List Mgmt. 2024 National Draft - November 20-21

Wouldn’t be a draft without us taking another small forward. Derek must lay awake at night wishing he could create a list of 45 small forwards.

He actually hasn't drafted many over the years - for most of his tenure we've had to play NQR mids as small forwards.

My observations from the highlights Hayes is pacy and exiting but a bit of headless chook, West is a solid boy but a bit undersized and double grabs a lot.
Cochrane oozes class, really impressed by what I saw.
Wow. I suppose it's all in the eye of the beholder but I thought Hayes oozed class and speed. I didn't see anything remotely worthy of the brand "headless chook". West looks to be the size most key forwards are in our comp and if anything, more strongly built than many kids his age.

West looks to be the size most key forwards are in our comp and if anything, more strongly built than many kids his age.

Hopefully he can play. If he can't, it won't be size stopping him - physically, he's a more powerful, more explosive Tex Walker/Brody Mihocek.

When Jason was drafted in 2000 I think Trav was 13 and on the radar to some extent. The interesting thing for me was that they got them at all. We were lucky Richmond were a basket case about then as I always considered David as much more of a Richmond man than a pies man.

My recollection was that Damir Cloke was working the system in order to ensure all the boys played together. Both Richmond and Collingwood liked Jason (2000 draft), but wanted Travis (2004 draft) the most. Damir said we had to take Jason in order to have a chance of Cameron (2002 draft) and Travis declaring for Collingwood.

Glad Jason turned out pretty well, but he was drafted to ensure we got Cameron and Travis.

Hine can only pick good small forwards late in the draft, so I expect Cochrane and West to be delisted in a few years and Hayes to become solid player before he's traded to West Coast.

My recollection was that Damir Cloke was working the system in order to ensure all the boys played together. Both Richmond and Collingwood liked Jason (2000 draft), but wanted Travis (2004 draft) the most. Damir said we had to take Jason in order to have a chance of Cameron (2002 draft) and Travis declaring for Collingwood.

Glad Jason turned out pretty well, but he was drafted to ensure we got Cameron and Travis.

Too long ago for me to remember specifics/timing but I don't think David gave any ultimatums about taking all the brothers when Jason was drafted. Collingwood and Richmond wanted 6ft2 Jason at the time, but I guess they were aware his taller 6ft4-plus younger brothers were coming. I reckon it was once Jason started playing AFL and was doing well (rising star nom i think), that Trav started dominating the juniors. Travis was freakishly mobile for his size and a great runner. I know he was a 100kg+ beast in his later AFL years and always a great contested mark, but I loved him in the early days when he would lead far and wide up the ground. His poor accuracy sticks in the memory a bit from the second half of his career but he really was an outstanding player.

Anyway, are there some Cloke youngsters on the radar? Gradfather/father/sons/daughters? Has Trav got any kids?

Good luck to all three boys being selected last night. We can all have opinions but why choose to be negative? Why bother speculating negative s?

No one knows what the future holds although my tea leaves, coffee grounds and astrology signs strongly suggest that without any injuries Collingwood can do well.

Good luck to all the recruits.

Too long ago for me to remember specifics/timing but I don't think David gave any ultimatums about taking all the brothers when Jason was drafted. Collingwood and Richmond wanted 6ft2 Jason at the time, but I guess they were aware his taller 6ft4-plus younger brothers were coming. I reckon it was once Jason started playing AFL and was doing well (rising star nom i think), that Trav started dominating the juniors. Travis was freakishly mobile for his size and a great runner. I know he was a 100kg+ beast in his later AFL years and always a great contested mark, but I loved him in the early days when he would lead far and wide up the ground. His poor accuracy sticks in the memory a bit from the second half of his career but he really was an outstanding player.

Anyway, are there some Cloke youngsters on the radar? Gradfather/father/sons/daughters? Has Trav got any kids?
Travis has a daughter & son.

Good luck to all three boys being selected last night. We can all have opinions but why choose to be negative? Why bother speculating negative s?

No one knows what the future holds although my tea leaves, coffee grounds and astrology signs strongly suggest that without any injuries Collingwood can do well.

Good luck to all the recruits.
Agree, yesterday they were three kids following their dreams, today, they are on a journey that we all aspired to. They will live our dream to pull on the black and white and as a Collingwood listed player, they are on the path to becoming a football demigod.
Whilst stats will say otherwise, I hope that they each become a legend of the game and one day hold the premiership cup aloft as a Collingwood player (at least once). Good luck and welcome to the family Joel, Charlie and Will.

Since 2020, I’ve loved the direction the club has taken when going into the draft.

We don’t just draft pure athletes who are speedy and can run, but we draft pure footballers.

Don’t be surprised if one, or two, or all of the recent draftees make it.

I don't really get these comments, I know people get excited.

Majority of our picks taken have been a bust since then.

You seem obsessed by size. 194-196cm is perfectly fine size for a key forward
Agree. I'd prefer a well built 194-196cm kf who can stand his ground & take a mark in a contest than one of those scrawny stick figure 200cm forwards who constantly get pushed over in a marking contest.

Yes he was, but the narrative that we only drafted Jason to get Travis is complete bullshit. The club was heavily into Jason well before Travis played competitive football!!!

That is not what you originally responded too.

That is a separate discussion point.

The original quote you said "was the biggest myth in footy was below".
You can't be serious listing Travis Cloke in that bracket when he was rated in top 5 if open draft.

T.Cloke was being hyped so far in advance of when we recruited Jason...

But other then that good post.
My post was about Travis not being a true pick 37.
The only mention of Jason was
about Travis being hyped a long way out back when Jason started at pies.

Then you doubled down on it.

Rubbish.

Travis Cloke was extremely well rated and had the system been there would of been gone well and truly inside the top 7.

When we drafted Jason the talk was already there on how good Travis was including on these very boards.

Much like it was no secret with Nick Daicos or Darcy Moore, Travis was in that same bracket of discussions as a junior.

Except Travis was 10 when the club was into Jason, can’t believe our recruiter that identified a 10 year old as a superstar didn’t land us multiple flags…

Travis was about 13 at the time not 10. And he was drafted as a 17yo.

If your umbrage is at the mention of Jason in the conversation with Travis, due to the old rumour about taking the older ones to get the good one maybe state that.

Rather then reply to comments about how good Travis was with biggest Myth and then double on it he wasn't rated back then and then use an even older date range.

Malthouse hung Jason out to dry imo he was a decent player as a defender.

I didn't say anything of the sort.

Jason was a highly rated prospect - we thought we had the next Glen Archer. There was no mention of Travis at the time because he was 10.

Cam was speculative. There was mention of Trav at the time.

Mate, Travis was not 10 at the time of Jason's first year when the club first recruited him.
He was 13 and was being tracked by not only afl club land but also track watchers.

I never mentioned that old rumour in the post you are referencing.

your response was as such you agreed with Eddie which obviously is at odds with what I wrote....

List Mgmt. 2024 National Draft - November 20-21