List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread

Edit: will update if ppl happy for this to sticky

Ok starting the hit list of names mentioned in any rumour as linked to us for 2023 trade period.
  • Mac Andrew
  • Hunter Clark
  • Zac Fisher
  • Sam Flanders
  • Mitch Georgiades
  • Liam Henry
  • Dougal Howard
  • Lewis Melican
  • Jack Silvagni
  • Dylan Stephens
  • Adam Tomlinson

No you are right. Keep it all as is. I originally thought spending a million a year on a coach should warrant at least a skerrick of a game plan but I can see now I am wrong. 21 losses in a row is normal and should be celebrated
Bit disingenuous. We and Clarksons have been ****ed over by circumstances out of our control this year.

And there was a definite gameplan in R1 and 2. Short kicks, defensive zone that covered important spaces. Was it unsuited to the modern game? Maybe, but it got us two wins by the skin of our teeth.

I have faith that a well rested and ready Clarko will have some tricks up his sleeve. What I don't have faith in is the fact that Clarko will actually be well rested and ready. Or the playing group's mental strength. Or their fitness. Or their ability to play the game as it is in front of them instead of retreating into their own heads and their suppositions about what might happen

He must be on close to a mill then
You'd offer him a mil a year for two years extension straight up at the end of the season wouldn't you? He is worth paying that for. And do it in the context of even offering a long term deal at the end of next year on a little bit more.

Of course he is a million dollar player, just hypothesizing the reason he is staying in this trash heap.

Yep. Why bust my ass, when most of the team doesn't train hard or can barely get out of third gear during game
Because if you do that on my team i'll kick you in the arse!

Its unfortunate but that's where its got to..

(But everyone else has already pointed this out repeatedly in their own way.)

So unfair to isolate Brady Rawlings alone for our recruiting and list management woes.

It's been a team effort. Time to spread the love.

Official 2023 NMFC List Build All-Stars

Cameron Joyce
Rhyce Shaw
Brad Scott
Scott Clayton
Brady Rawlings
Glenn Luff
Mark Finnigan
Ben Birthisel
David Noble
Bryce Lewis
Michael McMahon
Geoff Walsh

To paraphrase the popular saying - "it takes a tribe to raise an ugly baby (playing list)".

No one should turn their nose up at bringing state league players - many would be better than quite a few of our players.

Think it’s all come down to drafting players that just aren’t real good at footy. Development might have a little to do with it but when other clubs are having guys debut in the first few rounds - that’s talent.
We really need to offer big bucks to get one of the gun list managers

Would like Mitch Duncan for a 2 year deal and play him off the HBF like Brisbane did with Hodge, simply for leadership and to really help reset our culture.

His skills and professionalism would do wonders along with Shiels to set the standards and show Sheez, Wardlaw, George, WillPhill, Goat, Charlie and the other young Joeys how to prepare and what it takes to be truely elite.

We need more old heads from the dynasty clubs to influence our younger brigade because we can’t rely on our current leaders.

So unfair to isolate Brady Rawlings alone for our recruiting and list management woes.

It's been a team effort. Time to spread the love.

Official 2023 NMFC List Build All-Stars

Cameron Joyce
Rhyce Shaw
Brad Scott
Scott Clayton
Brady Rawlings
Glenn Luff
Mark Finnigan
Ben Birthisel
David Noble
Bryce Lewis
Michael McMahon
Geoff Walsh

To paraphrase the popular saying - "it takes a tribe to raise an ugly baby (playing list)".
team america vomit GIF

On SEN's sportsday tonight, Luke Hodge was saying how good Liam Shiels has been for the North young kids but they still need an experienced backman & experienced forward to help teach Clarko’s game style in those areas of the field. Tom Morris suggested Heppell or Jonas but Hodgey dismissed it. Are there any other experienced Hawks or former Hawks we can target?

Kelvin Moore, Peter Knights and that boy Hudson that we can snag with our Tassie link

In the backline potentially Taylor Duryea.
Otherwise Hill or Smith still fit our needs but would be unlikely.
Up forward we need to look elsewhere, I think a great forwards coach with an understanding of forward structures is needed more than an experienced forward though.

Gunston?

Many people shot down someone’s Melksham suggestion but he is always in ripping knick, constantly reinvents himself to adapt to AFL footy and is a part of one of the hardest training teams in the industry, also clearly doesn’t take much shit. Reckon he’d be a decent shout for an experienced forward.

Another point but golly we missed Shiels on the weekend. So important to whatever spread and ball movement we have and the young players play so much better with him there.

The ‘we don’t need to draft any more midfielder ‘ brigade are very quiet.

We have one STAR midfielder and one bloke who has played 6 games of footy and is our clear 2nd best mid. 4 years of drafting midfielders and we have little to show for it.

We take the best players available at the picks we have, simple as that.
It doesn’t matter. We have to plough forward with the ENORMOUS draft capital we have recently invested in the middle.

Our mids aren’t performing??

As Souup said this week, our clearance numbers and differential is sound.

We completely break down on the offensive break away and defensive running.

If we don’t get a clean chain of possessions out of our clearance (remember, as we dispose of the ball through more in-skilled and non-footysmarts players, the risk of error increases) we are dead in the water.

Our mids (minus Sheez and Wardlaw) do not do second efforts.

Add to our woeful running, if we do manage to chain a string of possessions out of the middle or out of HB, we don’t have the fitness (minus Scott) to repeat lead up the wings. Our HBs are indecisive, inexperienced, unskilled, unfootysmart, or all of the above. Fancy being a backman at North in February and after a fortnight-long experiment, an 18 YO takes the majority of offensive (and now) defensive duties on smalls in the back half.

But what kills us (and this improved when the much-lauded dinosaur CCJ was playing) is that we are bereft of aerial threat across HF and up the wings. Larkey is like a scarecrow caught in a cyclone with his arms flailing up the wing and his mind mostly on the injustice of the non-umpire calls. We need legitimate, consistent aerial threats (X2-3) if we are going make any sort of improvement next year.

Forget key defenders, outside mids, small crumbing forwards and silky HBs which we are desperately begging for, our plight will remain the same until we stop idiotic players trying to deliver crap kicks to undersized and out-numbered forwards.

They are in the club. We are talking about trying to attract players from outside of the club.

There is a massive difference.

Im not concerned about their first extension, I am concerned that if we keep going down this path there won’t be further extensions.

If you have talent why would you want to play in a basket case of a football program, when you know you are going to get paid anyway and can go somewhere where you might get joy out of your football and have some success.

Do you think LDU is going enjoying his footy right now?

Time to take the rose glasses off, we are currently a shitshow and the one ace we had hasn’t been at the club for a long period of time. Hardly a destination of choice.
Who left Melbourne? Who left the paper bags? Who left rishmond? Who left freo? .. Look, the nucleus is set, they will come.

Duncan wouldn’t be a bad option. One of the hardest working players over the last decade. Very Shiels like. Not the best player in the team and had elevate himself to 1. Be selected every week 2. To become a premier player of the comp.

Losing Higgins was the biggest loss to our group of anyone.

Duncan wouldn’t be a bad option. One of the hardest working players over the last decade. Very Shiels like. Not the best player in the team and had elevate himself to 1. Be selected every week 2. To become a premier player of the comp.

Losing Higgins was the biggest loss to our group of anyone.
Shit ton better than Shiels and no way he would come. If you could make it happen it would be perfect though. Like the thought process. Pay him 750 a year.

No hawks but I'd look t Jeremy McGovern or even Ryan Lester.