Preview 2023 Rd 19 Carlton vs West Coast Saturday July 22 2:10PM @ Marvel Stadium

Team is in …

*EDIT - UPDATE:

IN: Lachie Cowan, Ed Curnow, Ollie Hollands, Josh Honey
OUT: Jordan Boyd (suspension), Adam Cerra (hamstring), Patrick Cripps (cork), Harry McKay (knee), Jack Martin (calf tightness.

Backs:Alex CincottaJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Brodie KempMitch McGovernAdam Saad
Centreline:Sam WalshOliver HollandsSam Docherty
Half-forwards:Lachie FogartyJosh HoneyJesse Motlop
Forwards:Jack SilvagniCharlie CurnowDavid Cuningham
Followers:Tom De KoningGeorge HewettBlake Acres
Interchange:Matthew CottrellLachie CowanEd Curnow
Paddy Dow
Emergencies:Jaxon BinnsZac FisherCaleb Marchbank
Lewis Young

Rest players if they are sore but not for the sake of it. Wouldn't mess with McGovern's good fortune. Last year teaches us that percentage is important. When we are flogging these teams I hope the players are remembering last year how we missed finals by just a few percent.

Think we need to keep driving our new way of playing footy and work on getting better and better with it so no mercy on West Coast.

Good skills, good leg speed, pressure and tackling needs to be the core aspect of our team. It's winning us games.

B: Kemp Weitering Cincotta
HB: Saad McGovern Newman
C: Acres Cripps Docherty
HF: Cuningham Silvagni Fogarty
F: Martin Curnow Motlop
OB: DeKoning Cerra Walsh
IC: Cowan Hewett Dow Cottrell
SUB: Durdin
EM: Owies Binns Hollands Marchbank

OUT: Boyd McKay
IN: Dow Durdin Cowan

After our main mids flogged Port, being able to chuck Dow into the middle and flog them even more was something I hope Voss took notice of. In close games when it's game on the line in the third. Being able to go to genuing burst mids who are fresh like Dow and Cuningham and rest Walsh and Co and take the game away from them will be a big deal. Rotations rotations rotations. Keep the mids fresh, high quality and the intensity up. Like these forward/mids in the team.

As for McKay going out. Rather we don't play a second rate tall. We were good with a small, fast and less predictable forward line. We could play Young and DeKoning and rotate them between forward and ruck but I liked our smaller look.

Reall like that backline. Like the mix of mids.

Players have their workrate monitored through GPS, in games and training, workloads are then increased, maintained or reduced

It's been rumoured from the start of the season that we have been way more conservative with injury/soreness management

If the club believes it needs to manages certain players, through missing weekly games, I am sure they will

Personally, I doubt many or any will fall under that banner at the moment, nor do they looked fatigued from what I see

But I am curious as to why the same players are being highlighted for a rest, and the same players are being included as ins. Perhaps purely coincidental, or not

Rest players if they are sore but not for the sake of it. Wouldn't mess with McGovern's good fortune. Last year teaches us that percentage is important. When we are flogging these teams I hope the players are remembering last year how we missed finals by just a few percent.

Think we need to keep driving our new way of playing footy and work on getting better and better with it so no mercy on West Coast.

Good skills, good leg speed, pressure and tackling needs to be the core aspect of our team. It's winning us games.

B: Kemp Weitering Cincotta
HB: Saad McGovern Newman
C: Acres Cripps Docherty
HF: Cuningham Silvagni Fogarty
F: Martin Curnow Motlop
OB: DeKoning Cerra Walsh
IC: Cowan Hewett Dow Cottrell
SUB: Durdin
EM: Owies Binns Hollands Marchbank

OUT: Boyd McKay
IN: Dow Durdin

After our main mids flogged Port, being able to chuck Dow into the middle and flog them even more was something I hope Voss took notice of. In close games when it's game on the line in the third. Being able to go to genuing burst mids who are fresh like Dow and Cuningham and rest Walsh and Co and take the game away from them will be a big deal. Rotations rotations rotations. Keep the mids fresh, high quality and the intensity up. Like these forward/mids in the team.

As for McKay going out. Rather we don't play a second rate tall. We were good with a small, fast and less predictable forward line. We could play Young and DeKoning and rotate them between forward and ruck but I liked our smaller look.

Reall like that backline. Like the mix of mids.
Not being picky but you named Cowan but didn't have him in your 'ins'.... and I'd probably look at Binns as sub, ease the boy in because we may well need him soon....

We need to rest players for the run in, especially the injury prone players.

