List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Yes he is. A wing/HF

I dare say we are looking to be more flexible, and after Hills performance playing HF I’d say we will look to utilise him and Henry in that rotating wing half forward role.

If one is playing forward then with Butler and Higgins and possibly Gresh where does Peris fit?

Old positions in footy are irrelevant now. Half forwards play as extra wings. Those two attacking half back flanks move right up into the midfield and even your KPFs have to be able to move up the ground to provide transition options. Byrnes often plays high half forward and runs to fill in in defence then sprints up to provide the kick out option, then sprints to HF. Hill and Wood run to fill in as defenders and block up space then run end to end with the play as well.

At games these days it's not uncommon to see no-one in your forward half if the opposition has the ball. That's why one position mids have to be absolutely elite to make up for the inflexibility. Henry probably plays high HF and runs with the play but still an attacking/scoring option.

People say Lyon doesn't like attacking football but nearly every player we have taken recently seems to have an ability as a forward if they play midfield and he's shedding the guys who don't run or score. Owens and Phillipou are getting a grounding in front of goals before transitioning into mids etc.

I hope the club keeps an eye on Jarrod Cameron (Charlie’s brother) I believe he’s coming down to play in the VFL. Had a lot of injury trouble at west coast - can play.

He had that one stand out game early on. Definitely worth a look.

I reckon we probably should have persisted with both if we don't see Howard as the answer. Both just starting to show something. Hope Sos has something cooking.
I think 2 years is a bit rough for Adams. Tall skinny kids take time to fill out and mature. Oh well they know him better than anyone so we trust their view on him

It doesn't actually make a difference if a F/S we were never going to get goes in front of us or behind us.
What can make a difference is if they Suns trade pick 4 to another club, which is then used to get another player for another team.

Essentially we can't get Walter, Read, Croft , Rogers, McCabe.

If the first round picks stay in place and it goes like Twomey says there aren't many mids for us, but there aren't even at pick 12.
If Gold coast trade their pick one to another team, their pick 4 goes back in front of us.

1 West Coast - Reid.
2 Gold Coast Matched Bid. -Walter
3 Hawks - Duursma
- Gold Coast pick gone back due to Walter.
4 Melbourne - McKercher ( Melbourne get him... i can taste vomit ).
5 GWS - Watson
6 Geelong - Curtin
7 Essendon - Sanders
8 Crows - Caddy
9 Gold Coast Matched Bid -Read
10 Bulldogs - O'Sullivan
11 Bulldogs - Croft F/S Matched bid
12 Gold Coast matched Bid - Rogers
13 Sydney - Murphy
14 Saints - Wilson.
15 Hawks matched bid - McCabe.
16 Roberts HBF
17 Leake HBF
18 Hardeman HBF

But its possible that both Gold Coast and Bulldogs trade out their picks but if Bulldogs do , its not worse than it is now.
If Bulldogs keep their first rounder and someone bids early on Croft, we go up a place.

I'm not so keen on Wilson, an outside mid/wing, given that we'll be getting Henry.

Maybe we can turn one of those HBF's into a mid. :rolleyes:

Really want us to find a way to get that GC pick ( insert into pick 4 ).

Have North been banned from the draft for asking for too much?

Offer Coff two. He’s got what it takes. I’m taking a risk on him. So many others to delist/trade first.
Not like he’ll get us a great pick after the last two years - much more worth it to us to stay.

I think he's probably trying to get a guarantee but most players want to stay unless it's outrageously unfair.

Heard Hawks interested in Billings. Anybody else heard this?

Actually makes a lot of sense for them. They don't have much outside run and class but heaps of inside grunt. You don't get a free hit at players of that quality that often. It would be smart business for them.

I reckon you argued with me about this saying that we should use our first pick on a KP defender a couple of years ago. I think you wanted Gibcus from memory. I've always been dismissive of backs and think you can convert a failed forward or find them in state leagues/ later in draft. I wanter Collins out of the VFL. Reckon Ethan Phillips will end up at an AFL club eventually and people will wonder where he came from.
I definitely did.

