Preview 2023 Rd 23 Carlton vs Gold Coast Saturday August 19 2:10PM @ Heritage Bank Stadium

Team is in …

IN: Harry McKay
OUT: Lachie Fogarty (soreness), Ed Curnow

Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Alex CincottaCaleb MarchbankAdam Saad
Centreline:Ollie HollandsPatrick CrippsSam Docherty
Half-forwards:Jack MartinTom De KoningDavid Cuningham
Forwards:Jesse MotlopCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Followers:Marc PittonetGeorge HewettBlake Acres
Interchange:Matthew CottrellPaddy DowZac Fisher
Harry McKay
Emergencies:Jordan BoydEd CurnowJosh Honey
Jack Silvagni

I think the centre bounce crew matters a lot less now than it did earlier in the year. Back then, our forward line mix was shot, and it dictated how we played games - we weren't locking the ball in, oppo sides were going coast to coast, so we likely felt that we needed to dominate centre clearance and take advantage of our two big key forwards in the 6-6-6 set-up.

Now were defending well in the forward half, and we're transitioning a hell of a lot better from defense. A butch centre bounce crew is less valuable to us than a versatile one that covers territory and uses the ball well.
I think the centre bounce crew means more moving forward. We beat Melbourne on the back of Crippa smashing it, feeding Dow & piling on ridiculously quick goals.
Yes we had manic pressure to hold on, but those early quick goals gave us something to hold on to!
It’s vital moving forward to either get a quick reply or a couple in a row, to keep our momentum going.
If u have the ball they can’t score- it’s the ultimate defence

Dunno about Hollands being found out... there was a kid who won a flag in '95 with similar build/attributes
show_image.php

Also in his 1st year.

If u have the ball they can’t score- it’s the ultimate defence
The best way to ice the clock is a mark inside 50.
Take 30 seconds to start running in, 3 on the run-up, 3 with the ball in the air, then the goal wipes at an absolute minimum 10 seconds, but more like 30 seconds if they manage to reply extremely quickly.

The best way to ice the clock is a mark inside 50.
Take 30 seconds to start running in, 3 on the run-up, 3 with the ball in the air, then the goal wipes at an absolute minimum 10 seconds, but more like 30 seconds if they manage to reply extremely quickly.
I’d like to think a very large part of training over the next few weeks is “tight game control”. Full 1s vs 2s ball control & continued steady movement. Drill them until they are programmed to get it right.
There is always a loose player or 2, it always takes a few minutes to man up & from a man on man position u should be able to move forward- albeit slowly, but backward is also a good option. Make to the 50 & your home.
Drill it until it hurts!

I feel we can only get better with Harry back in .

Teams have been double teaming Charlie and it has made it tough for him and Big H back would not allow that .

Harry to roam further up the ground clunking those big marks on the wing whether from kick ins or defensively.

His running, size and strength a nightmare match up that oppo teams would not be able to counter.

If you were coaching against us would you want Harry out there?........ I think not.

Add to it Charlie close to goal is frightening for defenders too and attracts free kicks for him, also allows him to score from those
special things that only Charlie can do when close to goal.

When we get 5 plus goals from the two big fellas we DO NOT LOSE!

Does not matter if it is Charlie 4 and H one .

I think it has been shown many times that we are better with our TWIN TOWERS 🏨

Throw in Walsy and Cerra in next few weeks and LOOK OUT!!!!!!
I’d like to see H swap with Charles at FF - Charlie’s work up the ground feeding the ball into F50 is a sight to behold - very hard for a team to set up if they swap out to the wing

Hewett wasn't back to full fitness and was struggling.
We moved Kennedy to half back at one stage.
We are way too unbalanced if we play them both with Cripps.
Kennedy actually makes a good sub though. A fresh big tough body against mids who've been battling for 3 quarters already.
Kennedy off the bench - Cripps, Hewy and Kennedy rotating inside mids.

Cez starting with Walsh on a wing.

Dow rotating off Le Pine.

Kennedy off the bench - Cripps, Hewy and Kennedy rotating inside mids.

Cez starting with Walsh on a wing.

Dow rotating off Le Pine.
All the media questioning H's spot due to balance are off course, but this would be the exact way to ruin our team balance.
Squeezing in 2 extra inside mids at the expense of running power outside (and inside).

One more win seals the deal. GCS are no mugs as they trashed BrisVegas by 7 goals just a couple of weeks ago at this venue. Not sure who'll be more excited if we win, the Blues faithful or Cripps. The Skipper's has had to endure many dark times so it'd be hard to blame him.

Anyone know how McKay, Cerra, Gov, SOS and Kennedy are tracking with their rehab???

Been very happy with Kemp's development and the resulting expansion of his game as the season has progressed.

Lots to like about what Hollands, Cowan and Binns have dished up so I can only see us getting even stronger next year.

Just saw something somewhere suggesting H could help out with some 2nd ruck work. But with his knee at the moment, would that be wise?
Fwd 50 stoppages no worries, but I'd hesitate to throw him in at centre bounce. Although there's an argument to be made that there's more risk in crashing a pack as a CHF. You don't see too many centre bounce knee injuries these days.

Reckon Pitto may argue that lol

Just booked tickets - looks like it might even be a sell out. Most of the reserved bays are sold.
It's like that when you reserve a seat at Carrara. Then you attend on match day and it's only half full. Hopefully this time you're correct and the Blues army swell the numbers and make more noise than the GC supporters. It won't be hard to do. I'm making the trip up from Melbourne and attending with my family. Hopefully we experience that sweet feeling of making the finals at the end of the game. Looking forward to this, especially experiencing some warmer weather.

All the media questioning H's spot due to balance are off course, but this would be the exact way to ruin our team balance.
Squeezing in 2 extra inside mids at the expense of running power outside (and inside).
Think the addition of Martin/Fogarty/Cuningham/Hollands in recent weeks will better offset the running power issue earlier this year when playing both Hewett and Kennedy.
But agree will be a fine balance to get it right.