Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)

Which realistically available player SHOULD we pick at #4?

• Sid Draper

• Jagga Smith

• Harvey Langford

Results are only viewable after voting.

I’d love to get a feel for what we all would - EXPECT - HOPE - HATE - from our first pick on draft night … so there aren’t the classic rewrites of history after the draft!! It’s so easy to take pot shots at decisions after the fact when you never specifically laid out what you would have done.

For me:

EXPECT - to pick Draper because he is from SA.

HOPE - pick Langford because he is the best player available at our pick.

HATE - we move back in this draft to get a player we “love” and move the surplus collateral into next year OR even worse, we just use pick 4 on a player that is rated much lower!
Rated by who exactly?

I really hope now we have committed to Welsh that we give him some spurts in the middle in the ressies next year, love to see him tackle Butters or Wingard lite into next week in a showdown
He does have some Jake Stringer like qualities but at the moment he’d be one midfield effort then lean on a goal post

Needs to work hard all pre season start well forward then see where he gets to , could definitely throw his weight around up the field in time

I do think people are underrating Jagga, he may be a victim of his own weight of possessions with the 'not damaging' label. No he doesn't run blindly through the stoppage and boot the ball as far as he can - he gets the ball, considers his best option for how to find a teammate and then finds them. His disposal efficiency was over 80% at the champs, that is wild for a guy who gets a ton of the ball and a lot of it in very tight spaces. Has Pendlebury like qualities with his composure in heavy traffic.

Got 50 touches in a Coates league game. His first game against men against a very good VFL team he got 31 touches inc. 18 contested. He's been durable, never plays a bad game and will play rd 1 next year. If he falls to us, we should not 2nd guess, thank our lucky stars and draft him.

I’d love to get a feel for what we all would - EXPECT - HOPE - HATE - from our first pick on draft night … so there aren’t the classic rewrites of history after the draft!! It’s so easy to take pot shots at decisions after the fact when you never specifically laid out what you would have done.

For me:

EXPECT - to pick Draper because he is from SA.

HOPE - pick Langford because he is the best player available at our pick.

HATE - we move back in this draft to get a player we “love” and move the surplus collateral into next year OR even worse, we just use pick 4 on a player that is rated much lower!
Have watched as much football as I can so thought I’d put this out there so people can make fun of me in a couple years time, got 2-8 extremely even where we will pick from

1. Sam Lalor
Gap
2. Jagga Smith
3. Tobie Travaglia
4. Finn O’Sullivan
5. Levi Ashcroft Brisbane
6. Leo Lombard GC
7. Sid Draper
8. Harvey Langford
Gap
9. Alix Tauru
10. Xavier Lindsay
11. Harvey Armstrong
12. Luke Trainor
Gap
13. Josh Smillie
14. Izak Kako
15. Joe Berry
16. Jobe Shanahan
17. Sam Marshall
18. Cooper Hynes
19. Ollie Hannaford
20. Bo Allen
21. Murphy Reid

I do think people are underrating Jagga, he may be a victim of his own weight of possessions with the 'not damaging' label. No he doesn't run blindly through the stoppage and boot the ball as far as he can - he gets the ball, considers his best option for how to find a teammate and then finds them. His disposal efficiency was over 80% at the champs, that is wild for a guy who gets a ton of the ball and a lot of it in very tight spaces. Has Pendlebury like qualities with his composure in heavy traffic.

Got 50 touches in a Coates league game. His first game against men against a very good VFL team he got 31 touches inc. 18 contested. He's been durable, never plays a bad game and will play rd 1 next year. If he falls to us, we should not 2nd guess, thank our lucky stars and draft him.
His interview with Cal Twomey revealed a special type.
Quality person and as has been said just sounds like a Captain.

His interview with Cal Twomey revealed a special type.
Quality person and as has been said just sounds like a Captain.
I agree, at times he sounded like the professionally media trained one out of the 3.

I'm quite sold on Jagga. Regardless of where he goes he will be one to watch. Particularly when he puts on 8-10kg on his frame

I agree, at times he sounded like the professionally media trained one out of the 3.

I'm quite sold on Jagga. Regardless of where he goes he will be one to watch. Particularly when he puts on 8-10kg on his frame
What I took out of it apart from his demeanour was his realisation he was not being as damaging with the ball.
His coach spoke to him about it and asked him to make some changes.
The fact he embraced it, credits the coach and made him a better footballer says heaps.
Reckon a lot of lads regularly getting 40 a game couldn’t be told anything.
If we miss Draper would be happy with Jagga, even the VIC Metro go home factor doesn’t trigger with him for me.

EXPECT: Sid

HOPE: we can conjure another list spot from somewhere and use another pick. There’s another list lodgment and I don’t think it’s impossible. I’m pretty sure we didn’t have a list spot when we drafted Hugh Bond and we opened one up after the draft.

HATE: Jagga falls to us and we pass him up. I think he’s the best player in this draft and of the players realistically likely to be available to us (ie no Lalor or FOS) I don’t think it’s close. I think we would regret taking Langford or Draper over Jagga.

Ít's like people got bored of him at #1. If he's the one there at 4, I hope we take him. Might not have as much X-factor, but reminds me of a Pendlebury with his movement.

If I was Richmond, and I traded up to #2, he's the one I'd take, not Draper. You can build a midfield around his type.

