Ultimate Glory 2023 Trade speculation and Shinbeggars discussion

I was responding to an Essendon supporter, wasn't talking about Hawthorn who I think will be a major player in the next 3 years. To answer your question, 2 premierships in our history & more than likely no more in my lifetime (especially if Bevo keeps getting re-appointed). Dunkley left because of Bevo & more will follow eg Smith, West and Naughton to name a few.
I hope you get your new coach and keep your players.

Such a different feeling this year heading into the free agency and trade period.

I was heavily invested in securing Phillips, Amon, Bruhn, Bowes and the pick over the past few years.

This year, I can see the benefit in McKay, but I'm not emotionally attached to him as a prospect. Much like Frawley.

If he chooses Essendon it will be disappointing of course, but I certainly won't waste any anger or frustration on it.

His acquisition would make our back 6 look instantly stronger, so will be quite content if he nominates us.

What would you do if you were Aaron Naughton?
He was drafted as a KPD where he played his junior footy with great success but because of our dysfunctional forward line has been played as a KPF since then. He's done ok however his conversion rate in front of goal is and always has been poor. He prefers to play defence but like several of our players, is played in a role he would prefer not to play in.
We have spuds like Gardner & Keath playing down back (even Josh Bruce was tried there this season without success even though he has played his entire career as a forward).
We have one decent KPD (Jones) and Naughton should be playing there as well which would fix a gaping hole in our side. If I was Naughton I would want to be switched back asap otherwise will be open to offers at the end of next season. Unfortunately Beveridge is as stubborn as a mule and will stick to his plans no matter what.

I wonder if we see McKay as a fwd not a defender. Wouldn't surprise me. I feel like he would be more valuable to the side up fwd with Lewis given our backline is pretty solid. In the short term anyway. Bottom line he does give the side more flexibility.

Our backline is not pretty solid.

For the McKay doubters, he has acquitted himself pretty well in a horrible football team.

Even the best KPDs look ordinary under constant pressure.

Rance wasn’t the player he was until Richmond got the whole ground pressure right. Plenty of other examples.

If he is an above average defender in a terrible team, then I’m hopeful he will be much better in our backline as we improve.

He was drafted as a KPD where he played his junior footy with great success but because of our dysfunctional forward line has been played as a KPF since then. He's done ok however his conversion rate in front of goal is and always has been poor. He prefers to play defence but like several of our players, is played in a role he would prefer not to play in.
We have spuds like Gardner & Keath playing down back (even Josh Bruce was tried there this season without success even though he has played his entire career as a forward).
We have one decent KPD (Jones) and Naughton should be playing there as well which would fix a gaping hole in our side. If I was Naughton I would want to be switched back asap otherwise will be open to offers at the end of next season. Unfortunately Beveridge is as stubborn as a mule and will stick to his plans no matter what.
If this is true, how do we lure him to the Hawks?
Struggles in the forward line with all the blocking and other shennanigans, way better when launching at the ball unimpeded, ie: as a backman.

Assume we have at least matched the Bummers offer…

Reckon they will up their offer again - they are desperate.

They have exactly zero key defenders after Zerk-thatcher (who stinks anyway) requested a trade to Port…
Ridley and Laverde are key defenders. It's not absolutely dire for them. He would be replacing BZT. Not sure Dodo will up the offer. He will put on his best salesman facade and spruik the Bombers as being closer to a flag. Not sure it's enough. If they get an indication he's leaning to us it will go quiet.

If we do land mckay suspect DGB will be floated for trade.

Blanck, Sicily, harry, McCabe, weddle, scrim and even frosty can all play tall. Time to cash out of Denver - early enough that we could still get a first rounder.
rubbish be patient

Such a different feeling this year heading into the free agency and trade period.

I was heavily invested in securing Phillips, Amon, Bruhn, Bowes and the pick over the past few years.

This year, I can see the benefit in McKay, but I'm not emotionally attached to him as a prospect. Much like Frawley.

If he chooses Essendon it will be disappointing of course, but I certainly won't waste any anger or frustration on it.

His acquisition would make our back 6 look instantly stronger, so will be quite content if he nominates us.
I have got to here too Won’t lose any sleep over the outcome. Just glad we are having a crack, win or lose we are having a dip 👏

I was responding to an Essendon supporter, wasn't talking about Hawthorn who I think will be a major player in the next 3 years. To answer your question, 2 premierships in our history & more than likely no more in my lifetime (especially if Bevo keeps getting re-appointed). Dunkley left because of Bevo & more will follow eg Smith, West and Naughton to name a few.
Was a totally odd go at you for no reason. Just ignore. You will be good once you move on from Bevo you have elite young kp players that’s hard to find don’t we know.

I was just thinking this.
McKay won't be a transformational recruit like Brian Lake, but he will fulfil a role like Frawley, even though he's nowhere near the same level as a player.

I'm content either way.
More interested in our moves to improve our draft position and draft capital than how we use our salary cap to front load FA contracts.

It is unquestionably our weakest area.

I think our forward line is significantly weaker than our backline. Particularly with Brockman on the way out, Breust being a year older and Mitch Lewis' injury woes.

I feel really good about where our defence is at. We could do with another KPD, McKay would be more than handy.

Was a totally odd go at you for no reason. Just ignore. You will be good once you move on from Bevo you have elite young kp players that’s hard to find don’t we know.
Its all good, just a misunderstanding.
We have another good prospect in 200cm Jordan Croft who we will pick up as a F/S this draft. The problem we have is that Bevo plays people out of position (Dunkley was used in the ruck - hence why he wanted out, Smith being played on a wing when he is a genuine outside mid (to name but a few). He also has his favourites like Macrae who never get close to being dropped no matter how poor they are while the likes of Rhylee West who would run through a brick wall for the club have one quiet game and they are out.
I am sure that if we could get say an Adem Yze type in as coach we could again be a top 4 side, the longer that Bevo stays, the less chance there is of that happening and our window will close.
On the other hand I love the way Mitchell goes about it, he has the respect of the players, you can see what he is building and the players are all buying in to his gameplan.

It is unquestionably our weakest area.

Disagree with that. Our forward line is clearly our weakest area IMO.

We have two long-term forward options that have established themselves, in Lewis and Moore. MacDonald is a midfielder playing forward and doing a decent job, but that's not necessarily his strength.

Butler and Ramsden are talented but neither have shown really anything at senior level yet. Ryan, Kosi, Greene, etc are depth at best. JOS and Bennetts are untried.

Meanwhile we have Sicily, Hardwick, CJ, Impey and Scrimshaw as established medium to long-term options. We also have Blanck, Mitchell and Weddle as younger players that have shown they have a future in the backline.

If this is true, how do we lure him to the Hawks?
Struggles in the forward line with all the blocking and other shennanigans, way better when launching at the ball unimpeded, ie: as a backman.
Dogs would demand two first round picks (including a top 5 pick). He is out of contract though next year so our bargaining power will be reduced which could give you an advantage. We played hardball with Dunkley last year but ultimately folded as they didn't want to lose him for nothing in the PSD.