- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
- Other Teams
- Storm, Spurs, Socceroos
- #18,956
2024 Picks
2025 Picks
2025 Picks
Imagine how many times he'd do it in a good team!He's done it once
I think his value is more that it allows Weddle, Sic or even Hardwick to move forward more.He's done it once
Let's see how he feels after the Lions touch them up on SundayI think it would be hard to walkout on your mates, he’s playing good footy and has strong connections. It’s understandable, purely from the human element.
From an outsiders point of view, it’s seems like absolute madness to stay.
The tuggers trade thread is awesome. The 1st rounders they are "expecting" for their players is hilarious.
Sent from my SM-S901E using Tapatalk
Should be pissing them off too.Poor old Taranto and Hopper. Promised the world and delivered an Atlas.
Not many players do that and actually end up staying. The only one I can think off on the top of my head is Cogs and the last i checked the Saints don't roll out ambassadorial deals. Say he has made up his mind to come to us try to put yourself in his shoes and how you'd handle the situation. If it was me I'd be rolling with 'I haven't made up my mind yet and won't until the end of the season'. It would be pretty uncomfortable rocking up to work every day if in fact you know yourself that you're leaving and have to look at all your teammates, coaches and staff in the eye everyday.I understand he won’t make a definitive call until the end the season.
They should look to trade out Tom Lynch too. Melbourne might give up some nice picks.They're in a world of hurt.
Bell usually drives a hard bargain- I reckon he’ll try not to give up too much for Bolton- Tiges might not get the war chest of picks they think they’re gonna get…Bolton would be worth a lot and Richmond need to start their rebuild before Tassie come into the league.
Freo are gearing up for a flag tilt. They have some great pieces already and are one of the youngest sides in the league, plus they have a great draft hand. They'll make this happen.
I think Stkilda would be licking their lips at the compensation they'll get. I do not think they will fight hard for him if they expect band 1. Even end of the first round would be adequate for them.Talk of 800k is foolish to you
But the offer is closer to 800k than 1 mil
And he will be a Hawk
Saints fans have constantly clung to the fact that we have to offer an exorbitant amount over St Kilda to get him out
We do not
He doesn't seem like a minimum chips kind guy. More like a piece of flake, half a dozen dimmies and a burger with the lot.Hawkins is on a minimum chips. Not a lot of cap space opens up when he departs.
Crazy that they are making these calls without a coach.The talk is that Barrass was promised by former list manager Rohan O'Brien who stepped down that his contract would be renegotiated. This is why Barrass is disgruntled and is willing to move as the new list manager Matthew Clarke has obviously earmarked Barrass as a player that isn't in their future plans and can be moved for draft assets.
Where a fair club in negotiations but I really hope that we remember that they're actually pushing him out the door and actually reneging on what was mentioned as a verbal handshake. I'm not saying we should lowball them but I'm not giving anything more than 1 x 1st rounder and with that said I'd be open by offering our F1.
Has norf written all over himJack Graham out the door too. He’s a spud but still an experienced player.
If he comes to Hawthorn grand final day 2029 will be his 6th premiership. 2018, 2025, 2026, 2027, 2028 and 2029.Liam Jones is 33, May is 32, Gov is 32, Collins 30.. Key defenders take longer to reach their peak but they tend to stay near it longer.
Barrass will be 33 on grand final day in 2029, good time to retire on par with Lake with 3 flags and a norm smith medal.
Why do Stkilda players keep saying he is?Very strong mail again tonight. Battle ain't moving.
Swinging forward to bag 3 in a game every now & then is pretty handy. I don't think anyone sees him playing as a Forward, but I like the ability to drift forward during games
They are still going to be in a really tough spot. Potentially middle of the road in 2027 but pick 8 would be getting pushed back to 15 and Tasmania will get 5 first rounders, clubs with get compo for free agents poached (gc and GWS rules made every uncontacted player a free agent) then the father son and academy too.They are lucky they’ve timed their bottoming out just prior Tassie coming in. Possibly back to back #1 picks coming up.
We do not have another player who can play the Sicily role like he does. Neither do any of the other 17 clubs.We're at the point in which other players can do what Sicily does quite well, at least well enough, that we can afford Sicily as a forward. Dam, it might just be essential for us to win a premiership next year.
I'd love it if we go there playing mostly as we are, then shifted him as a high/CH-forward as a wildcard in the finals.
Because Ross has spun his web. Josh believes his propaganda. He will wait until the end of the season. HFC will increase its offer. StKilda aiming to get level one compensation. Watch Ross drop him then, should that be achieved. I understand the HFC current offer does NOT guarantee level one compo at the moment. A lot relies on the success or otherwise of the Barrass negotiations.Why do Stkilda players keep saying he is?
Yep.We do not have another player who can play the Sicily role like he does. Neither do any of the other 17 clubs.
Sicily is by far the best at his role in the comp as shown by his AA selection. He can take contested marks and intercepts better than all the other defenders like stewart, battle, lever etc AND he is THE best kick in the comp too.
In that case, any idea why he has not signed to stay yet?Very strong mail again tonight. Battle ain't moving.
Dunno. The free Vietnam era flamethrower does it for me.
I don't completely hate the idea but we would be giving up huge money 800+ a year minimum for Barrass, all so that we can move one of our best players who is one of the best defenders in the league up forward where he was only ever at best extremely average.Surprised at the lack of excitement over the possiblity of Sicily playing forward IF we land the Barrass/Battle double.
He's pushed forward a few times this year and scored multiple games on those occasions.
It wouldn't need to be a permanent move, but can anybody tell me why this couldn't work?...
B. Hardwick Barrass Scrimshaw
HB. Amon Battle Impey
C. Weddle Day D'Ambrosio
HF. Moore Dear Sicily
F. Watson Chol Ginnivan