EXPECT: Sid

HOPE: we can conjure another list spot from somewhere and use another pick. There’s another list lodgment and I don’t think it’s impossible. I’m pretty sure we didn’t have a list spot when we drafted Hugh Bond and we opened one up after the draft.

HATE: Jagga falls to us and we pass him up. I think he’s the best player in this draft and of the players realistically likely to be available to us (ie no Lalor or FOS) I don’t think it’s close. I think we would regret taking Langford or Draper over Jagga.
Yes, there's another List Lodgement - but Oct 31st was the deadline for delisting players. They need to be delisted in time to nominate for the ND (should they choose to do so), and the second List Lodgement isn't until after the ND.

Have watched as much football as I can so thought I’d put this out there so people can make fun of me in a couple years time, got 2-8 extremely even where we will pick from

1. Sam Lalor
Gap
2. Jagga Smith
3. Tobie Travaglia
4. Finn O’Sullivan
6. Leo Lombard GC
7. Sid Draper
8. Harvey Langford
Gap
9. Alix Tauru
10. Xavier Lindsay
11. Harvey Armstrong
12. Luke Trainor
Gap
13. Josh Smillie
14. Izak Kako
15. Joe Berry
16. Jobe Shanahan
17. Sam Marshall
18. Cooper Hynes
19. Ollie Hannaford
20. Bo Allen
21. Murphy Reid
The 2 names that stand out are Travaglia in tier 2 and Reid at the bottom of tier 4.

I'll need to see a bit more of Travaglia, but have seen enough to at least have him in the same band as Tauru.

Reid is highly rated, but I think there's a risk that he doesn't quite fit at AFL level.

I really hope now we have committed to Welsh that we give him some spurts in the middle in the ressies next year, love to see him tackle Butters or Wingard lite into next week in a showdown
Not having a go at you specifically, but why do we want to try and make every non-mid we draft into a midfielder?

There's not enough midfield roles for the pure mids we've drafted (plus Rankine, Rachele and Curtin). We don't need to try guys at centre bounce whose weapons are marking and kicking goals.

But I'm more than happy to start him at half forward with an instruction to smash Butters and Rozee every chance he gets.

The 2 names that stand out are Travaglia in tier 2 and Reid at the bottom of tier 4.

I'll need to see a bit more of Travaglia, but have seen enough to at least have him in the same band as Tauru.

Reid is highly rated, but I think there's a risk that he doesn't quite fit at AFL level.
Reid could easily surprise me to the upside it’s just that I think there are risks

I rate his footy IQ , it’s amazing ..be interesting to see how his game translates

With Travaglia - he’s just a star wherever he plays , his game screams afl player . I reckon he’s terribly underrated by draft media , I expect some clubs to have him rated top 6 or 7

1. Sam Lalor
Gap
2. Jagga Smith
3. Tobie Travaglia
4. Finn O’Sullivan
6. Leo Lombard GC
7. Sid Draper
8. Harvey Langford
Gap
9. Alix Tauru
10. Xavier Lindsay
11. Harvey Armstrong
12. Luke Trainor
Gap
13. Josh Smillie
14. Izak Kako
15. Joe Berry
16. Jobe Shanahan
17. Sam Marshall
18. Cooper Hynes
19. Ollie Hannaford
20. Bo Allen
21. Murphy Reid
Agree almost too a tee bar Bo Allan, that's way way way too low.

He does have some Jake Stringer like qualities but at the moment he’d be one midfield effort then lean on a goal post

Needs to work hard all pre season start well forward then see where he gets to , could definitely throw his weight around up the field in time
Welsh is going to take 3 preseasons before you can even consider moving him out of the goal square, let alone play midfield.

If you want people to change their views or actions, you want them to be slightly uncomfortable with their current status quo. But directly challenging them about their views/ actions has been shown to be counter productive to change.

Using indigenous names, acknowledgement of/ welcome to country etc were all well intentioned. But what have they actually changed for indigenous Australians?

Apart from making white people less uncomfortable with what they are (not) doing to create equal opportunities for success for indigenous people?

I think it's got to the point that Kuwarna is part of the problem, not part of the solution.

Sorry it's a bit heavy for this time of morning/ a football forum.
Well, I think a lot of businesses now have First Nations advisory groups and are making stronger efforts to deliver First Nations employment targets and representation on boards.

I think it's certainly improved - though I think you're maybe confusing improved with "been solved".

1. Sam Lalor
Gap
2. Jagga Smith
3. Tobie Travaglia
4. Finn O’Sullivan
6. Leo Lombard GC
7. Sid Draper
8. Harvey Langford
Gap
9. Alix Tauru
10. Xavier Lindsay
11. Harvey Armstrong
12. Luke Trainor
Gap
13. Josh Smillie
14. Izak Kako
15. Joe Berry
16. Jobe Shanahan
17. Sam Marshall
18. Cooper Hynes
19. Ollie Hannaford
20. Bo Allen
21. Murphy Reid
How do you feel about Cal and the Rookie Me folks having Reid so high?

It seems quite surprising to me

Angus Clarke is a solid mid sized defensive option who seems likely to be taken somewhere in the middle rounds of the upcoming draft. A versatile 188cm defender, his aerial strength allows him to match up on taller opponents, while his pace and agility makes him equally adept at covering smalls. He's competitive and disruptive, with a strong focus on winning his matchup first, but when he does get involved in transition ball movement his dash and excellent kicking skills can be a weapon.

I reckon Port will take him at their #29 or #36, very astute pick IMO. Likely the 3rd SA player off the board.

Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)