Rumour 2024 Hypothetical trade and FA Thread

I can't see how the pressure is on us when you consider that if the Eagles don't trade TB their whole off season was really that pick 3 trade whilst retaining a 29 with health risks...so for their rebuild I would argue they need to move him for something, meaning we have leverage esp considering they want to do this fast to explore options to gett back into the first round

Retaining a player who has wanted out more than once is not what you want during a rebuild. The pressure is absolutely on them and I expect them to cave before we do.

Hypothetically if Harley were to request a trade to Hawthorn whether it be next year or year after, I can’t fathom the asking price.

If the Eagles are all high and mighty on a bloke that’s 29, allegedly has a crook back and they’ve once reneged on a hand shake agreement to pay him more, what will they be like with the hottest property to move clubs since Judd?

Will be a boatload of picks and a good player at minimum.

Harley is worth the price because of the age. I think it's virtually impossible to overpay for someone like Reid.

Do you think if someone offered you pick 5 and future first and second for Watson you would trade him or keep him?

We wouldn't have done so for Cyril unless he wanted to leave. If we have two firsts and a second, with something else, I wouldn't think about it too much.

Freo now hold pick 14(ours).

It would be pretty funny if we tempted Freo with a play at Warner by trading Carlton’s 2025 1st or our own and a 2nd Rounder to Freo for Pick 14 to come back to us.

….and then we offer it to Eagles again😅

Harley is worth the price because of the age. I think it's virtually impossible to overpay for someone like Reid.

Do you think if someone offered you pick 5 and future first and second for Watson you would trade him or keep him?

We wouldn't have done so for Cyril unless he wanted to leave. If we have two firsts and a second, with something else, I wouldn't think about it too much.
Agree with the concept to a point, young superstars are worth more than prospective picks.

But, year 2 it's still no guarantee where Harleys ceiling is. Imagine what would have been paid for Wingard, Powell Pepper, Heppell, Palmer, Scully etc.

If he was a better user of the footy you would sell the farm, but he could end up the worst type of player. A rich man's Ollie Wines where his performance is inverse to the team.

Our pick 14 is really getting around. Wonder if there's still time for it to end up at a fourth club before the day is out.
Hawthorn trade out Carltons F1 for pick 14.

Tom Barrass is seriously good and when he's saving our arse next year, I reckon it will be hard to find anyone owning up to having said something like 'walk away and keep the 2x 2025 first round picks'.

We should definitely be on the phone to Freo rn asking if they'll take Carlton's F1 for Pick 14. Even if we send them our F3 in return, we would still 'profit' from the situation (effectively turning our F3 into Carlton's F2 for free/nothing).

If they ask why they should do that, simple: "it would be ****ing funny"

Agree with the concept to a point, young superstars are worth more than prospective picks.

But, year 2 it's still no guarantee where Harleys ceiling is. Imagine what would have been paid for Wingard, Powell Pepper, Heppell, Palmer, Scully etc.

If he was a better user of the footy you would sell the farm, but he could end up the worst type of player. A rich man's Ollie Wines where his performance is inverse to the team.
Putting aside how good Reid has demonstrated himself to be over the course of this season, and over the course of multiple U18 seasons, while the player is part of the equation, the environment they come into is another part. If Wingard had been traded year 2, his career unfolds in an entirely different way. Same with Scully. You can't look at their careers and assume they'd have unfolded the same way if they were somewhere else.

Harley Reid is the most impactful draft age first year player in a long time, if you exclude those 4 games from Rowell pre injury. Possibly ever. His game against Melbourne was the type of performance most players never have in their entire career, and he did it in round 10.

If he were to become a player whose performances hurt the team, you'd have to assume that Hawthorn under Sam Mitchell would be an environment which would allow that to happen. There's not a chance. At West Coast, right now? Maybe, but he's still so good that at his most selfish he's going to make a side better.

Tom Barrass is seriously good and when he's saving our arse next year, I reckon it will be hard to find anyone owning up to having said something like 'walk away and keep the 2x 2025 first round picks'.
He’ll be good for hopefully 3-4 years.

2 firsts is a huge price to pay for that little time. We payed so much less for Lake who was a much better player.