Preview 2023 Rd 23 Carlton vs Gold Coast Saturday August 19 2:10PM @ Heritage Bank Stadium

Team is in …

IN: Harry McKay
OUT: Lachie Fogarty (soreness), Ed Curnow

Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Alex CincottaCaleb MarchbankAdam Saad
Centreline:Ollie HollandsPatrick CrippsSam Docherty
Half-forwards:Jack MartinTom De KoningDavid Cuningham
Forwards:Jesse MotlopCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Followers:Marc PittonetGeorge HewettBlake Acres
Interchange:Matthew CottrellPaddy DowZac Fisher
Harry McKay
Emergencies:Jordan BoydEd CurnowJosh Honey
Jack Silvagni

I'd be really surprised if all of Cripps, George and Kennedy are not in the 22 when available. Voss has traditionally preferred the contested, big bodied types over the faster by ball movement and legs types.
As good as they all are, I hope we don't take this path and at least give Dow the sub job.

I think the centre bounce crew matters a lot less now than it did earlier in the year. Back then, our forward line mix was shot, and it dictated how we played games - we weren't locking the ball in, oppo sides were going coast to coast, so we likely felt that we needed to dominate centre clearance and take advantage of our two big key forwards in the 6-6-6 set-up.

Now were defending well in the forward half, and we're transitioning a hell of a lot better from defense. A butch centre bounce crew is less valuable to us than a versatile one that covers territory and uses the ball well.

That’s a great call. Cunners could come on fresh and put his great skills and pace to use. Perfect choice for the sub.
Cunners has been a bit patchy, don't think he has got his match fitness up to 100 % yet. Could just imagine him being relegated to the sub role, then he

comes on and kicks three in a half. He is actually too good to be sub and probably should be impacting a little more than he has the last couple of

weeks. Davey has previously struggled a little with concentration during games, think this is still an issue. But, he is getting there.

His best is still in front of him, real confidence player. Hoping he can have a massive finals series and win the Normy.

For those on the GC and heading up for this game ...

Carlton will host a captain’s run viewing session from Heritage Bank Stadium the day before the Round 23 clash with Gold Coast (Friday 18 August).

The gates will open from 2:45pm (AEST) with the players expected to take the field around 3:00pm.
Please register your interest here.

For those attending, please take note of the following information:

Parking - parking is in the Red Carpark
Entry - entry to the Stadium via Gate 6.
Seating - Fans will then be seated between bays 143 – 137.
Arrival - The team is expected to arrive at Heritage Bank Stadium around 2:45pm (AEST).

See the stadium map here.

Harry in... then to the team that wishes to continue to double team Curnow, good luck. I'd almost throw Harry as a pure FF and let Curnow roam. Charlie can kick them from 55m and deliver into the F50 beautifully. Harry might be better off limiting his need for running too much in his first few games back and plonking him closer to goal might be better.
yup or they take turns to roam. Both have their strengths and reasons to play HFF.

Harry is the better tall target on the wing I feel. He's just so big and is faster than Curnow.

If Curnow can get the ball though, his kicking is as deadly as any in the game. He's pinpointing guys like Owies, him to McKay would be silver service.

Let them take turns covering more ground. Either they'll exploit the matchups or if they force a switch, the guy who has to run with both of them will be worn out.

I would have thought that Harry for Fogerty would be much more obvious?
I think Fog brings too much forward pressure to be dropped. I think it's Motlop who should be dropped. Otherwise perhaps Cunners or Owies is the unlucky one.

Motlop can kick some freakish goals and is a strong tackler but also goes missing a fair bit, and isn't the pressure maniac that Fog is.

He's rusty but he positions himself beautifully, much better than someone like Cincotta who often gets caught in between. Marchbank knew exactly how much legrope to give Melksham all night while guarding territory.
I'm not questioning the rest of his game. Just the fist in particular. He was in perfect position for it early but somehow almost missed it. Stamos pointed out he was being dragged down which I may well have missed. I've watched it a few times on replays but only ever been watching the ball, not van rooyen. Scratch everything I said if interference was what caused the missed fist.

I actually think he looks like his kicking is much better this time around. It was his 2nd biggest weakness after his body, so would be great if that's the case.

