Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)

Which realistically available player SHOULD we pick at #4?

• Sid Draper

• Jagga Smith

• Harvey Langford

Results are only viewable after voting.

Any indication on who the teams above us will pick?
He was asked whether or not we’d split pick 4 and he said no, then said he believes it’s likely between Draper and Langford depending on how things fall.

Haven’t watched it all yet but he didn’t really allude to other teams picks above us, he did say that Ashcroft, FoS, Lalor, Draper, Langford and Smith are locks for the top 10 with Tauru and Smillie highly likely.

Keeping Smith is one of the worst most criminal list management things we have done in recent times, ESPECIALLY when we knew we were getting Cumming.

Its makes absolutely 0 sense. Bewildering.
Really? I've told you a million times not to exaggerate.;)

I don't and I really rate Draper highly (apart from his kicking he ticks all boxes).
As Danger in Texas posted some time ago I think the topline mid his game resembles most is Treloar right down to the inconsistent kicking.

I reckon hes a lot like peak Boak, the way he moves and plays

Was there any whiff of Richmond being keen on Draper ? That’s what I’ve heard if they are able to get pick 2
Not in this episode, funnily enough we were really the only club at the top end with players specifically linked, aside from north and tauru again.

Cal has been quite coy with smith and where he will land, I wonder if he believes he could slide to the dees or even Richmond at 6?

I doubt we are keen to move up the draft order given the evenness.

There is a good chance Draper is available with our pick & if not there will be a gun available.
I do like that most of us on here and more importantly the Club are happy that they will get potentially a gun mid at 4, regardless if Draper is there or not.

Some of our posters on here have visited other Club's trade boards and would have noted how the opposition supporters were hoping we would trade our F1 (along with our 2024 1st) to get Pick 2.

Id rather have him now
It's why other clubs won't take draper, will be seen as a go home risk, particularly given how we (and Port) have targeted SA lads lately. Plus the vic kids are rated about the same as him anyway so why risk it.

If in 2 years time you could guarantee two players on your list from this year's top 5, is that not preferable over only 1?
Theres no guarentee that would happen, and even so the Tassie concessions will come in around 2026 so those picks arent going to be at the pointy end.

Draper or Smith. We need a pure mid that is going to get a heap of the footy.

Lalor and Langford don’t seem like the right fit for us. Not sure on FOS.

Draper is the obviously choice. Fits our needs, should play round, and is a crows fan so should be a Crow for life.

Draper or Smith. We need a pure mid that is going to get a heap of the footy.

Lalor and Langford don’t seem like the right fit for us. Not sure on FOS.

Draper is the obviously choice. Fits our needs, should play round, and is a crows fan so should be a Crow for life.
They all fill needs for us really, we shouldnt miss one of these 4.

If I’m doing a draft of port and crows players to pick a side he’s my first pick ( him and butters very close )

Then Rankine , Dawson
Interesting. I'm not going to war over this as they would also be my top 4

But I'm in CITDs camp with Rankine being my 1st choice. Having watched him from his championship year I am also positive with his trajectory - and yes its also Crows bias

Regarding the commentary around JHF - he would be my 2nd pick but I also agree he has those issues from his game that - if allowed to continue - that will hold him back and frustrate teammates

I have posted at least twice in match threads where JHF spat it and let someone run past him without effort - again not a huge sample - but thats the games I bother to watch

I understand that it comes from great competitiveness but that also means doing the hard work when needed

Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)