List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

Clark loves being an AFL player so he can tell people on a night out that he's an AFL player
A poster on a different thread (possibly you?) claimed that last year some Saints players were more than happy to review their stats over a beer or two than whether the team won. Could Clark be included on such a list, if one existed?

Ross doesn't seem overly keen in trying different things. Owens seems to be our best contested player and always seems to win clearances when around the stoppage but gets very little time in the midfield.

If we are ever going to improve we need to find an ace in the middle.

Windhager showed he's got a strong future but we need more.

Flanders looked like he was going to be a cheap get for someone a few weeks back but his value is rising by the week. If you could get him for an early 2nd I think that would be a great deal.

No issues with trading our first away for a young player though, not overly keen on this draft for what we need.

A poster on a different thread (possibly you?) claimed that last year some Saints players were more than happy to review their stats over a beer or two than whether the team won. Could Clark be included on such a list, if one existed?
I didn't say that directly but have seen enough of them out and about.
#4 another one that loves it, and it stems from the old #7 and #27.

Young boys without true leaders given enormous amount of money in a program with little standards. Can't blame them I guess.

Reported on SEN

“One more thing, my understanding is Sam Flanders - Pick 11, 2019, and Elijah Hollands - Pick 7, 2020, did not see eye to eye with Stuart Dew,” Morris said.

“Flanders was out of contract and Hollands out of favour. They have both garnered interest from rival clubs and are more likely to stay now than they would have been if Dew was still there in 2024.

Reported on SEN

“One more thing, my understanding is Sam Flanders - Pick 11, 2019, and Elijah Hollands - Pick 7, 2020, did not see eye to eye with Stuart Dew,” Morris said.

“Flanders was out of contract and Hollands out of favour. They have both garnered interest from rival clubs and are more likely to stay now than they would have been if Dew was still there in 2024.
Well that’s just **** ing dandy isn’t it

Looks like Clark is gone. I think there are some big question marks over whether he has the drive to really become a great AFL player. Seems more interested in getting on the beers. The fact he was the sub this week says a bit about where they rate him I think. It's a shame as he has talent coming out the wazoo but worth remembering. He wanted to go to North last year. The worst team in the league. Just not sure he cares enough.
No idea about his social life, but he did come on and get 9 contested possies in just 40 minutes of footy which is impressive and would have been handy early in the game when we were getting smashed in the contest. I'll be surprised if he doesn't come back into the 22 this week.

I remember Matthew Lloyd reporting that there was an issue last year with Saints players enjoying the beers a bit too much but that they had turned that around this year.

Anyone that doesn't have the drive should be up for trade though.

I think we need to remember that apart from a couple of draft picks and SSP signings, Ross hasn't had a say over the list at all.
I feel there will be a bit of a clearout this offseason to get his preferred guys in, a few more delistings than the usual 3 players out I would imagine.

Would love to see how the club will perform once the playing group has been moulded for Ross, expecting some young talent to shine in the system

Ross doesn't seem overly keen in trying different things. Owens seems to be our best contested player and always seems to win clearances when around the stoppage but gets very little time in the midfield.

If we are ever going to improve we need to find an ace in the middle.

Windhager showed he's got a strong future but we need more.

Flanders looked like he was going to be a cheap get for someone a few weeks back but his value is rising by the week. If you could get him for an early 2nd I think that would be a great deal.

No issues with trading our first away for a young player though, not overly keen on this draft for what we need.
The last quarter yesterday was the first game he's really thrown the magnets around - Windy, Clark and Owens as the starting midfield, Sinclair on the wing, Byrnes half back, Battle forward.

With how this season was petered out, we could see a lot more of that in the last 6 games.

Well that’s just * ing dandy isn’t it

Dow had 15 disposals at 54% disposal efficiency. Looks much more our cup of tea.

Seriously though, $1.2 x2 years for Parish dropping back to $750 for another 3 for Parish or something and chase Jeremey Sharp. I'd be seriously looking at Mathieson too. He's too good to not play regular seniors. He'd be better than lots of our mids and still only 26 and must see that the Lions have too many ahead of him, Deven Robertson and Kai Lohman in some kind of deal maybe.

I think we need to put all our focus on our midfield. I don’t see the point in paying big dollars for a de Koning . When Marshall is doing well and the likes of Sharman, Hammer, Hayes , Heath and keeler are on our list. I doubt if we would have any top young midfielders currently on our list .

Dow had 15 disposals at 54% disposal efficiency. Looks much more our cup of tea.

Seriously though, $1.2 x2 years for Parish dropping back to $750 for another 3 for Parish or something and chase Jeremey Sharp. I'd be seriously looking at Mathieson too. He's too good to not play regular seniors. He'd be better than lots of our mids and still only 26 and must see that the Lions have too many ahead of him, Deven Robertson and Kai Lohman in some kind of deal maybe.

Not sure if i go along with the "hey we're still second rate, but better than we were" plan.
I don't see any point head hunting less than elite mids.
Unless you want a less than elite midfield.