Reckon most of the changes will be pretty straightforward.

Boyd for Fisher is an easy one. Fisher played one game out of his skin against St Kilda, and then played a solid game against the Dees. He's a bit of an enigma - one minute he looks untouchable, weaving through traffic and dishing off a releasing handball, then the next he'll run close to a ground ball and dangle an arm out while the oppo player bodylines the ball and comes out unscathed. With guys like Kemp, Saad, Weiters and Newman (plus Gov at some point) in the backline, we've got a good range of distributors. The support acts, ideally, should be the guys who will play the disciplined team game and put the body on the line when it's their turn - Cincotta and Boyd round out the group nicely. Good news is that Fisher now presents as a viable option if we need to call on him. Also a sub option.

Gov for Marchy if fit. Both good defensively, but Gov is a weapon on the rebound too. Room for both if we feel a need to play some extra height down back. Marchy is a great story, but he's definitely still a bit behind the pace and if we need to select one of these blokes in a final I don't want it to be the guy who has played less than 10 senior games in the last 4 years. Marchy depth, has had a taste and the body has held up, use him if needed but otherwise make sure he's set up for a strong preseason.

Harry for Cottrell I also think is the obvious move up forward. They're not like for like, but we've been playing shorter up forward and Cotters looks like he's being used in a negating role. Ditch the negating half forward, bring in the attacking CHF and we "defend" by getting more and better inside 50s. Cotters a sub option too. This may still be a week or more away though, depending on how Harry is going.

JSOS is going to have to bide his time I think. He gets a game over Pitto if we're up against a side with a weaker ruck division, or he comes in if Martin or TDK miss for any other reason. Otherwise, keep him hungry in the ressies.

Walsh and Cerra are the trickier ones. I think they push Dow and Hollands out, but I'm not sure in what order. I could see Walsh coming in first for Hollands, and being eased in with a blended wing/midfield role, then Cerra coming in for Dow a week later. But I could also see the MC wanting to retain Hollands for a bit longer for his workrate and defensive efforts, trusting that Dow is less critical to the balance of the team with Cripps and Hewett in good form.

Outside those names:
- Durdin to return via VFL, only features if Owies, Motlop or Fogarty miss through injury/suspension.
- Kennedy unlucky, don't see him being conditioned enough to come straight back in for an elimination final, VFL unless absolutely needed.

I’m not sure about that. I’ve been very critical of Fisher in the past but his last 2 weeks have been a revelation. Boyd has never played a game as good as Fisher played this and last week. Line ball call at best IMO.

Selection is getting tougher which is what we need.

I think Fog brings too much forward pressure to be dropped. I think it's Motlop who should be dropped. Otherwise perhaps Cunners or Owies is the unlucky one.

Motlop can kick some freakish goals and is a strong tackler but also goes missing a fair bit, and isn't the pressure maniac that Fog is.
Guess it depends if we want that dependable pressure combined with less dependable disposal, or a slightly less consistent player who is capable of winning you a match.

IF all goes well, this will be a nightmare of a side to select for all the right reasons.

I am tipping that our win against Melbourne may see some players get an extra week's rest.

But if not our side could possibly go like this...

B: Newman Weitering Kemp
HB: Saad McGovern Docherty
C: Acres Cripps Hollands
HF Cuningham Martin Motlop
F: McKay Curnow Owies
OB: DeKoning Cerra Walsh
IC: Cincotta Hewett Dow Fogarty
Sub: Fisher
EM: Cottrell Marchbank Boyd

Really hard to take guys out who were so very good but I think form over the season counts for a lot come season's end. I don't think you can select the team wrong really.

Docherty to play a half back with stints on the ball and on the wing.

Acres Cripps Hollands is a form centre line.

McKay back but back as a forward ruck rotating with DeKoning.

Cerra, Walsh, Dow and Docherty gives us fantastic burst speed and fresh burst speed at the stoppage for 4 quarters. Cripps and Hewett excellent inside grunt.

Emergencies are super unlucky all playing well. Keep saying Boyd is best 22 but how on earth I fit him in is a hard one, perhaps as sub.