I thought Gibcus would have been best available if he made it to our pick (turns out NWM was better) and I still think he will be a quality player.

I think you can get key defenders at the top end of the draft as well as with late picks. There’s proof of both working.

I wouldn’t be dismissive of either if way if we rated the player.

They might rate Docking (NGA player) more than Peris this year. He's a chance to slip through the draft and get Cat B signed.
Heard that he's one of the better kicks in the draft as well on the wing

Jake Arundel from Noble Park/ Box Hill Hawks. Instant upgrade on Peris and I reckon he could be a bit of a Brent Daniels.

I reckon we probably should have persisted with both if we don't see Howard as the answer. Both just starting to show something. Hope Sos has something cooking.
I know to date it’s only been a random Big Footy thought bubble, but it could be that the club does have thoughts of redeploying Caminiti and/or Hayes to the backline.

There certainly is a bit of a logjam forming up the scoring end; one that will only become more loggy and more jammy if Keeler comes on and Bing finds his way home.

Maybe with a Caminiti/Hayes, possibly Howard remaining and Van Es developing they feel it’s covered okay in the short term? Of course they could still add some low cost coverage from a rival club or state league whilst taking a promising kid with a late pick.

Keep Coffield if he gets his body right, he’s a genuinely good player. Also rate Highmore and if anyone thinks Jimmy Webster is better than both of them you are SRS delusional

Exactly my point, Bytel would've got games for West Coast.

West Coast had a heap of injuries and fast tracked their kids like they should. He would have played potentially but only due to a nightmare injury list.

The only sides with real obvious midfield holes are us, WCE, Geelong and maybe Essendon who want a bigger bodied complementary mid. Most others have a very good pool of talent. Carlton, North, Hawks, Suns, Freo, Richmond, Pies, Lions, Dees and Dogs have depth and quality. Sydney and GWS probably just behind them. Both probably lacking a little bit of depth.

Twomey has dropped his September draft.
Looking through it this morning, and discounting our #1 by all the academy and F/S picks, I think it ends up being #18 or thereabouts.
Very unimpressive options thereabouts for our needs.
Maybe DiMattia, who is a few picks lower.
Given the majority of his list this year are defenders, did anyone kick a goal in 2023?

Twomey has dropped his September draft.
Looking through it this morning, and discounting our #1 by all the academy and F/S picks, I think it ends up being #18 or thereabouts.
Very unimpressive options thereabouts for our needs.
Maybe DiMattia, who is a few picks lower.
Given the majority of his list this year are defenders, did anyone kick a goal in 2023?
A few months ago I did mention they wanted or would like to.

Trade up

And secure another first rounder.

I know to date it’s only been a random Big Footy thought bubble, but it could be that the club does have thoughts of redeploying Caminiti and/or Hayes to the backline.

There certainly is a bit of a logjam forming up the scoring end; one that will only become more loggy and more jammy if Keeler comes on and Bing finds his way home.

Maybe with a Caminiti/Hayes, possibly Howard remaining and Van Es developing they feel it’s covered okay in the short term? Of course they could still add some low cost coverage from a rival club or state league whilst taking a promising kid with a late pick.
Not a bad shout. I actually think the hammer plays a little bit like Liam Jones.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

Wasn’t the rumour that Harley Reid told west coast he’d go home. I think west coast has essentially ruled him out so pick 1/2 didn’t matter to either north or west coast.

West Coast won’t take him and North won’t miss him.

With the Camma/Hayes down back thing. I don’t mind it but I think it’s gotta be Camma, Hayes is pretty slow from memory defenders need at least some closing speed. Wilkie, Camma and Battle might be undersized but they’re all scrappy and have great hands.

Demattia and a key defender like Murphy (Sandy boy) would be a great draft. Add in henry and dow and that's a successful trade/draft

On SM-S918B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Can’t pretend I know them yet.

Tend to do my draft analysis after trade time when I know confidently what we are playing with.

Saves me falling in love with LDU and watch him slowly but surely go from around our pick to the pointy end of the draft