- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
- Other Teams
- Storm, Spurs, Socceroos
- #18,956
2024 Picks
2025 Picks
2025 Picks
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Barrass is FB - plays out of the Goal Square & coordinates others.I think you need one of frost or blanck with Barrass imo. Dunno how you fit them all in but barrass would be better as the 2nd tall.
You'd think if Essendon lose Merrett they'd be in a world of hurt next year.Except apparently two of his closest mates on that list were Hind who they cut and Laverde who they have told to look elsewhere and they would assist him getting there but if there’s nothing else out there they will keep him for the final year but won’t extend him. Saints also into Laverde
imo Frost's ideal role is similar to Stratton's. Big, small, not a huge offensive contributor but goes in and does a job. You could swing Dimma forward and have Frost play his role, for exampleBarrass is FB - plays out of the Goal Square & coordinates others.
Blanck plays/competes for that role.
Frost has played it out of necessity (Blanck injured) but it's not his natural role - he's a mobile, lockdown Defender.
100% you could.imo Frost's ideal role is similar to Stratton's. Big, small, not a huge offensive contributor but goes in and does a job. You could swing Dimma forward and have Frost play his role, for example
This true. The Suns are kinda like that rich kid always having mummy + daddy bail them out when things get too tough. It will be interesting to see if they get cut off once Tassy come in.
Finn Callaghan wasn’t great last night but he matches that.Yep agree need a centre square mid with genuine speed. I reckon we need another gun winger too.
They'll get everything + more, to succeed.They will still be the favourites. Tassie will be the red headed step child.
Barrass = LakeBarrass is FB - plays out of the Goal Square & coordinates others.
Blanck plays/competes for that role.
Frost has played it out of necessity (Blanck injured) but it's not his natural role - he's a mobile, lockdown Defender.
You want Hardwick to play Sub every week?I'd love to see Sicily replace Gunston next season & Hardwick replace Breust.
They'll get everything + more, to succeed.
Who = Gunston & = Breust?Barrass = Lake
Frost = Stratton
Battle = Gibson
Scrim = Birchall
Hardwick = Guerra
Imply, Amon = Suckling, Duryea
Sicily = Hodge
There hopefully won't be a SUB in 2025, just 5 on the BenchYou want Hardwick to play Sub every week?
He should have left when they kicked him out of the leadership group for demanding more from his team mates.Zerrett was considering leaving a few years ago due to the culture issues at Essendon, of which Stringer was a contributor. I can't see him now wanting to leave because they won't extend Stringer, that would be a complete 180.
Just talking backline there but our roles are different now.Who = Gunston & = Breust?
The actual Gunston & Breust now offer different things than the players of old did.
I was thinking the same thing.imo Frost's ideal role is similar to Stratton's. Big, small, not a huge offensive contributor but goes in and does a job. You could swing Dimma forward and have Frost play his role, for example
Hope so, still a ridiculous limit. AFL need to change it to all listed players can come on whenever. And no Interchange cap.There hopefully won't be a SUB in 2025, just 5 on the Bench
They brought in the sub rule because losing a player was hurting more than it used to, this was due to rampant interchange numbers.Hope so, still a ridiculous limit. AFL need to change it to all listed players can come on whenever. And no Interchange cap.
Was an embarrassment seeing Carlton having to leave Boyd out there limping against us only to miss the next 3 weeks.
Finn would be a dream get.Finn Callaghan wasn’t great last night but he matches that.
Ahhhh - Colin Robertson.His father was amazing. Such a beautiful kick. With him and Colin Robertson together they both doubled their possessions, because people kept attributing their possessions to both of them. When the Bombres fans booed Kennedy after Robertson concussed Tim Watson in the 83 GF, you knew they had no idea which was which.
Just curious but why do we have to compare our current (some not even obtained yet) to our past greats? Maybe just let them develop their own identity. The game is totally different now and not many of the players compared above play anything like each other so really what's the point.Barrass = Lake
Frost = Stratton
Battle = Gibson
Scrim = Birchall
Hardwick = Guerra
Imply, Amon = Suckling, Duryea
Sicily = Hodge
I actually think trading Merrett for two top 10 picks, as well as moving on Stringer, could be good business for Essendon. They aren't challenging and it would be brave of Scott to replenish without falling to the absolute bottom of the ladder. Merrett is a good player, but seems a bit of a shit leader and they need to rebuild their entire culture at that joint. Scott is a pretty ruthless bloke - if Merrett genuinely had a sook about him trying to move on some failing senior players, I could see Scott feeling he's not the guy to lead the player group.I really hope that St Kilda get Merrett only so we can play everyone’s favourite game - watching Essendon burn multiple first round picks on average at best talent!
We need more not less.I was thinking the same thing.
With a healthy list we are going to be a nightmare to match up on, I don't remembere a team with this much quality flexibility.
Sent from my SM-G990E using Tapatalk