Ultimate Glory 2023 Trade speculation and Shinbeggars discussion

Our best trades and recruits from other clubs, even during the Clarkson era were when we tended to swoop in from left field and pick up said player with minimum fuss. Usually the deal was more or less locked in well before it was on the radar of other clubs or the media.

We’ve never been that successful at these public arms races with other clubs and nor has it ever really been our style.

...or maybe Ben hasn't made up his mind, just a thought.
And this is why…
Make It Rain Money GIF

On the Tyler brockman board a tigers guy floated Allen for pick 3 and brockman. If brockman around 38 that values Allen at pick 2 so I’d want something like 38 back but I could do that deal. Especially if we give 29 and f1 for suns pick. Allen Duursma McCabe works for me.

There are not enough words in the English language which describe how quickly I would do that deal.

Personally I think he keeps changing his mind with each increased offer lol. A few more weeks an he will be the highest paid player on the afl in 2024 🤫😂😂
Both sides have probably reached the point where the bidding amounts are into the cents.

I know we finished below Bombers but we are building a great core of young players one more year at the draft, and no other club will have a better young group. Bombers are trying to get rid of Shiel and Stringer is probably getting KFC for dinner

I am not interested in the future of Essendon. **** the Scum! I am interested in the future of the HFC.

I reckon you could trade a Zinger meal for Shiel at this point

I don't understand the panic or despair.
We got Burgoyne, Hale, Gibson, Lake, Frawley and others over many years.

Totally fine going into next season with our existing defensive options and we continue building other parts of the ground, the forward line in particular.

We will get our chance to recruit better KPDs.
It doesn't have to all come at once.

Back in the day, that eesdn flog, Carlisle was shopping himself around and it was between us and Carlolton but from someone very close to him, I found out that all Jake wanted was a high payday! A few weeks later, the Saints paid up a wee bit more and after playing all three clubs off one and another, he chose saints in the end anyway. And as we know, how great his career panned out to be? Potato with good coin. Ben situation reminds me of that.

I don't understand the panic or despair.
We got Burgoyne, Hale, Gibson, Lake, Frawley and others over many years.

Totally fine going into next season with our existing defensive options and we continue building other parts of the ground, the forward line in particular.

We will get our chance to recruit better KPDs.
It doesn't have to all come at once.
I don't understand why everyone is acting as though we were certainties and now we're definitely out of the running. Nobody has put their name to any info. We only know that he's seriously considering our offer.

It has a bad smell to it.
They've had all year to consider options.

I'd rather we pass at this point TBH.

I do love when people judge footy players for trying to extract the most remuneration they can from clubs when those people would do the exact same thing if multiple employers were vying for their services. Clubs will put the best interests of the club before players also - why are players evil to do the same thing for themselves?

Why? I honestly don’t get this mentality. If you’re selling a car for $10,000 and the best offer you get for it is $6,000 are you better off taking the $6,000 or setting the car on fire? Has any club who’ve thrown the tantrum and let a player go to the PSD ever come out the better for it? All you’re doing is giving our opposition a free asset.
In the example you give it does depend on how much the car is insured for

😁