List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread

Edit: will update if ppl happy for this to sticky

Ok starting the hit list of names mentioned in any rumour as linked to us for 2023 trade period.
  • Mac Andrew
  • Hunter Clark
  • Zac Fisher
  • Sam Flanders
  • Mitch Georgiades
  • Liam Henry
  • Dougal Howard
  • Lewis Melican
  • Jack Silvagni
  • Dylan Stephens
  • Adam Tomlinson

I like Henry but he's not worth a first rounder. His decision making is suspect and his kicking is inconsistent, plus he's out of contract.

I think we need more depth on the wing and with outside run generally, so I'd definitely explore the possibility of trading for him, but a 1st rounder is wishful thinking from Fremantle I reckon.
Spot on

It is Dodo doing Dodo things. He is after a seemingly cheap kill. Hence, why I strongly believe this will fall through if it ever got to a trade request.

I think he's after headlines and distraction.

Have you seen our players?
They don't even defend each other when someone's getting targeted by opposition's.
Big Footy: our players don't stick up for each other when getting targetted by opposition.

Nekminnit Kayne Turner and/or Jy Simpkin give away a 50 metre penalty for flying the flag to defend a team mate being targetted by opposition.

Big Footy: our players are idiots for giving away a 50 metre penalty for flying the flag to defend a team mate being targetted by opposition.

Henry is a massive ball butcher.

He has some of the worst disposal % and turnover rates of his position in the league.

He’s made massive strides, but people need to be prepared for his shortcomings and kicking is definitely it.
Its time to draw the line in the sand. Hack kicks and/or plodders shall not pass! Gotta be able to run. Gotta be able to kick.

Dylan Stephens has better kicking efficiency than both of them. :joycat:

Just saying. :p

If people start bandying around the ball butcher tag, then people will have to accept their inner-Nostradamus.

He has some of the worst disposal % and turnover rates of his position in the league.
Its an interesting assertion. What metrics are you basing this on?

List of North Melbourne midfielders with less favourable disposal/turnover ratios than Liam Henry in 2023:

Tucker
Howe
Simpkin
Scott
Shiels

Notable players with worse disposal/turnover ratios than Liam Henry in 2023:

Dangerfield
Acres
Hunter
Gulden
Langdon

Its an interesting assertion. What metrics are you basing this on?

List of North Melbourne midfielders with less favourable disposal/turnover ratios than Liam Henry in 2023:

Tucker
Howe
Simpkin
Scott
Shiels

Notable players with worse disposal/turnover ratios than Liam Henry in 2023:

Dangerfield
Acres
Hunter
Gulden
Langdon

I think you need to factor how much players are getting the contested ball, harder to hit targets when you are under the pump.

For example, Simpkin has a 42.5% rate, Henry has 25% rate, so 3/4 of his possessions are uncontested so he should be under less pressure.

Another is distance and meters gained, easier to hit kicks sideways and easier to hit short kicks, harder to hit long kicks.

It isn't precise, but I like to divide meters gained by kicks to gauge how long they go, unless an extreme handballer like cunners, I would imagine handballs provide a negligible amount of distance.

Henry would average 25.3m per kick, Simpkin 27.6
Dangerfield has a 51.7% contested possession rate and a 34.2m per kick, you would want to be a lot more accurate than someone who is constantly under the pump and kicking longer.