Fisher is another who is too good to leave out, how on earth do we have so many good half backs in the side! Perhaps Dow comes out and Docherty goes full time midfielder and Boyd or Fisher come in. You just can not get this wrong.

Again, I think injuries will select the side. Players who pass the fitness test but are not 100% can have another week. It's a fine line between getting them in form for the last two games before finals and having them injured again.

I don't think anyone is forgetting.
But aside from being the furthest away of those injured (although getting close is sounds like), Hewett's got that spot, and I think offers our mix a better defensive balance.

When they're all fit, I reckon Kennedy is battling Dow for the Sub spot.
And on top of that, it feels that Martin has slotted in to that forward rotation Kennedy used to have, which doesn't help Bam Bam's case.

IF all goes well, this will be a nightmare of a side to select for all the right reasons.

I am tipping that our win against Melbourne may see some players get an extra week's rest.

But if not our side could possibly go like this...

B: Newman Weitering Kemp
HB: Saad McGovern Docherty
C: Acres Cripps Hollands
HF Cuningham Martin Motlop
F: McKay Curnow Owies
OB: DeKoning Cerra Walsh
IC: Cincotta Hewett Dow Fogarty
Sub: Fisher
EM: Cottrell Marchbank Boyd

Really hard to take guys out who were so very good but I think form over the season counts for a lot come season's end. I don't think you can select the team wrong really.

Docherty to play a half back with stints on the ball and on the wing.

Acres Cripps Hollands is a form centre line.

McKay back but back as a forward ruck rotating with DeKoning.

Cerra, Walsh, Dow and Docherty gives us fantastic burst speed and fresh burst speed at the stoppage for 4 quarters. Cripps and Hewett excellent inside grunt.

Emergencies are super unlucky all playing well. Keep saying Boyd is best 22 but how on earth I fit him in is a hard one, perhaps as sub.

Fisher is another who is too good to leave out, how on earth do we have so many good half backs in the side! Perhaps Dow comes out and Docherty goes full time midfielder and Boyd or Fisher come in. You just can not get this wrong.

Again, I think injuries will select the side. Players who pass the fitness test but are not 100% can have another week. It's a fine line between getting them in form for the last two games before finals and having them injured again.
Would need SOS in for second ruck for either Fogarty or Motlop.
Cottrell for Holland???
Need a 7th defender so Fisher for Dow as sub?

There will be some serious selection headaches when we get some of our 'guns' back.
Here are the following changes I would definitely make heading into finals:
McKay for Pitt
Walsh for Cottrell
Gov for Marchbank
Cerra for Dow (sub)
If Kennedy or JSOS were to come in, it would be at the expense of either Fog or Cunners. I'm keen to keep both in the team, given they have a unique ability to impact in the midfield or forward. However, they aren't undroppable by any stretch of the imagination.
Regardless of who we play, I have complete faith in the system that Voss has created. That is how you set yourself up for long term success!

There will be some serious selection headaches when we get some of our 'guns' back.
Here are the following changes I would definitely make heading into finals:
McKay for Pitt
Walsh for Cottrell
Gov for Marchbank
Cerra for Dow (sub)
If Kennedy or JSOS were to come in, it would be at the expense of either Fog or Cunners. I'm keen to keep both in the team, given they have a unique ability to impact in the midfield or forward. However, they aren't undroppable by any stretch of the imagination.
Regardless of who we play, I have complete faith in the system that Voss has created. That is how you set yourself up for long term success!
Pitt for H
Would like to see JSOS in for someone.

I don't think Pitt has been in great form TBH, and with TDK now emerging as prime ruck, I'm not sure we need two ruckman and H in the side.

Thought JSOS provides heaps as relief ruck and fwd.

I'd go:

TDK: 70% ruck, 30% fwd

JSOS: 30% ruck, 40% forward, 30% back

I think the centre bounce crew matters a lot less now than it did earlier in the year. Back then, our forward line mix was shot, and it dictated how we played games - we weren't locking the ball in, oppo sides were going coast to coast, so we likely felt that we needed to dominate centre clearance and take advantage of our two big key forwards in the 6-6-6 set-up.