In: Cowan, Young, Marchbank, E.Curnow, Dow, Fisher, Binns
Out: Boyd (susp.), McGovern, Saad, Docherty, Cripps, Cuningham, Martin

B: Cowan--------------------Young--------------------Newman

H: Kemp--------------------Weitering-----------------Marchbank

C: Acres---------------------Hewett--------------------Binns

H: Cottrell------------------C.Curnow-----------------Fisher

F: Fogarty-------------------Silvagni------------------Motlop

Foll: De Koning, Dow, Walsh

Bench: Cincotta, E.Curnow, Cerra, Honey

Not being picky but you named Cowan but didn't have him in your 'ins'.... and I'd probably look at Binns as sub, ease the boy in because we may well need him soon....
Good pick up! It's tempting to pick Binns as sub but I think we have a bit of a club rule not to debut players as the sub which I like.

Binns is very tempting to play but at the moment we have some players going very well in the role he would play in Docherty, Acres and Cottrell. Really like the idea of the sub as someone quick who can come in and make an impact.

I'm keen to ease Durdin straight back into the senior side. Very excited about him being in our team with our new game plan.

There are plenty of guys who could come into that team and make an impact. Durdin, Carroll, Cowan, Marchbank, Young, Hollands.

We're going to win this one, we just need to take as much out of it as we can and take that percentage boosting opportunity if we are looking at sneaking into the 8.

I'm looking forward to Binns debut but I think they are going to make him wait. Perhaps learning some other positions at VFL level such as developing his forward game is probably on the cards for him.

I'm actually a little excited about having another look at Cowan, been excellent in the VFL. Love his pace and his kicking. Fits into the modern game plan we now have really well. A lot of those players do.

Really want to see us integrate Dow into our system. Reckon he compliments Walsh as they can rotate and keep us with a fast burst mid in the middle there.

Not sure you can conclude Kennedy and McKay injuries were fatigue based
Most injuries are fatigue based in that you're a fraction slow to brace, fraction off with decision making, overexert under high fatigue too. It's generally accepted in physio depts around the league. Down to each specific incident, yeah probably can't from back here but hey it's not uncommon - footy season is a 'war of attrition' for a reason.

NO RESTING PLAYERS!!!

We are not in any position to exude complacency.

OUT - McKay (Inj.), Boyd (Susp.), Dow (Omitted - Sub if Owies unfit)

IN - Young, Cowan, Owies (Sub)

A bit of reshuffling. Need another tall somewhere up forward to continue stretching the opponent's backline.

Dow did nothing to warrant a full game. Was given extended time and nearly showed nothing for it. I want him to do well as much as anyone else. But I've learnt yesterday he just doesn't have one defensive bone in his body. No tackles and only about 7 effective disposals.

Yeah nah, no flirting with form for mine, full gas from now to round 24. No guts no glory.
Sarcastic Just Do It GIF by CBS

This could get unbelievably ugly and that's going to be fun but we still need to turn up and not do what St Kilda did to them the other week and nearly lose.

Just go hard at them with as much leg speed as we have and run rungs around them.

Probably consider Corey Durdin. Love to see him in our team now we are playing good fast free flowing footy. Think he will kill it.

Cowan big possibility.

Don't know about Owies.

Would happily go with a smaller forward line again rather than replace McKay with Young or DeKoning.
% might be the difference in making the 8. We should try to demolish them. No mercy.

If we can get it up to say 120% (from 111) then that makes it much easier to stay ahead of other sides.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

3-4 changes max and only for those who really could benefit with a rest. No need to unnecessarily flirt with form too much.

Harry out. Boyd likely suspended. Those are probably two forced changes. Cowan comes in for Boyd if he’s suspended. Young probably comes in for Harry but I think I’d prefer to give Lemmey a run in this one so he can get a taste and has a bit more confidence to attack a big preseason.

Maybe one of Martin or Cuningham could get a rest. They have shown how crucial they are for us and how much they change our forward potency. We could look to manage their workload after such extensive injury histories.

Saad looked very sore with that ankle. A few people mentioning Cerra but I didn’t see him get injured.. what happened there?
Cerra went off late with hamstring awareness/tightness.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Jim's right though.

Had we not played Kennedy last week and Harry this week, they wouldn't have been injured in either game.

Calculating Zach Galifianakis GIF by filmeditor
You laugh, but my argument was for Kennedy 3 matches ago, Boyd last week, McGovern this week. Part of the job of high performance staff and players is to do fitness testing each week to check in on flexibility, conditioning, and psychomotor function to see where things are at in terms of general fatigue.

