Half-forwards:Jack MartinCharlie CurnowSam Docherty
Forwards:Matthew OwiesHarry McKayTom De Koning
Followers:Marc PittonetAdam CerraEd Curnow
Interchange:Matthew CottrellMatthew KennedyJesse Motlop
Lewis Young
Emergencies:Lachie CowanPaddy DowLachie Fogarty
Jack Silvagni

Dows career has had an interesting symmetry. Gifted games he didn't deserve under Bolton, refused games under Voss he did deserve. Keen to see how he goes in a different system.
Yes thats true....some times things take time
I don't think his progress has been well managed at any stage.....thats why fans get disappointed
Dow not excellent however could prove serviceable elsewhere...still very much on fringe

Cripps and Walsh were third and fourth highest possession winners for us with 23 and 22. In that context, his numbers look good, especially allowing for first senior game in ~ 12 months.

Our centre square play improved when he came on too.

The more alarming aspect from my point of view, is that it was an opportunity for us to expose a Bombers weakness. The Kangas nearly got up on the back of centre square clearances won by energetic (admittedly, very impressive) kids.

Again, no Dow fanboy but it feels people are treating him harshly to either defend the Club or to counter all the Dow talk.

Personally, there are a number of players I’d have given him the chance ahead of.
Everyone was saying how poor those two were, especially Walsh. I want Dow to play this week and am pissed that Curnow is in over him but I think people are equally talking up a completely insignificant game from Dow to have a shot at the club. It was as an insignificant game as I could imagine.

Talking about form as the key criteria for selection mate, same as Binns.
Irrelevant comments not sure the relevance of Nick Daicos one of the elite players of the competition.

It is very clear the MC have their favs, Motlop underperforming each game, Jack Martin needs a block of games before senior footy, straight back in, Ed Curnow continues to play, look at the Port Adelaide mid field structure two big bodies & surrounded by quickness, we just don't get it unfortunately.

Re: Motlop, luckily he’s playing in a position where we’re seriously lacking (+ C.Durd’s is also injured + limited impact too) but he should be shown the door soon off his poor form IF we have some fit & able replacements (mind you I reckon Cotters would offer more than Mots in the same role, no one is actually crumbing).
A poor selection from the draft IMO but “we like what Jesse brings” and contracted for another 2yrs. Hope there’s some improvement ahead at league level but just ain’t seeing it.

Fisher being omitted twice is at least good for what he’s been offering up.

Everyone was saying how poor those two were, especially Walsh. I want Dow to play this week and am pissed that Curnow is in over him but I think people are equally talking up a completely insignificant game from Dow to have a shot at the club. It was as an insignificant game as I could imagine.

That’s probably the main issue in the debate.

It’s common for people to list the midfielders who are ‘ahead’ of Dow to explain why he’s never considered. Reality is, bar Cerra, they’ve all been turd so the argument falls over.

If we extrapolate, Dow would likely have ended with the most i50s for the match, for Carlton. He got first possession at his first centre square contest, involved in the chain in the second, free for the handball from Cerra in another, which would have been another i50 (Cerra made a bad decision not giving it to him). He didn’t do a lot wrong.

Dow might come in and be complete turd as well, but it seems the bar is set higher for him than others and to me, that’s the issue.

Just quietly, I'd be happy to give Cripps some time off to knit or something if only to see what Dow and Kennedy could do alternating in Cripps' role.

would actually be inclined to play Cripps 65/35 fwd mid.

but I agree that on the face of it Dow has earnt an extended crack ( say games against *, Suns and Hawthorn) in his primary position as at least a rotation.

I’m sorry, but you need to make the hard call here and contact child services, classify your child as an unfit parent and move to get custody of your grandson.
I’ve contacted legal aid about this JJ and they said it was line-ball…. there might be a chance I could be classified as an unfit grandparent if I force him to follow Carlton. :D

Pittonet out and JSOS in.

Pittonet was unable to complete a final fitness test at training this morning.

As a result Jack Silvagni remains in the Carlton 22 from last week.

Jaxon Binns has been added to the emergencies

I don't think it matters too much but odd we didn't just announce it an hour before

Pitto out is big, Voss needs to stop ****ing around & start Dow in the middle- we need him & Crippa in there to win clearance.
It’s also dirty namining Binns- FFS it’s his 1st game, no fan fare, just a last minute call up as an emergency.
That is piss poor, u don’t do that to a kid for his 1st game.
We are so ridiculously poor managing players & creating a team.

Pitto out is big, Voss needs to stop ******* around & start Dow in the middle- we need him & Crippa in there to win clearance.
It’s also dirty namining Binns- FFS it’s his 1st game, no fan fare, just a last minute call up as an emergency.
Binns has just been added as the fourth emergency to replace JSOS. Doesn't mean he will play

Not something you should do to a kid waiting to play his first game,in my opinion.
100%, let’s start a kids career saying “maybe your good enough to play, maybe your not”.
Don’t quite think you’re upto it but your close - it’s incredibly poor.
You name a kid in the side, pump him up, telling him that he’s ready & this is the start to a great career.
You load as much belief, support & confidence into him as possible, then let him rip.

I know, but don’t name him an emergency & * around with it.
If u name him then bring him in & make it something special for the kid.
Named as emergency is just s**t

Not something you should do to a kid waiting to play his first game,in my opinion.

Surely it's a good thing for him? He'll know he's not actually playing this week -- clubs only hold a couple of the emergencies back in case of a late out, not all four. But it's a small encouraging sign for him that he's close to selection.

Pitto out is big, Voss needs to stop ******* around & start Dow in the middle- we need him & Crippa in there to win clearance.
There's no chance we are winning this. I don't know how anyone would think we are a chance.
And now no Pitt?

I’m really pissed off at the club for killing my love of Ed.

I’ve loved him over the years but every time he gets selected again this season, it’s got me pulling my hair out.

Feels like Murphy all over again.

This time without the milestone game