Now were defending well in the forward half, and we're transitioning a hell of a lot better from defense. A butch centre bounce crew is less valuable to us than a versatile one that covers territory and uses the ball well.
I totally agree, but the coach was a crash and bash type player himself and tried to model this 2023 outfit with similar traits.
Hope the fast, direct game style we've now adapted to, and reaped the rewards with continues.
I believe our 'old' forward line(pre Martin and Cunners) would still be fairly effective now without the slow delivery and the bombing to C & H.

I'd be really surprised if all of Cripps, George and Kennedy are not in the 22 when available. Voss has traditionally preferred the contested, big bodied types over the faster by ball movement and legs types.
As good as they all are, I hope we don't take this path and at least give Dow the sub job.
Be stunned if they are all in. Doc is long gone from the backline mix now. Makes him a central mid or wing. Acres has a wing locked down. You’re not pushing Walsh to a wing. Cripps and Cerra are obviosiuly certainties.

I’d be stunned if all players available see both Kennedy and Hewett in the 22. Maybe one sub. At this stage Kennedy sub.

They’re loving having Cotts as high half foreward wing cover and they won’t take him out of there. No way.

Interesting to see most people are dropping Cotrell over Hollands. I love the kid's endeavour but think Matt has earned the right for first dibs on a wing (opposite Blacres).
It's an interesting one. Both have superior fitness and running capacity. Cotters above on body maturity equating to better physical outcome in sticking tackles and such, Hollands has the better footy brain. I'd keep both in, but I'd phase out Ed entirely and allow Hollands/Acres/Cotters to interchange on the wings but Acres and Cotters can be used at times as fill ins, tagging a man.

Who else goes "out" depends on injuries or need to rest some.

Interesting to see most people are dropping Cotrell over Hollands. I love the kid's endeavour but think Matt has earned the right for first dibs on a wing (opposite Blacres).
Agree with this, Hollands has been super impressive and his time will come but he may get found out in a finals series, only because of his slight frame (kid is as courageous as they come).

I dare say they'll move Doc back out to the wing and have Cotters off a flank, his run has been vital to our resurgence.

Great problem to have now that we've had individuals buy into being role players, sadly for him I think Fish will also be one who makes way.

yup or they take turns to roam. Both have their strengths and reasons to play HFF.

Harry is the better tall target on the wing I feel. He's just so big and is faster than Curnow.

If Curnow can get the ball though, his kicking is as deadly as any in the game. He's pinpointing guys like Owies, him to McKay would be silver service.

Let them take turns covering more ground. Either they'll exploit the matchups or if they force a switch, the guy who has to run with both of them will be worn out.

Yep, both bring different strengths as that linking CHF that gives us great flexibility during a game. Curnow at CHF gives us a better offensive edge with his pinpoint kicking, while Harry there gives us a better defensive edge with his contested marking.

So against the Dees for example, we win that much more comfortably if we have Curnow at CHF with Harry at FF in the first quarter, and with the roles reversed in the last.

Yep. You want hard bodies in September.
I absolutely love what Hollands has brought, but if it's a choice between the 2, I think it's a pretty easy decision.

Agree with this, Hollands has been super impressive and his time will come but he may get found out in a finals series, only because of his slight frame (kid is as courageous as they come).

I dare say they'll move Doc back out to the wing and have Cotters off a flank, his run has been vital to our resurgence.

Great problem to have now that we've had individuals buy into being role players, sadly for him I think Fish will also be one who makes way.
Dunno about Hollands being found out... there was a kid who won a flag in '95 with similar build/attributes
show_image.php

Yep, both bring different strengths as that linking CHF that gives us great flexibility during a game. Curnow at CHF gives us a better offensive edge with his pinpoint kicking, while Harry there gives us a better defensive edge with his contested marking.

So against the Dees for example, we win that much more comfortably if we have Curnow at CHF with Harry at FF in the first quarter, and with the roles reversed in the last.
Correct, we've been fortunate enough to hold on enough without Harry... dare say with Harry Saints and Collingwood wins would've been by around 30+ and Melbourne 2-3 goals with Harry available. Can't fathom how some media even comprehend that Harry's return will impact our form. Only way it will impact is if he is not fully fit.