I'd rather go for Darcy. Grundy is a win now kind of player. Darcy has a lot more in the tank. Only problem is we have to sell our soul to get him.
Darcy is always injured. I think we're better off sticking with Marshall. This is the first year he has played first ruck for quite a while and he's probably in the best half a dozen or so performed rucks in the comp. Let's work out how to make him better, starting with a decent backup alongside him.

Gotta work on his strength big time. He's been bodied pretty bad since the Hawks game.

A good replacement for Zac Jones, harder at the ball for longer periods.

Not sure if i go along with the "hey we're still second rate, but better than we were" plan.
I don't see any point head hunting less than elite mids.
Unless you want a less than elite midfield.

I think we need both depth and quality in there. Mathieson would be a good get because he can play forward and inside outside mid. Sharp is a genuine potential gun still. He's a mid or wing and still young. I reckon he could be a gun player. Parish is elite.

Dow I'm obviously taking the piss. Our elite mids are king to have to come from our kids or the future drafts but in the meantime depth and upgrades can still be added.

If Gresham goes we are one more mid down and Ross looks cooked. Just need to at least replace them to not lose ground.

We just can’t bring Dow in now with what RTB said about skills . 54% yuk

Find away to get Flanders

We just can’t bring Dow in now with what RTB said about skills . 54% yuk

Find away to get Flanders

Agree, pay more for quality. Dow would be like getting stale bread for half price. It's cheap but there's a reason. If you could get Flanders for a second rounder you'd grab him and run. He looks a good contested player and neat user.

Mathieson is a flog so Rossy probably likes him

GWS have salary cap issues.
GCS have too many players and getting 3 academy picks...plus they have the list concessions running out...they will have to move players on.

We need mids and that's why Caldwell wanted to come until we got Crouch and had little draft capital to do much else...sadly.

If we lose Gresh then we will get a pick in the 20s. That's 3 picks inside 30. If Whitfield is true we get another first rounder.

Be a few players thinking I am a chance for a regular mid spot at the Saints and with RTB as coach...looks a good option.

Flanders is behind the 3 incumbents and probably a couple of others. He would be thinking maybe a new start is better, the same with Fiorini and even Hewitt.

Paddy Dow in the same position and there are probably a couple of others at other clubs. Remember that's how Jack Steele started at Saints from a lack of opportunity at GWS.

Use one max two of our 20s picks to get some extra mids in and get best available in the draft from our first pick and even better am extra from Whitfield pick.

You would think that next year's injured coming back would be DMac Clarke Coff Hayes and King...with jury out on Billings Hill Membrey Dougs and Ross...so there are spots available if your skills and commitment are good enough.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Midfield in order of games played.
2011 CJ, BJ, Dal, Montagna, Armitage, Steven, Ray , Polo, Cripps, ( Lenny missed most of the season ). Finished 6th.
2012 Hayes, Montagna, DalSanto, McEvoy, Steven, Armitage, BJ, CJ, McEvoy, Milera, Cripps, Ray, Newnes ( Out Polo, in Newnes/Milera). 9th
2013 Steven, McEvoy, DalSanto, Montagna , Armitage, CJ, Ray, Newnes, Hayes, Hickey, Ross, Milera. ( Out BJ and Cripps, in Ross and Hickey ). 16th
2014 Newnes, Ray, Hayes, Montagna, Steven, CJ, Dunstan , Armitage, Ross. Saunders ( Out Milera , DalSanto, McEvoy in Dunstan and Saunders ). 18th
2015 Steven, Newnes , Armitage, Dunstan, Longer, Montagna , Hickey , Ross, Ray. ( Out CJ, in, idk, minch, mckenzie, wright wherever they played ).14th
2016 Steven , Ross , Montagna, Newnes, Armitage, Hickey, Dunstan, Minchington? McKenzie? 9th
2017 Ross, Newnes, Steven, Steele, Longer Dunstan, Montagna, Stevens Hickey ( In Stevens, out miscellaneous Joey HBF?). 11th.
2018 Steven , Gresham , Newnes, Ross, Steele, Billings, Dunstan , Armitage, Hickey ( Out Stevens ). 14th
2019 Ross, Billings, Steele, Newnes, Gresham , Dunstan, McKenzie. ( Jack Steven just 7 games, Dan H 5 14th. ( Richo leaves ).
2020 Gresham, Ross, Dunstan, Steele, Hill, Hannebery, Billings. ( in Hannebery ( 8 games ) , Hill, out Steven and Newnes ). 6th
2021 Hill, Steele, Crouch, Ross, Billings, Byrnes, Jones, Bytel, Marshall, Dunstan, Ryder, McKenzie, Wood , Hunter ( in Byrnes, Crouch, Wood, Hunter, Out Effectively out Dan ). 10th
2022 Crouch , Ross, Hill , Marshall, Gresham, Steele, Windhager, Jones, Ryder, McKenzie, Byrnes, Billings. 10th
2023 Crouch, Byrnes, Marshall, Sinclair, Gresham, Hill, Owens, Ross, Steele, Clark, Windhager

its like watching a train wreck in slow motion, and the coaching seems to make no difference.
Thanks Ross for the presser where you carefully explained that the team was crap. Being the coach and all, do you intend to fix it?