List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Yer that's fine and most people in here know that. But instead of recruiting pensioner Goldstein we just make do with 80% ruck time Roma and the likes of Hammer Hayes or Owens until then. Roma is more than capable
So we have one genuine ruck on our list in Roma and you would rather persist with using Hayes - who isn’t a ruck and barely been on the park in the last 18 months.

Hammer - who is anything but a ruck and if asked to do it full time would struggle.

Owens - repeat as above.

And then all the rest who are saying, keep and use Tom Campbell 😂

The guy is 32 in November. Has played 2 games for us in 2 years - including none this year. Who at 3 clubs wasn’t even close to holding the #1 or #2 ruck mantle - clearly evidenced by his massive 52 games across 3 clubs and never having once played more then 9 games in a season in his 10 years.

And lastly Heath, isn’t ready and if it came to throwing him in for large runs. Would be detrimental to us and himself.

Meanwhile 35 year old Goldstein just played another 20 afl games this year to bring his career total to 315 games. Highlighting his durability and talent

I'm not getting narky, just answering your post. Matho would be good at the Saints. Can spread run and win his own ball. I think he's exactly the type Ross likes. I think he's pretty happy up north though anyway. Seems to enjoy life up there. He's not going to be our best player but he'd certainly help our lack of midfield depth.

From memory a lot wanted him drafted to us, heavily discussed here back in 2015

So we have one genuine ruck on our list in Roma and you would rather persist with using Hayes - who isn’t a ruck and barely been on the park in the last 18 months.

Hammer - who is anything but a ruck and if asked to do it full time would struggle.

Owens - repeat as above.

And then all the rest who are saying, keep and use Tom Campbell

The guy is 32 in November. Has played 2 games for us in 2 years - including none this year. Who at 3 clubs wasn’t even close to holding the #1 or #2 ruck mantle - clearly evidenced by his massive 52 games across 3 clubs and never having once played more then 9 games in a season in his 10 years.

And lastly Heath, isn’t ready and if it came to throwing him in for large runs. Would be detrimental to us and himself.

Meanwhile 35 year old Goldstein just played another 20 afl games this year to bring his career total to 315 games. Highlighting his durability and talent
I have no issue with us getting a capable back up ruckman just not a 37yo one. Don't see it as a burning issue like some of the obvious ones we have with our list.
Roma is a superstar and durable. We will be fine without Goldy.

I have no issue with us getting a capable back up ruckman just not a 37yo one. Don't see it as a burning issue like some of the obvious ones we have with our list.
Roma is a superstar and durable. We will be fine without Goldy.
Sure which ruck out there are you choosing mate?

And the point of having a list of players is so if something happened to Roma. Someone else can capably step up and contribute.

Good talk on VFL. We just have to be concious of the level it is played at. I saw Bytel absolutely dominate a game where he looked like Cripps, Bont and Dangerfield all rolled into one, Raph Clark looked like an absolute champ in the twos, the list goes on.
The limitations of players are somewhat hidden by the level.
Saw Dow earlier this year get 30 plus v Williamstown and thought him totally ineffective, racking up possessions but doing very little with them.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Can't believe some on here are saying matho is no good.

We literally only have 3 midfielders on our list Steele, crouch and Ross and a couple part timers.

If nothing else matho would help boost the training standards for the younger potential mids in Owens, windy and Pou.

On CPH2145 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Or we could just draft and develop our own kids instead of bringing in someone with little chance of making it into our best 22 and being used as a warm training body

He'll be 21 and 100kg's next season. Absolutely ready to play as a fwd/ruck

I thought he was physically ready too. Didn't Steele say at the start of this year Heath would surprise? That didn't quite eventuate but his numbers as a forward looked alright in the VFL.

I was/am hoping Heath comes in and has an impact similar to JVR for the demons.

Sure which ruck out there are you choosing mate?

And the point of having a list of players is so if something happened to Roma. Someone else can capably step up and contribute.
You seem to be extraordinarily emotionally attached to this Goldstein thing. Apologies I don't see it like you do.. It's nothing personal.
I have no idea which ruck mate. Just not Goldy.
Roma will be more than fine and Heath isn't far away.

Owens - repeat as above.

And then all the rest who are saying, keep and use Tom Campbell

2007, Lyon brings in Doc Clarke

Owens - repeat as above.

