks. The move was kick-restarted in the last days by the phone call to Hamish. However, it was contingent on what the other clubs did. The only interesting point left is whether GWS had told the Crows beforehand that our offer was preferred to WC's.

I'd guess that if Curtin wasn't going to be available at GWS pick, we weren't going to trade up

Sure, I get that the pick swap with GWS was largely agreed on prior to the draft, but to say that all the clubs knew in advance of the draft exactly how it was going to play out is a bit of a stretch
Fox Footy, Draft broadcaster, pretty good guess here.

Even got pick 8 Daniel Curtain right. However, put the obvious WCE trade with GWS and not us. No doubt our trade was embargoed.

Not quite 100 percent. Top ten is though.

Pretty good guess hey.

No. The Phantom drafter Twomey was uncertain this year, recognising that Curtin might slide, but predicting Crows to hold their 3 picks. The move was kick-restarted in the last days by the phone call to Hamish. However, it was contingent on what the other clubs did. The only interesting point left is whether GWS had told the Crows beforehand that our offer was preferred to WC's.
The draft broadcaster got the first round draft order spot on.

Pretty good guess hey.

The telecast is just theatre. It is sorted beforehand.

Fox Footy, Draft broadcaster, pretty good guess here.

Even got pick 8 Daniel Curtain right. However, put the obvious WCE trade with GWS and not us. No doubt our trade was embargoed.

Not quite 100 percent. Top ten is though.

Pretty good guess hey.

Which takes us back to original conversation.

Curtin was surprised

Which takes us back to original conversation.

Curtin was surprised
Nope, I reckon the trade was embargoed. Fox footy just uses the WCE as the obvious trade in the story.

Also, can't get everything right. Make it too obvious.

90 percent strike right, 10 percent failure on the first round is enough to make people think the telecast was "live".

Even ignoring the pick 8 prediction. FoxFooty got way too much right in their guess to not think the telecast is staged and the actual draft is sorted.

Game Day 2023 AFL DRAFT