Hell, they may even be running blood tests to check in on inflammatory markers and hormone levels.

The fact eagles have been competitive today should help our boys not be complacent.
Tigers are coasting. They put in 20 minutes in the third quarter and have been gliding away otherwise.

Neither team has cracked 50 inside 50s, contested possession count's barely moving the needle, turnovers are relatively low from both sides as well, with 80 tackles total in the match.

Bruise free footy.

I'd only drop players if they're injured or suspended, one only needs to look at Port to see how making to many changes can affect a team. If we must rest/manage some players the less the better.

I'd only drop players if they are injured or suspended, one only needs to look at Port to see how making to many changes can affect a team. If we must rest/manage some players the less the better.
Good point. Port rocked up thinking they were gunna polish us off without some of their Guns. Rest up for the Pies. They didn’t expect Carlton to Rock up and Smash’em. We can’t expect to rock up and smash anyone, either, even WC.

Most injuries are fatigue based in that you're a fraction slow to brace, fraction off with decision making, overexert under high fatigue too. It's generally accepted in physio depts around the league. Down to each specific incident, yeah probably can't from back here but hey it's not uncommon - footy season is a 'war of attrition' for a reason.
I get that I just think the 2 examples I referenced were unlucky...Kennedy had his knee caught under him from a tackle and macca flew at a ball and landed awkwardly. Certainly don't think we're in a position where we can assume Eagles are easy beats and we can rest players..particularly when finals still in the balance

You laugh, but my argument was for Kennedy 3 matches ago, Boyd last week, McGovern this week. Part of the job of high performance staff and players is to do fitness testing each week to check in on flexibility, conditioning, and psychomotor function to see where things are at in terms of general fatigue.

Hell, they may even be running blood tests to check in on inflammatory markers and hormone levels.

I don’t mind the idea of resting certain players throughout the year, but how do yourself decide who needs a rest week to week? It seems like you’re mostly guessing, which is probably why you get a heap of criticism.

Kennedy’s injury was not from fatigue or overuse. It was an unlucky tackle. That’s disingenuous.

Pretty sure I just heard in the background noise on fox that Ralph thinks harry is out for around 6 weeks?
Anyone else hear this?

Not sure wether it’s his opinion or fact tho?

Was running with a reoccurrence of the same knee injury as last season, so perhaps/assuming out for the rest of the H&A season.

He missed 3 games + a bye weekend last season & was back for a Friday night game.

I don’t mind the idea of resting certain players throughout the year, but how do yourself decide who needs a rest week to week? It seems like you’re mostly guessing, which is probably why you get a heap of criticism.

Kennedy’s injury was not from fatigue or overuse. It was an unlucky tackle. That’s disingenuous.
I've already explained the how and why of the calls I was making... players athletic performance levels dropping off.

Halfway through the first quarter Harry’s wasn’t fatigue related either, bizarre argument
Harry's been under physical stress on the field, and psychological stress with his form. Sometimes if you're bordering on exhausted, all it takes is a few repeat sprints on a day when you're otherwise a bit below average.

He was 100% off-balance when he took off, but I'm not suggesting his was anywhere near as predictable as the way some others were. We're too far away from the action to be able to spot that one. Kennedy, Boyd, Saad, and McGovern are far more obvious.

The continuous running requirements on each player has shot up with each interchange limit reduction, and we've been very slow to adapt, arguably slower to recruit properly for how to deal with it. There's also been reduction in list sizes, and the impact of COVID on general health. The AFL was a slog before, now it's a meatgrinder.

The AFL tried to relieve the pressure by making the medical sub a non-medical sub, and I think they'll start lifting the interchange limit at the end of the season.

Jim, no doubt they are doing all this monitoring and testing, plus more, but here is the question

How could you, without access to any test/GPS results, determine what strategy is needed for each and every player?

We need to rest players for the run in, especially the injury prone players.

In: Cowan, Young, Marchbank, E.Curnow, Dow, Fisher, Binns
Out: Boyd (susp.), McGovern, Saad, Docherty, Cripps, Cuningham, Martin

B: Cowan--------------------Young--------------------Newman

H: Kemp--------------------Weitering-----------------Marchbank

C: Acres---------------------Hewett--------------------Binns

H: Cottrell------------------C.Curnow-----------------Fisher

F: Fogarty-------------------Silvagni------------------Motlop

Foll: De Koning, Dow, Walsh

Bench: Cincotta, E.Curnow, Cerra, Honey

The worst thing we can do is rest Martin and Cunners - they are building beautifully with each and every game