Rumour 2024 Hypothetical trade and FA Thread

Lewis stays. Big kpf don't grow on trees.
If, and that's if. Scaife comes on, we have dear, chol, scaife.
Let's ge realistic, Lewis could be anything, but never gets a good run at it. He still has trade value, and if you get a top 2 pick for him, you absolutely take it

Lewis could be this era's Nathan Thompson. Plenty were unhappy in 2004 when he was traded out. Turned out ok :D

Its all well and good to disagree with someones post but calling them stupid for it is a bit rich!!! Get a grip.
When a post is made to trade someone whilst in the third quarter of a game, I think it's perfectly reasonable to call it stupid!

****ing classless act.

It just dumb to suggest trading Lewis.

If he can stay on the park he's a top 5 forward in the league. In a trade at best we get a late first. Chol hasn't shown he can lead a forward line and Dear while a promising start, it would be foolish to have a list strategy based around him being elite forward.

It's not even worth a thought exercise
And here lies the conundrum. Off for scans again on the knee.

G'day Hawks, I come in peace and all that.

Just wanted to pass on something I've heard today, and thought you guys would be interested.

Living in Sydney, I've got a mate who's involved with the Giants, and he told me today that Perryman has already informed the higher ups that he's wants to go to Hawthorn.

Obviously with GWS, that's prone to change once they fork out that 'ambassador' money...but as of right now he's Hawks bound.

I'm not typically a believer in the 'ITK' style posting, but this was pretty blatant and matched up with what has been reported recently, so I thought you guys should know.

All the best for the rest of the year, great to renew the rivalry today and look forward to many battles over the coming years!!

He and Battle would be huge additions to our side, would both provide heaps of flexibility with the ability to play multiple positions.

Saw the difference in yesterdays game without Sic and Ginni.

It just dumb to suggest trading Lewis.

If he can stay on the park he's a top 5 forward in the league. In a trade at best we get a late first. Chol hasn't shown he can lead a forward line and Dear while a promising start, it would be foolish to have a list strategy based around him being elite forward.

It's not even worth a thought exercise
I agree you don’t trade Lewis because his value is probably too low but top 5 forward in the league? Even if we change that to top 5 key forward only it’s still a massive reach. He hasn’t shown he deserves to be alongside the names of Curnow and Cameron etc

facts

• we want to contend in 2-3 years.
  • you need at least 1 seasoned quality KPF to seriously contend
  • there is nobody else currently on our list that can fill that role in that time.
  • Dear, Scaife and any new draftee will take 4-5 years to be in a position to stand up in big games in sept consistently. And despite showing promise might not get to the level and could have the same injury issues down the track.

So either we invest in getting the bloke we have right and on the park. He is young enough and demonstrated that he is capable.

Or we trade for one.

Or we trade him out for picks and delay the timeframe for contending.

Trading Lewis would be absolute lunacy.

facts

• we want to contend in 2-3 years.
  • you need at least 1 seasoned quality KPF to seriously contend
  • there is nobody else currently on our list that can fill that role in that time.
  • Dear, Scaife and any new draftee will take 4-5 years to be in a position to stand up in big games in sept consistently. And despite showing promise might not get to the level and could have the same injury issues down the track.

So either we invest in getting the bloke we have right and on the park. He is young enough and demonstrated that he is capable.

Or we trade for one.

Or we trade him out for picks and delay the timeframe for contending.

Trading Lewis would be absolute lunacy.
We’ve just been on a big winning streak without him. It’s not lunacy.

That was extremely unlucky. Goes hard at the contest, gets elbowed in the head and lands awkwardly as a result.
When does it move from being "unlucky"? It seems there is an underlying problem that the specialists can't solve.

Lewis and Chol simply have to adjust and learn each others playing style and patterns, they’ve had what 2-3 games playing together!
It’s hard when Lewis is never on the park.

I have come to the conclusion that trading Lewis at the moment makes us far less better and we have to be better in order to compete let alone win it.
I’m not an advocate of trading him but it’s not lunacy to contemplate it.

Agree we need a big key fwd to rise further. Let’s hope Scaife makes the grade and gives us another option and puts pressure on the incumbents.

I’m not an advocate of trading him but it’s not lunacy to contemplate it.

Agree we need a big key fwd to rise further. Let’s hope Scaife makes the grade and gives us another option and puts pressure on the incumbents.

Agree on the thinking of a trade so if he doesn’t get on the park often, theres more of a chance when we really do need him and we are contenders he will be injured again, then what.

It is catch22. Unless he gets on the park, consistently and becomes a player then his trade value is negligible.
If he finds his early form then that is a different matter. Only if there are “other issues” would I consider trading him. Lately, I have not heard of such issues. And then, and only then, would we have a trade commodity.
What are these ‘other issues’?

To provide a further note, generally its considered the height of stupidity to sell low.

Trying to trade Lewis, when his trade value is at his lowest for 4 years, seems like folly. He'll get back on the park, play well, kick goals and then you can talk on him being traded.

On another note, people citing Scaife and Dear in the same breath as Lewis, just seems like false equivalence. Lewis is on a completely different level compared to those two. They are not direct replacements in terms of quality. If all on form and fit, you'd take Lewis 10 times out of 10. He's a leader and monsters defenders.

Our list has TWO top-level KPFs in Chol and Lewis. Scaife and Dear (and I think they're exciting), are developmental. They've looked good for their level of experience, but have a long way to go - and like with most KPFs developing, will drop out of form badly at some point.

Just remember back to Kozzie. He had a better debut season than young Dear is having (albeit at like 21/22), but we can see he will be a shadow of what Lewis offers when fit. Just take a bit of perspective before throwing Lewis out with the bath water.

Lewis could be this era's Nathan Thompson. Plenty were unhappy in 2004 when he was traded out. Turned out ok :D

IIRC, Thompson wanted a fresh start.
If Lewis wants to stay, we would be crazy to trade him. He is still our best KPF and it is an absolute need.
Dear is raw and won't be a consistent power for at least 3 or 4 years. A great replacement for Gunston whilst he develops and gets stronger. Scaife is an absolute unknown and may never be a top forward at AFL level and if he is, see Dear.
If dear and Scaife come on as we hope, they start to hit their prime about the time Lewis will finish up.
We need them all plus some.

Rumour 2024 Hypothetical trade and FA Thread