Rumour 2024 Hypothetical trade and FA Thread

imo us getting Bailey is superfluous to our success.
If he gets a mad bag from Cotton On, a land deal and a mega contract from Geelong, power to him- can't say I blame him for it.

If he wants whimsical success, getting a big paycheck with his boyhood team, wonderful.

I have enough anxiety trying to fit all of our midfielders in as is!

That was a wonderful era. Hawthorn would pick some random player from premiership obscurity and gift them a premiership medallion, just because. Like wandering around looking for homeless people and giving them a $600 pair of shoes, just because we could.
I think MM has shown us this year he can be the opportunist, D’Ambrossia Ginnivan, Chol all first 22 by mid season. With his side kick Roughy, nicest bloke in the land, how can we go wrong.
Can we have some more please.

I’m at the point now where I don’t care if we miss out on Baz. I am more excited about having Ward developing along nicely. For the price we’d pay for Baz we could fill other pressing needs I think. Let’s find players we need who want to be part of this club and get them
I don't really agree, mate.

Smith (IN) will likely affect Ward's opportunities in the short term, but I see having them both as far more advantageous.

What other pressing need(s) are you looking to fill with our 1st (current or future)? A developing Full Back sure would be handy. Maybe a FF, although Dear + Scaife are exciting.

As for players who want to be a part of the club - I agree - but I'll not discount Smith from that group until after Trade Period. Could well be that he's desperate to join us.

Warner is an elite kick and smith a turnover merchant. I like smith but they are not in the same category

Wouldn’t say Warner is an elite kick. At smiths best, he’s a fast, line breaking mid that kicks goals. People forget how good Smith can be.

Smith is too far into the gossip pages for me. Our show ponies are all in the forward line where they belong. I like a midfield that’s more hard-nosed.

On Battle, isn’t he a little small? He’s a cm shorter than Frosty’s 194 cm and five kg lighter than Frost’s 94kg. Blank is 197cm and 93kg. If we’re opening the chequebook for a FA defender, then I reckon we need a 198 cm and the low 90’s kg. We’ve got high quality medium sized defenders spilling out the back of the Ute. I don’t think we should bring in another one, just at a higher price.

Smith is too far into the gossip pages for me. Our show ponies are all in the forward line where they belong. I like a midfield that’s more hard-nosed.

On Battle, isn’t he a little small? He’s a cm shorter than Frosty’s 194 cm and five kg lighter than Frost’s 94kg. Blank is 197cm and 93kg. If we’re opening the chequebook for a FA defender, then I reckon we need a 198 cm and the low 90’s kg. We’ve got high quality medium sized defenders spilling out the back of the Ute. I don’t think we should bring in another one, just at a higher price.
If we’re opening the chequebook to a defender, open it to Barrass

This is a really weird take to me, Smith is one of the hardest working and most competitive players in the league. The fact he is marketable and has a social media presence shouldn’t be a knock on him at all.

Old ground now, but GWS "couldn't" match our Cogs offer as they couldn't fit him under the cap. As it was they were desperately offloading others for cap room, let alone taking on another million dollar contract.

Cogs himself told people he was coming to Hawthorn, he announced it at dinner with friends (including players from both GWS and Hawks along with another club).

Two days later he was making a public announcement of his re-signing with an AFL logo background. I'm sure he works hard for the ambassadorial money.
Well we certainly didn't help our case by getting 2 of GWS biggest contract blunders of their list. Scully and Patton deals along with GWS offloading Shiel meant that they would have plenty of room in their salary cap.

Also GWS don't actually have a salary cap anyway.

Just for clarity, were you told they weren't coming to Hawthorn or they weren't leaving GWS? If the former, that sounds super sus coming from someone at AFL. Especially in the wake of the Cogs saga.

Shiel did leave and it seemed like he was always going, just a matter of where to. Having spoken to him, he definitely was considering Hawthorn.

No doubt your mate would get some good tidbits of info, but I can't see how he could say with any certainty what players are going to do at the start of a season? The players themselves rarely know that early.
Sheil very clearly was considering Hawthorn, Carlton and Essendon and was very open to all including the media that he was seeking a trade and meeting clubs to make his decision. It all happened in trade week unlike other deals that were long planned like Franklin, Ginnivan, Amon etc.

This is a really weird take to me, Smith is one of the hardest working and most competitive players in the league. The fact he is marketable and has a social media presence shouldn’t be a knock on him at all.

I look forward to the prospect of being shown to be completely wrong. And then acting like I never disagreed in the first place!

If smith is comfortable with either geelong or us, then it could come down to who offers the dogs better picks for smith since he's not a free agent. We currently have pick 6 vs geelong's pick 11. If we really wanted smith we could involve a future 1st in the trade along with something else.

If there is no room in the team for Ward now, there certainly won't be with Smith at the club.
We have to be considering this.
No point wasting the kid at VFL when he is clearly too good for that level.

Find him a home, use the trade capital and keep our draft pick/s.

Sheil very clearly was considering Hawthorn, Carlton and Essendon and was very open to all including the media that he was seeking a trade and meeting clubs to make his decision. It all happened in trade week unlike other deals that were long planned like Franklin, Ginnivan, Amon etc.
Ginnivan ??
Long planned ??

If there is no room in the team for Ward now, there certainly won't be with Smith at the club.
We have to be considering this.
No point wasting the kid at VFL when he is clearly too good for that level.

Find him a home, use the trade capital and keep our draft pick/s.
That is assuming Ward doesn't improve though, just because he is not best 22 at the moment does not mean he can not be going forward. He is not worth enough at the moment to worry about maximising value, you hold him and bank on him developing. If that never eventuates so be it.

I really like the kid and value what he brings to the team.
I hope he can improve beyond our current midfield set up and push into the team.
I'd have him in the team now tbh.