List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

We don't have heaps of space in the cap IMO. The JDG money will have been absorbed back into signing up the kids. TDK will be getting $650k and that will take Gresham's space.
Our cap space is fine. We've got money to spend.

When offering De Goey the significant contract we did, it would have been taking into account future pay rises for the players on our current list.

Last year we put it out there that he was available.

I think he was sub this week because he coming back from injury.
I hope you're right. I hope he starts getting the most out of himself and becomes a player, hopefully for us. But so far he has been consistently average, there are alarm bells ringing for me.

We can't replace talent as fast as we lose it and have to pay up huge to get GOPs and when we trade our good players get nothing back. Josh Bruce got us * all and we paid up huge for guys like Howard and Hill who are no better.

At least drafting seems to be much better under Toce.
After Hill, the idea of trading in big names scares the bejeesus out of me. Hopefully we draft and go for cheapies like Stocker.

I have no problem chasing players but you don't throw code to a million over 5 for a GOP like Hill. He should have been on about $600 x 5 and cost a late first rounder at most, even then it was overs but reasonable. Someone like Parish who is resilient and actual top shelf is worth the risk. Paying him Hill's money makes more sense. We need to learn to laugh and walk away from trades if the seller is a campaigner.

Looks like Clark is gone. I think there are some big question marks over whether he has the drive to really become a great AFL player. Seems more interested in getting on the beers. The fact he was the sub this week says a bit about where they rate him I think. It's a shame as he has talent coming out the wazoo but worth remembering. He wanted to go to North last year. The worst team in the league. Just not sure he cares enough.
He didn't want to go to Norff. Not sure where you got that from.

We don't have heaps of space in the cap IMO. The JDG money will have been absorbed back into signing up the kids. TDK will be getting $650k and that will take Gresham's space.
The JDG money was budgeted for 5 years including this year with knowledge of pay hikes for the kids coming up.
You look at who's OOC over the next 1-2 years and there can be no question that there will be plenty of cap space. Shitloads in fact.

Agree
F McRae pies
Dow tigers

Jeremy Sharp is the one we want I reckon. He had a couple of games last year where he looked really classy playing forward pocket. He's really strong in the VFL in a great side. He's a quick outside mid playing out of position. I'd chuck in an offer on him and Hollands to get them points for their pile of gun academy kids. Can't see Flanders coming now.

We clearly need to be aggressive at trade with our current list and it will need to be players we have come to love. Anyone 26 or older we should be open to offers for except Wilkie and Sinclair.

As much as I don’t like David King he had a point about trading Marshall. He will be past it by the time we peak and his primary role of giving mids first use is his biggest flaw. I think we should considered trying to get a bounty for Marshall if we can get a Briggs, Nick Bryan type young ruckmen to matures with our kids.

Steele is the other one that could get into the pointy end of the draft then go after a Flanders, hollands, McRae as a money all replacement with their best footy in front of them.

People will disagree. But going into the next few years with only our allocated draft picks is going to keep as in the middle of the pack for the foreseeable future.

I think he was happy to go from memory.
Yes he and Ratts were at loggerheads.

Heard he is happier under Ross.

Let's face it we are the Richmond of the naughties, constantly midtable.
Until we drop off and draft a Dusty, a Cotchin, a Rance and others, then get in a Prestia, Caddy etc, we are going

NOWHERE.

Time for Ross to gut the list and us to go backwards for a couple of years.

Has to happen. We are impatient but keep making the same mistakes. We went ok with Butler, Higgins, and Crouch, but Hill, Howard, and Jones have been disappointing.
Clark and Coff disappointing, two top ten picks. Only recently have we started to get class in the draft, Naz, Pou, chito, Windy etc, all a good start, but we need two or three more good ones
Don't mind TDK if he is not too expensive, still young.
We are in for two or three years of frustration I think.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

We clearly need to be aggressive at trade with our current list and it will need to be players we have come to love. Anyone 26 or older we should be open to offers for except Wilkie and Sinclair.

As much as I don’t like David King he had a point about trading Marshall. He will be past it by the time we peak and his primary role of giving mids first use is his biggest flaw. I think we should considered trying to get a bounty for Marshall if we can get a Briggs, Nick Bryan type young ruckmen to matures with our kids.