And then all the rest who are saying, keep and use Tom Campbell 😂

Campbell is good enough depth, he's gun in the VFL and been pretty unlucky have been in the wrong place at the wrong time. He's no worse than plenty of other GOP rucks. With a thin midfield we need more than a contest halving ruck though. I'm not sure Goldy is a huge upgrade to be honest. He looks on the downhill slide.

Marshall is that conundrum player, he's amazing as the solo ruck but ordinary as a second ruck. If he's not rucking there are better forward options. With an ordinary midfield around him, he plays as an extra mid but not a great tap ruck with little direction or power in his taps.

If we get a second specialist ruck what do we do with Marshall? Can he sit across CHB as a spare like Lyon played McEvoy or something. If the specialist ruck can't play elsewhere what do we do with him when Marshall rucks?

I'd play Marshall with some extra extractors and have a developing back up like Moyle in case of injury.

The one thing with Goldstein would be that he would be a fantastic mentor for both Heath and Marshall.
Yes I said Marshall. Roh is great around the ground, but his rucking and clearance craft leaves a lot to be desired.
Heath is a prospect but raw as still. Got better during the year but at preseason training saw Owens constantly outbody and out ruck him.
Goldstein may be looking for a coaching gig after footy, so his knowledge for Max and Roh would be great, while a ready made replacement for Roh if he goes down.
Can see real.upside to it.

From memory a lot wanted him drafted to us, heavily discussed here back in 2015

he made it back into the Lions line up late last year and was very good. Played a sort of high half forward role and looked like he was one of their better players over a run of games. He's been pushed back out for Ashcroft and Fletcher but he's unlucky that he's at a club with so many in front of him. He's a player around Zac Jones at his best level. He's not winning a best and fairest but he's the type that makes sense if you want a type that is ready to play now. Hewett for Carlton probably a similar type of player stuck just outside the best 22 most weeks and had to move for opportunity.

Campbell is good enough depth, he's gun in the VFL and been pretty unlucky have been in the wrong place at the wrong time. He's no worse than plenty of other GOP rucks. With a thin midfield we need more than a contest halving ruck though. I'm not sure Goldy is a huge upgrade to be honest. He looks on the downhill slide.

Marshall is that conundrum player, he's amazing as the solo ruck but ordinary as a second ruck. If he's not rucking there are better forward options. With an ordinary midfield around him, he plays as an extra mid but not a great tap ruck with little direction or power in his taps.

If we get a second specialist ruck what do we do with Marshall? Can he sit across CHB as a spare like Lyon played McEvoy or something. If the specialist ruck can't play elsewhere what do we do with him when Marshall rucks?

I'd play Marshall with some extra extractors and have a developing back up like Moyle in case of injury.
There is no reality where Goldstein is only a small upgrade on Tom Campbell.

The bloke just played 20 afl games. The bloke would dominate the VFL.

I really can’t believe this is even a discussion on here.

Yeah he is old. But it’s a stop gap and a pretty good one. It allows us a different set up that we definitely could have used last weekend

Good talk on VFL. We just have to be concious of the level it is played at. I saw Bytel absolutely dominate a game where he looked like Cripps, Bont and Dangerfield all rolled into one, Raph Clark looked like an absolute champ in the twos, the list goes on.
The limitations of players are somewhat hidden by the level.
Saw Dow earlier this year get 30 plus v Williamstown and thought him totally ineffective, racking up possessions but doing very little with them.

I've never seen Bytel dominate the VFL he gets touches but not impact. I've seen Dow dominate numbers and look like an absolute shit truck. I reckon the guy that was a VFL star that couldn't translate it was Lonie. Absolute high impact little mid in the VFL came back to the seniors and looked a yard too slow as a small forward. A smart club probably would have got more out of him somehow. Could have been another Caleb Daniel possibly.

There is no reality where Goldstein is only a small upgrade on Tom Campbell.

The bloke just played 20 afl games. The bloke would dominate the VFL.

I really can’t believe this is even a discussion on here.

Yeah he is old. But it’s a stop gap and a pretty good one. It allows us a different set up that we definitely could have used last weekend
We don't plan on needing a stop gap so that's why noone is really worried if he's a better back up than Campbell because we plan on not needing whoever the back up is.
I'm starting to think Goldy is your cousin.