Steele is the other one that could get into the pointy end of the draft then go after a Flanders, hollands, McRae as a money all replacement with their best footy in front of them.

People will disagree. But going into the next few years with only our allocated draft picks is going to keep as in the middle of the pack for the foreseeable future.

I agree with Marshall. It would be a brave call but possible to come out of it ahead. That said it looks like we'll blow the compo on TDK anyway. Looks very much like selling McEvoy then overpaying for Hickey and Longer to replace him and going backwards.

Steele is needed to keep the kids coming through supported. Losing quality on ballers would send us to the bottom of the ladder, we need to fast track kids in a good side not expose them.

I think we should trade Marshall assuming we can get a few good picks.

I would look at getting Grundy in cheaply if we traded him, I don't think we would lose too much overall swapping those two while gaining a few picks.
Was thinking about Grundy last night he is very gettable

Yes he and Ratts were at loggerheads.

Heard he is happier under Ross.

Let's face it we are the Richmond of the naughties, constantly midtable.
Until we drop off and draft a Dusty, a Cotchin, a Rance and others, then get in a Prestia, Caddy etc, we are going

NOWHERE.

Time for Ross to gut the list and us to go backwards for a couple of years.

Has to happen. We are impatient but keep making the same mistakes. We went ok with Butler, Higgins, and Crouch, but Hill, Howard, and Jones have been disappointing.
Clark and Coff disappointing, two top ten picks. Only recently have we started to get class in the draft, Naz, Pou, chito, Windy etc, all a good start, but we need two or three more good ones
Don't mind TDK if he is not too expensive, still young.
We are in for two or three years of frustration I think.

Yeah, draft well and only chase players that are high end with years of footy ahead of them in trades or FA. We can rebuild while challenging still like Port do but just need to get everything working in a very efficient and professional way. Look around for some under utilised players at other clubs with high upside low cost and move on the guys we know aren't driving standards and aren't helping train the next generation.

I think we should trade Marshall assuming we can get a few good picks.

I would look at getting Grundy in cheaply if we traded him, I don't think we would lose too much overall swapping those two while gaining a few picks.
Funny thing with all the calls to trade Marshall - he was just about BOG against the Dees last week. Soundly beat the Gawn and Grundy combo,
so much so they dropped Grundy. Goes to prove the maxim - a week is a long time in football I suppose.

Funny thing with all the calls to trade Marshall - he was just about BOG against the Dees last week. Soundly beat the Gawn and Grundy combo,
so much so they dropped Grundy. Goes to prove the maxim - a week is a long time in football I suppose.
Grundy would still go quite well as the main ruckmen imo, he isn't suited to a 2 ruck setup at all

Was thinking about Grundy last night he is very gettable

The only issue is that he's more Marshall than Gawn. He's average as a tap ruck, good around the ground. I'd rather someone that can hit out to advantage if we go for a ruck. There are heaps of cheapies out there.

Yeah, draft well and only chase players that are high end with years of footy ahead of them in trades or FA. We can rebuild while challenging still like Port do but just need to get everything working in a very efficient and professional way. Look around for some under utilised players at other clubs with high upside low cost and move on the guys we know aren't driving standards and aren't helping train the next generation.
Still think we get one or even two AFL players from Van Es, Hotton and Keeler.

But yes agree with you. If we had say got the equilivent of Higgins and Crouch this year, after the good drafts, I can see the merits of the strategy.
Unfortunately we need probably two more killer drafts like the last one.
Frustrating times ahead I'm sad to say.

Players with untrustworthy skills need to be delisted or traded.
Highmore
Gresham
Doogs
Hill when contract runs out
Paton

Age...not good enough
Campbell
Connolly
Allison

That's 8 players that can be moved on without significant disruption to performance of the firsts.

The reason some want Ross Billings and Membrey gone is because they get the ball and are not always effective....at least they are better than the list above hence why they stay.

Try to get a free agent get some cast off's from other clubs for stuff all trade capital and go back to the draft with our picks and move on.

Then focus on skills during the off season... we are not that good nor are we that bad.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app